Rangefinderforum.com

Rangefinderforum.com (http://www.rangefinderforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Epson R-D1 Leica M mount Digital Rangefinder (http://www.rangefinderforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=48)
-   -   Off shoe flash.. how? (http://www.rangefinderforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=15984)

PaulN 01-11-2006 14:09

Off shoe flash.. how?
 
What is the easiest way to connect a flash to the r-d1 and hold it out at arms length? I was at my local calumet, and they all stared at me if I was crazy. The flash I have is a Canon 550ex. Is there some sort of hotshoe to hotshoe adapter I could cobble together?

JoshRoot 01-11-2006 14:24

The 550ex does not have a PC socket.

You are going to need something like this:

http://www.paramountcords.com/prodde...2DMHSF1&cat=85



But with a PC on the other end instead of that pocketwizard miniplug. Call paramount cords and tell them what you want, they will sell you one.

Or, buy a standard canon TTL off-camera cord. It should sync just fine in manual mode with the R-D1. Although I would test this at the store before I bought one.

saxshooter 01-11-2006 18:51

Check this thread

http://www.rangefinderforum.com/foru...ad.php?t=12444

regarding the Vivitar 283 flash. In practice it would be easier than setting a flash manually because you can use auto aperture (non-TTL) settings.

Sean Reid 01-13-2006 02:13

I was just going to link that until I saw the post above. Saxshooter linked my post about the Vivitar with the remote sensor. That's the ticket, as far as I'm concerned.

Sean

kaiyen 01-13-2006 08:54

I find that PC connectors tend to slip out of the socket now and then. You should also be able to get a non-TTL hotshoe cable that slips directly into the shoe of the RD-1 (it has a shoe, right?) and onto the shoe of the flash.

allan

jaapv 01-13-2006 09:32

You'll probably find just the adapter you need here:
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...arch&Q=&ci=652

Rob 01-13-2006 10:27

if you try to use the Canon 550ex it will only shoot at full power, no adjustments at all.
Just get a vivtar 283 they you can use the manual and automodes just fine.

doubs43 01-13-2006 10:48

Isn't the r-d1 digital? If so, be CERTAIN that your flash doesn't exceed the camera's voltage rating. The early Vivitar 283's can ruin a digital camera. AFAIK, the 285 HV doesn't regardless of year/place of manufacture.

I use a Sunpak flash grip with an FLM Flash Ballhead on the grip. A hotshoe adapter on the Pentax *iDS camera and connecting cord between my 285 HV and the adapter. I use a lot of bounce flash so the ballhead allows me to turn the flash for vertical shots. It works pretty well.

Walker

JoshRoot 01-13-2006 14:00

Quote:

if you try to use the Canon 550ex it will only shoot at full power, no adjustments at all.
100% incorrect.

The 550ex has a manual mode with full-1/128 power adjustments.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 13:47.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.