Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Non Rangefinder Cameras > SLRs - the unRF

SLRs - the unRF For those of you who must talk about SLRs, if only to confirm they are not RF.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

Old 12-22-2012   #26
sevo
Fokutorendaburando
 
sevo is offline
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 4,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photo_Smith View Post
Apparently it was the first NC machined camera
Now that is somewhat unlikely as a attribute for a 1981 camera, more than a decade after CNC had become a regular technology in consumer goods production. All of the affordable, advanced small consumer SLRs from the seventies used CNC machining in the production - that is one of the reasons they could drop price and size while adding features. If any, it may have been the first to pass some particular CNC milestone like cutting from a solid block (rather than a cast raw body), cutting from some particular alloy or doing all steps on a single machine.

My guess would be that Zeiss Ikon were first to use CNC on their late cameras, as by the late sixties Zeiss as a whole was more into CNC equipment than optics - throughout the seventies the Zeiss subsidiary (and former shutter maker) Prontor was the leading CNC machinery supplier world wide...
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-22-2012   #27
raid
Dad Photographer
 
raid's Avatar
 
raid is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 22,869
I am surprised by the overwhelming support for the Canon. I am used to seeing people favoring the Nikon.

In my case, I sold some Nikkor lenses, and I stuck with the FD line for about 20 years. The F1N is. Verywell built camera, with lot of accessories and three different meyering patterns, depending on the screen installed. I went with the Canon since the Nikon did not have a spotmeter while the F1N had this option. These days, and if you are starting new, without having lenses, either of the two cameras, Nikon or Canon, is a bargain.


Note that the F1N differs from the F1 or the F1n. The F1 and the F1n are mechanical, and I know that the F1n has mirror lock-up and an easier to use meter button tjan the F1.

The F1N is very different.
__________________
- Raid

________________
Top 12 Images;

http://www.rangefinderforum.com/rffg...n.php?cid=7007
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-22-2012   #28
drinkingeye
Registered User
 
drinkingeye's Avatar
 
drinkingeye is offline
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austria/Brazil
Posts: 257
Almost 30 years carrying this set around the world, no technical issues so far. It's built like a tank, it's a joy to use. FD glass is fantastic and still available at fair prices. This is one piece of equipment I can't imagine to get rid of...




__________________

Canon 7s, Canonet Giii 17, FED 2, Zorki 4, Yashica Lynx 14
Hassy H1 H3DII
501c, Bessa III 667, Pentacon Six TL, Plaubel Makina 67, Bronica RF
Leica III,IIIc,IIIf, M9, M Monochrom, MP, M6TTL, M4, M2, M3
Pentax (D)SLR
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-22-2012   #29
rlouzan
Registered User
 
rlouzan's Avatar
 
rlouzan is offline
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,357
The only issue I have with Canon FD lenses is the use of Fluorite in some "L"lenses, extremly sensitive to humidity.
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-22-2012   #30
Photo_Smith
Registered User
 
Photo_Smith's Avatar
 
Photo_Smith is offline
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,490
Quote:
Originally Posted by sevo View Post
Now that is somewhat unlikely as a attribute for a 1981 camera, more than a decade after CNC had become a regular technology in consumer goods production. All of the affordable, advanced small consumer SLRs from the seventies used CNC machining in the production - that is one of the reasons they could drop price and size while adding features. If any, it may have been the first to pass some particular CNC milestone like cutting from a solid block (rather than a cast raw body), cutting from some particular alloy or doing all steps on a single machine.

My guess would be that Zeiss Ikon were first to use CNC on their late cameras, as by the late sixties Zeiss as a whole was more into CNC equipment than optics - throughout the seventies the Zeiss subsidiary (and former shutter maker) Prontor was the leading CNC machinery supplier world wide...
Just going by what they said in their brochure (pictured under the camera in my shot) First camera to be completely made by CNC lathes?
Companies do this all the time–I can't verify it.
They also sais it was laser welded and laser focusing screens as a first–can't verify that either.
The screen was the brightest I've seen the prism wouldn't black out at any aperture.
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-22-2012   #31
Fraser
Registered User
 
Fraser is offline
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 792
I've still got a couple of New F1s bought them new-ish when I was a student 20 odd years ago still going strong, I've had an F3 in the past and never really liked it so if I had to choose between the two it would be the canon. I know if I had to choose a camera from that era and I know its not really an option for you but I would go for either an F4 or a Eos 1v.
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-22-2012   #32
Nikos72
Registered User
 
Nikos72's Avatar
 
Nikos72 is offline
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Athens, Greece
Age: 42
Posts: 545
And here we go! I have received my F1N, and it has some serious issue With a fresh battery it had fired once. Now, when I have the battery in it does not fire. When I take it out it does (I guess mechanically).
Blame my bad luck, or I am doing things wrong?
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-22-2012   #33
sevo
Fokutorendaburando
 
sevo is offline
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 4,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikos72 View Post
And here we go! I have received my F1N, and it has some serious issue With a fresh battery it had fired once. Now, when I have the battery in it does not fire. When I take it out it does (I guess mechanically).
Blame my bad luck, or I am doing things wrong?
Film in it? With motor attached the F1N will wind to frame 0 without having to fire blank frames, IIRC - and most cameras that do that won't fire with no film loaded. Without batteries it fires the short times mechanically, and there that mechanism probably would not apply.
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-22-2012   #34
Chriscrawfordphoto
Real Men Shoot Film.
 
Chriscrawfordphoto's Avatar
 
Chriscrawfordphoto is offline
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana
Age: 38
Posts: 6,354
I have a Nikon F3, and it is a beautiful, easy to use, durable camera. I have never liked Nikon's lenses for black and white work, however. I have always wanted a Canon F1N, but the silly prices they command keep me from getting one. On Ebay they go for over $300 for ones that are beat to hell. My F3 costs $200 in near perfect condition! Why is the Canon, a camera from a dead system that is not at all rare, so high priced?
__________________
Christopher Crawford
Fine Art Photography
Fort Wayne, Indiana

Back home again in Indiana

http://www.chriscrawfordphoto.com

My Technical Info pages: Film Developing times, scanning, printing, editing.

Like My Work on Facebook
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-22-2012   #35
FrankS
Registered User
 
FrankS is offline
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada, eh.
Age: 57
Posts: 17,499
I have both. (3x F3) I re bought an F1n recently as it is a very worthy camera, but I feel more comfortable with the F3 because of my long history with Nikon cameras.
__________________
my little website: http://frankfoto.jimdo.com/
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-22-2012   #36
raid
Dad Photographer
 
raid's Avatar
 
raid is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 22,869
I have used my F1N for many years, with the T90 as the back-up camera. I use the MD and battery cord to power the F1N in very old weather. I may have ten screens for it, with some being treated by Maxwell for extra brightness. I have the 6x speedfinder for it.
It makes using the F1N a charm.

I use my FD lenses, including the 500/4.5L and the 85/1.2L, which are two of the best FD lenses.
__________________
- Raid

________________
Top 12 Images;

http://www.rangefinderforum.com/rffg...n.php?cid=7007
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-22-2012   #37
Nikos72
Registered User
 
Nikos72's Avatar
 
Nikos72 is offline
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Athens, Greece
Age: 42
Posts: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by sevo View Post
Film in it? With motor attached the F1N will wind to frame 0 without having to fire blank frames, IIRC - and most cameras that do that won't fire with no film loaded. Without batteries it fires the short times mechanically, and there that mechanism probably would not apply.
Unfortunately I do not have a winder with it. It fired once, but now it just stays won't fire when I put a fresh battery in it. It meters perfectly, but it does not fire. I have it with the AE Prism.
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-22-2012   #38
Frontman
Registered User
 
Frontman is offline
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: 東京日本
Posts: 1,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikos72 View Post
Unfortunately I do not have a winder with it. It fired once, but now it just stays won't fire when I put a fresh battery in it. It meters perfectly, but it does not fire. I have it with the AE Prism.

Download the instruction manual and have a look at it. As the saying goes: "when all else fails, read the directions". There are several reasons why the camera may not fire; make sure you know what are doing. If it still won't work, return it and get the Nikon.
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-22-2012   #39
mervynyan
Mervyn Yan
 
mervynyan is offline
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 628
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikos72 View Post
Unfortunately I do not have a winder with it. It fired once, but now it just stays won't fire when I put a fresh battery in it. It meters perfectly, but it does not fire. I have it with the AE Prism.
My F1N AE meter (bottom) is fine, shutter priority meter needle doesn't bounce up even with a new battery. I took it to a reputable service shop for free estimate, they can't fix it because they either don't have parts no more or cost too much to repair.
__________________
a traveler by heart, along pick up photography
- MP/M7, 35LuxASPH, 50LuxASPH, 75Cron AA, 21CBiogen
- Arca-Swiss Discovery, D4M, Schneider SSXL 110/5.6, Nikkor-W 210/5.6
- Nikon D700, Nikon 50/1.8D
Zenfolio Referral Code: ATX-95C-VDZ
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-22-2012   #40
Nikos72
Registered User
 
Nikos72's Avatar
 
Nikos72 is offline
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Athens, Greece
Age: 42
Posts: 545
The needle moves and shows correct information, but when it comes to fire the shutter... Bam! Nothing happens. I thought I had jammed the camera by trying to set the lens to A, but after removing it no luck!
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-23-2012   #41
Noserider
Christiaan Phleger
 
Noserider is offline
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Posts: 147
Well, late to the party. I was going to say choose the Nikon, repairs are still available along with parts. Canon F1N are getting very hard to repair. If you've been using yours for 20 years without a problem Great, keep shooting. But when it stops working, be prepared for either no way to fix it or really really expensive. The F1N had/has a hybrid shutter that can be challenging to repair on the electronic side. Much like the Pentax LX.
Sorry yours only gave you one frame. It was a fine camera in the day, I used that and the F-1n for a while, nice lenses especially the 135F2.
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-23-2012   #42
sevo
Fokutorendaburando
 
sevo is offline
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 4,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikos72 View Post
Unfortunately I do not have a winder with it.
That does not answer my question. Did you try with film loaded?
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-23-2012   #43
Nikos72
Registered User
 
Nikos72's Avatar
 
Nikos72 is offline
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Athens, Greece
Age: 42
Posts: 545
Ehm! No, but here comes a xmas miracle. I have removed the lens to get a look inside, found nothing (as expected), re-attached it, and now it fires normally!
That is both good news and bad news. Good because it works, bad because nobody knows if this will ever happen again!
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-23-2012   #44
Uncle Bill
Registered User
 
Uncle Bill's Avatar
 
Uncle Bill is offline
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Oakville (somewhere west of Toronto) Ontario, Canada
Posts: 853
I own one Canon F-1N from the mid 1980s and two Nikon F3HP's Truthfully, they are both amazing cameras. I guess the first question is do you own FD or Nikkor Ai(s) lenses? That would pretty much solve your situation. If you're starting from scratch, flip a coin. You can't go wrong either way.
__________________
Leica M3 and M4-2, Rolleicord IV, Rolleiflex Series E 3.5 Planar version 1<a
http://flickr.com/photos/funwithcameras
http://funwithcameras.blogspot.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-23-2012   #45
rlouzan
Registered User
 
rlouzan's Avatar
 
rlouzan is offline
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,357
Perhaps the lens was not seated properly. What lens are you using? Canon breach or SCC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikos72 View Post
Ehm! No, but here comes a xmas miracle. I have removed the lens to get a look inside, found nothing (as expected), re-attached it, and now it fires normally!
That is both good news and bad news. Good because it works, bad because nobody knows if this will ever happen again!
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-23-2012   #46
mfogiel
Registered User
 
mfogiel's Avatar
 
mfogiel is offline
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Monaco
Posts: 3,704
Check the electrical contacts, give them a little rub with a fine sandpaper. Sometimes these oxidize in older cameras, I was once going crazy with a winder that would not fire...
__________________
http://mondoinbiancoenero.com/
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-23-2012   #47
rlouzan
Registered User
 
rlouzan's Avatar
 
rlouzan is offline
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,357
One other thing, don't lose your Canon FD rear lens caps - breach and SCC are not interchangeable.
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-23-2012   #48
HuubL
hunter-gatherer
 
HuubL's Avatar
 
HuubL is offline
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Netherlands
Age: 62
Posts: 2,327
There are no electrical contacts in the lens mount for communication with the lens. FD is purely mechanical.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfogiel View Post
Check the electrical contacts, give them a little rub with a fine sandpaper. Sometimes these oxidize in older cameras, I was once going crazy with a winder that would not fire...
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-23-2012   #49
kermaier
Registered User
 
kermaier's Avatar
 
kermaier is offline
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northern New Jersey
Posts: 1,474
I made several mistakes: I sold my FD 24/1.4L, 85/1.2L and 135/2 -- little did I know that m4/3 etc would give new life to the FD mount! Held onto my 50/1.2L though -- couldn't bring myself to sell it.
::Ari
__________________
Epson R-D1s with far too many lenses
Fuji X100
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-23-2012   #50
raid
Dad Photographer
 
raid's Avatar
 
raid is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 22,869
Among my better FD lenses, I also have the 35/2.8 tilt-shift, the 50/1.2l, the 70-210 Angenieux, the 19/3.5 FL, ....
__________________
- Raid

________________
Top 12 Images;

http://www.rangefinderforum.com/rffg...n.php?cid=7007
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:12.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.