Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Rangefinder Forum > Image Processing: Darkroom / Lightroom / Film > Scanners / Scanner Software

View Poll Results: How do you scan your 35mm B&W film?
I use a flatbed scanner - i.e. Epson V750 photo scanner 265 34.96%
I use a dedicated 35mm scanner - i.e. a Nikon Coolscan V 321 42.35%
I use a dedicated multi-format film scanner - i.e. a Nikon Coolscan 9000 76 10.03%
I use a professional scanner - i.e. drum scanner 23 3.03%
I send mine away to be scanned 46 6.07%
I don't care - I wet print! 27 3.56%
Voters: 758. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

How do you scan your 35mm B&W film?
Old 01-12-2014   #1
wakarimasen
Registered User
 
wakarimasen's Avatar
 
wakarimasen is offline
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bromsgrove, UK
Posts: 995
How do you scan your 35mm B&W film?

The title speaks for itself: how do you scan the 35mm B&W film that you use? Please comment also whether or not you are really happy with the results, and which model you use.
I'm interested, as I'm not so happy with the last few films I've scanned, although the negatives looked ok.
__________________
tap tap tap...
Flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #2
MiniMoke
Registered User
 
MiniMoke is offline
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Luxembourg
Age: 53
Posts: 459
Epson V600! Works very well

When I find a real pearl of a negative I have it printed at a lab.

One day I'll build me a darkroom (dream on)!
__________________
Meet me at www.whyfilmcameras.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #3
wakarimasen
Registered User
 
wakarimasen's Avatar
 
wakarimasen is offline
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bromsgrove, UK
Posts: 995
Sorry minimoke - I took a long time with the poll!

I use an Espon 4490, which I'm not so happy with. Not sure if it's technique or the machine, but it's not working for me.
__________________
tap tap tap...
Flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #4
biomed
Registered User
 
biomed's Avatar
 
biomed is offline
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Seattle Area (North)
Posts: 3,353
I originally purchased a Canon FS4000US shortly before production ended. The stepper motor died after two years. I replaced it with a Nikon Coolscan V. I also have a mint SUPER COOLSCAN 4000 ED I picked up in a trade. I actually like the Canon film holders, but the Nikons are much faster.
__________________
biomed
Things are more like they are now than they’ve ever been before.

2016 Photos

rff Gallery

Blog
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #5
Austerby
Registered User
 
Austerby's Avatar
 
Austerby is offline
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fircombe
Posts: 1,060
Very happy with my V700 for 35mm, 120 and 5x4 film. Good enough for me.
__________________
Austerby
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #6
ruby.monkey
Registered User
 
ruby.monkey is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Garden of England
Age: 46
Posts: 4,033
I used to use a plustek 7500i, but switching to Linux put the kybosh on that. Now I scan everything on an Epson V700.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #7
Chriscrawfordphoto
Real Men Shoot Film.
 
Chriscrawfordphoto's Avatar
 
Chriscrawfordphoto is offline
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana
Age: 41
Posts: 7,626
Nikon LS-8000ED with glass carrier and Vuescan software. I detail my scanning workflow on the tech tutorial pages on my website:

http://chriscrawfordphoto.com/technical/scanning.php
__________________
Christopher Crawford
Fine Art Photography
Fort Wayne, Indiana

Back home again in Indiana

http://www.chriscrawfordphoto.com

My Technical Info pages: Film Developing times, scanning, printing, editing.

Buy My Prints in RFF Classifieds

Support My Work on Patreon
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #8
ChrisLivsey
Registered User
 
ChrisLivsey's Avatar
 
ChrisLivsey is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,961
Dedicated Plustek 8100 (No IR but as only shoot B/W for home process no need)

If I was printing I would send out (Ilford Lab UK) for the web I have no issues. Perversely I am happy with Silverfast as bundled when according to almost everyone else I should use Vuescan. The example is straight from that software no other processing.
I can see on some strips a flatter holder would give me better results but modern choices are limited. Under our consumer laws I have 6 years redress against failure, try that on S/H.
I may have a good, well aligned copy, or indeed it may be average who knows.
I am puzzled that the OP states "the last few rolls" was he happy before? Have expectations changed or has the scanner had a knock?






HP5+ TD-201 Nikon S3 50mm Nikkor Olympic


__________________
http://www.flickr.com/photos/red_eyes_man/

Fishing for shadows in a pool.
Louis Macneice
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #9
wakarimasen
Registered User
 
wakarimasen's Avatar
 
wakarimasen is offline
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bromsgrove, UK
Posts: 995
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sejanus.Aelianus View Post
I can't vote. I generally use a camera to digitise negatives.
Ah - sorry! Anyone know how I edit the poll to add this option?
__________________
tap tap tap...
Flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #10
wakarimasen
Registered User
 
wakarimasen's Avatar
 
wakarimasen is offline
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bromsgrove, UK
Posts: 995
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisLivsey View Post
I am puzzled that the OP states "the last few rolls" was he happy before? Have expectations changed or has the scanner had a knock?
I used to use a Minolta Scan Dual II and an Epson 3200. I decided to reduce the amount of gear I had, sold both and settled on an Epson 4490. This seems great for C41 colour, but I don't seem to be able to consistently get B&W scans that I'm happy with.
__________________
tap tap tap...
Flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #11
ChrisLivsey
Registered User
 
ChrisLivsey's Avatar
 
ChrisLivsey is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,961
Quote:
Originally Posted by wakarimasen View Post
This seems great for C41 colour, but I don't seem to be able to consistently get B&W scans that I'm happy with.
Sounds like a software issue?
__________________
http://www.flickr.com/photos/red_eyes_man/

Fishing for shadows in a pool.
Louis Macneice
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #12
Keith
On leave from Gallifrey
 
Keith's Avatar
 
Keith is offline
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 18,306
I ticked the V750 box but have a Nikon 5000 ED in my future ... I just have to go and pick it up and pay for it.
__________________
---------------------------
flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #13
maddoc
... likes film.
 
maddoc's Avatar
 
maddoc is offline
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: 三鷹市
Age: 51
Posts: 7,152
Usually using a Coolscan 4000ED and occasionally an Epson V700.
__________________
- Gabor

flickr
pBase
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #14
robert blu
quiet photographer
 
robert blu's Avatar
 
robert blu is online now
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Italy
Age: 68
Posts: 4,525
I find the combination Nikon 5000ED + Nikonscan + Ilford Delta (100 or 400) very satisfying. Recently bought an Epson V600 to scan my 120 film but not yet tried B&W.
robert
__________________
Remember: today is the Day !
from Ruth Bernhard recipe for a long and happy life


my quiet photographer's blog


My RFF photos and my albums on RFF
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #15
sailor
Registered User
 
sailor is offline
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 210
I send my B&W films to Ilford for processing and scanning. I used to have a Nikon IV but I didn't have a lot of success with it for either colour or B&W. Commercial scans were noticeably better. The Nikon was eventually destroyed when we had burst pipes in the house and was never replaced. I have recently been looking at the Reflecta 7200 because the cost of sending film away is getting to be prohibitive. Here is a sample of an Ilford Hi-res scan.

Minox 35. Ilford Delta 100.


Old Petrol Pumps by Elmer Duck, on Flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #16
woollybandit
Registered User
 
woollybandit is offline
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 9
I am giving up on film as the only local shop here in Dereham UK are so bad the films look like they are sand paintings. Completely unusable. I don't know if they aren't capable or just don't care. I waited a month over Christmas for one roll to be scanned.
Another shop treated my low light prints to the auto exposure level setting and handed me a stack of purple/grey prints. The staff in these places couldn't care less, they are minimum wage and being sacked is a career move to the benefits system. Grrr!
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #17
edge100
Registered User
 
edge100 is offline
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 629
Pakon F-135 for proofing, Polaroid SprintScan 120 for final scans
__________________
Former street photographer
The Definitive Guide to Scanning Film with a Digital Camera
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #18
MarinB
Registered User
 
MarinB is offline
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 49
Scanmate 3000 drum scanner (12-bit/3000dpi) with a G4 Mac (Adaptec 29160N SCSI card) using ColorQuartet 5.3.1 software (OS X 10.4.11). Usually dry-mounted, sometimes wet-mounted (SDS Anti-Newton fluid or Kami SXL). Currently scanning hundreds of XPAN negatives from five different 400 and 320 ISO films for a pro photographer, for an exhibition.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #19
mdarnton
Registered User
 
mdarnton is offline
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,190
I use my camera (details here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/mdarnton/7183241686/ ) which works slightly better than a flatbed scanner in both sharpness and especially time, but I'm moving to large format, and will have to reevaluate.

With LF, I'm going to be stitching, one way or another, so the advantage may not be as strong. For 2-1/4, the scanner wins in sharpness, loses in time, unless I use the camera and stitch, which isn't worth the bother.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #20
Tijmendal
Young photog
 
Tijmendal is offline
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Age: 26
Posts: 493
Pakon f135. I also have a V600, but I only use that for Medium format (and even then I hate it...)
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #21
mike rosenlof
Insufficient information
 
mike rosenlof is offline
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Colorado
Age: 58
Posts: 302
Minolta Scan Dual IV

I also wet print, but mostly larger format negs. 35mm ends up mostly digital for me.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #22
BardParker
Registered User
 
BardParker is offline
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tyler, Texas
Posts: 162
I really like my Epson V700. Have tried Vuescan but need to learn it better. Epson software works well for me and is very easy.


img024.jpg by KentWebb, on Flickr


img043.jpg by KentWebb, on Flickr

Kent
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #23
GRN
Registered User
 
GRN is offline
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 25
I use now Plustek Opticfilm 7400, mayde I upgrade...for better. Quite reasonable image quality in this, but does not really focus to the grain though..
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #24
julio1fer
Registered User
 
julio1fer's Avatar
 
julio1fer is offline
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Uruguay
Posts: 420
I use an Epson V600 and Epson software. Using the Pro settings it works very well for my needs. I have scanned mostly silver-based B&W, but also C-41 and slides.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #25
Matus
Registered User
 
Matus's Avatar
 
Matus is offline
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Frankfurt, DE
Posts: 1,843
I send all my films to a lab which uses Coolscan 5000 and 9000 for rather reasonably priced scans. I usually get 8bit JPEG scans of everything at medium resolution (2000) and if some frames are exceptional (rare) they get scanned with Imacon X5.

I shoot 35mm only with Xpan, but with 120 my requirements on scan quality are no less, so a flatbed would not cut it.

I used to have a Microtek M1, but it was a PITA to use and the AF was not very reliable.

I would rather shoot a bit less if the scanning costs should become an issue - I have little time for photography nowadays, and I am NOT spending it on scanning. Not to forget that to get proficient with a scanner it takes quite some time.
__________________
________
Matus
... Flickr galleries: New Zealand , Spain
... per camera: Olympus XA , Jupiter J3 , Rolleiflex T, Mamiya 6, Ricoh GRDIII shots
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #26
Tokoza
Registered User
 
Tokoza is offline
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 44
I got a Plustek 8100 recently. My Epson v500 was not sharp enough for 35mm.



I create linear scans with SilverFast and convert the positives with Colorperfect.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #27
helenhill
a Click in Time...
 
helenhill's Avatar
 
helenhill is offline
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New Yawk
Posts: 5,103
plustek 7600i

Quite Pleased with it...of course there is probably BETTER
though for me its Compact, easy to maneuver, does the job,and fits my needs
__________________
Flickr.

A Lover of Leica M's...
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #28
lam
Dave
 
lam's Avatar
 
lam is offline
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 947
I use a Pakon F-135 Plus for general purpose 35mm scanning (8x10 print size is more than enough for me, and/or posting on the web)

For archiving specific photos on a roll I use my Microtek ArtixScan 120TF.
__________________
website | flickr | tumblr | twitter
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #29
emmef2
Registered User
 
emmef2's Avatar
 
emmef2 is offline
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 116
Canon 9000F for web scans, prints are still made in the darkroom (but not much unfortunately due to limited time)
I am practicing using a digital camera as scanner
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #30
x-ray
Registered User
 
x-ray's Avatar
 
x-ray is offline
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Tennessee USA
Age: 68
Posts: 3,643
Imacon 848. Used a Fuji Lanovia Quattro until a year and a half ago.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #31
SayCheese
Registered User
 
SayCheese's Avatar
 
SayCheese is offline
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Kiel, Germany
Posts: 125
Reflecta CrystalScan 7200 here. IQ is easily good enough for me, but it is slow and loud. I usually get 3 keepers on a 36 Roll of film, so i definitely have to edit my films down before scanning.

Regards, Klaus
__________________
--
It's only 135, but i like it.
flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/isayclick/
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #32
Pioneer
Registered User
 
Pioneer's Avatar
 
Pioneer is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Age: 63
Posts: 2,666
For 35mm I use my little Plustek 7600i most of the time but I do occasionally use the Epson v500 as well.

If I do find a negative that I want to print big then I send it to a lab to have it scanned professionally.

Of course I do use regular analogue enlarging and printing as well but since there was only one choice...
__________________
"Your 1st 10,000 Photographs Are Your Worst"
HCBresson

"My 2nd 10,000 Are Not A Lot Better"
Dan
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #33
edge100
Registered User
 
edge100 is offline
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 629
Quote:
Originally Posted by lam View Post
I use a Pakon F-135 Plus for general purpose 35mm scanning (8x10 print size is more than enough for me, and/or posting on the web)

For archiving specific photos on a roll I use my Microtek ArtixScan 120TF.
That sounds like a sensible workflow. I need to try something similar…..


__________________
Former street photographer
The Definitive Guide to Scanning Film with a Digital Camera
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #34
JPSuisse
Registered User
 
JPSuisse's Avatar
 
JPSuisse is offline
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 419
I use a Nikon 5000 with VueScan.

After scanning, to a RAW DNG, I tag the files with ExifTool.

Then import to Lightroom and manage from there.

I would love to have a darkroom, but alas, , that is not in the cards for the foreseeable future...

I am quite happy with the results and the DAM. But it was tedious to get this far. Now, the work goes quickly.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #35
julescasablancas
still GAS-eous
 
julescasablancas's Avatar
 
julescasablancas is offline
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 325
I'm using Epson V600 with the supplied program and ANR glass. Tried using Vuescan but it's too complicated for simpleton like me :B

I scan to tiff and do the dust removal and/or add a bit of contrast in Lightroom 5
__________________
Dessrihana Utomo
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #36
dct
Registered User
 
dct's Avatar
 
dct is offline
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Zurich
Posts: 1,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matus View Post
I send all my films to a lab which uses Coolscan 5000 and 9000 for rather reasonably priced scans. I usually get 8bit JPEG scans of everything at medium resolution (2000) and if some frames are exceptional (rare) they get scanned with Imacon X5.

I shoot 35mm only with Xpan, but with 120 my requirements on scan quality are no less, so a flatbed would not cut it.

I used to have a Microtek M1, but it was a PITA to use and the AF was not very reliable.

I would rather shoot a bit less if the scanning costs should become an issue - I have little time for photography nowadays, and I am NOT spending it on scanning. Not to forget that to get proficient with a scanner it takes quite some time.
+1 for the highlighted sentences. I have a Plustek 7200i 35mm and a hp5590 flatbed scanner at home, but I don't use them since years.

Zurich Enge School


CV 15/4.5 on Bessa-L with Ilford XP2 Super 400
Shot with ISO 320, processed C-41 and scanned with Noritsu Minilab
__________________
photos
RFF gallery

Last edited by dct : 01-12-2014 at 12:33. Reason: added link
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #37
krötenblender
Registered User
 
krötenblender's Avatar
 
krötenblender is offline
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 758
I used to use a dedicated 35mm Film/Dia-Scanner (Reflecta Crystal Scan 7200). But since a short time I use a different approach: I bought a Leica BEOON from the 1950ies and use the Leica M240 with a 50mm Summilux ASPH at f11 to create 1:1 macro shots. The lens and negative holder are comletely shielded against reflective or stray light with some really sophisticated small black card board constructs... As light source I use a iPad with bright white sceen and a diffusor glass plate over it, where the BEOON stands on.

This gives me very fast and very high quality "scans" of my 35mm and 6x6 negatives and dias and is pretty fast. My reflecta needs about 7 Minutes per negative, my setup takes about 30s for one, including placing the negative, blowing dust away and such. It's much better than any scanner I ever used and I'm pretty happy about the quality. The only down point is that there is no automatic dust removal and for color negatives one has to figure out a good workflow and color management. But for BW this is much easier.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #38
Ko.Fe.
Me. Write ESL. Ko.
 
Ko.Fe.'s Avatar
 
Ko.Fe. is online now
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: MiltON.ONtario
Age: 50
Posts: 4,240
V500 to be able to do both 135 and 120 at low-cost budget.
Results are OK. Do wet prints as well.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #39
Stuart John
Registered User
 
Stuart John's Avatar
 
Stuart John is offline
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 571
I use a V500 and am experimenting with the Nikon PB4 bellows and PS4 slide/film holder attachment attached to a D800. I also wet print too. B&W wet prints are what I really like though.
__________________
http://www.flickr.com/photos/photogsjm/
http://www.sjmphotography.co.nr/

Canonet QL17, Canonet 28, Zorki C
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-2014   #40
Chris Bail
Regular Guy
 
Chris Bail's Avatar
 
Chris Bail is offline
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Near Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Posts: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tokoza View Post
I got a Plustek 8100 recently. My Epson v500 was not sharp enough for 35mm.



I create linear scans with SilverFast and convert the positives with Colorperfect.
This is the route I am likely going to take as well.

Right now I use an Epson V500, and I'm disappointed by the lack of sharpness when scanning 35mm...I'll probably keep it for use with 120 though.
__________________
My Smugmug

My Flickr
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:53.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.