Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Rangefinder Forum > Image Processing: Darkroom / Lightroom / Film > Film / Developing / Chemistry

Candlelight Church Service--what film and developer?
Old 12-23-2012   #1
BardParker

Candlelight Church Service--what film and developer?

I want to photograph the end of our Christmas eve service from the balcony at church during the singing of Silent Night. The lights will be out and everyone will be holding candles. I am going to use my Mamiya 7 with 65mm lens as the leaf shutter is nearly silent and manual winding very quiet. Not enough room for a tripod, so I will be using a monopod. I have the following films available: Tri-X, TMax 400, Arista EDU Ultra 400, Ilford XP-2, Ilford HP-5+, and Ilford Delta 3200.

My developers on hand from a recent Freestyle order include Arista Premium (F76+); rodinal; tmax developer; and HC-110. I'm fairly new to developing but have had good results with Arista Premium developer and rodinal. Have not used the others yet.

I am leaning toward Tri-X or HP5+ pushed to 800-1600 in the Arista Premium developer; or Ilford Delta 3200 @ 1600 in TMax developer.

I would like to print at 11x14 or 16x20.

Thoughts?

Thanks,

Kent

Old 12-23-2012   #2
oftheherd

Before you decide, get someone to hold a candle like will be used and meter. I would guess you want faces, so meter the face of your subject. Remember you will be using mostly light from behind anyone whose face is turned towards you. Guessing the light for backgrounds, that is, anything else in the church is going to be guess work. All that is from memory of when I used to do a fair amount of available light. I haven't really done any in quite a while. Take several shots and try bracketing with both shutter and aperture if you have the time. If not, only aperture. Some of the shots should be what you want.