Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Rangefinder Forum > Rangefinder Photography Discussion

Rangefinder Photography Discussion General discussions about Rangefinder Photography. This is a great place for questions and answers that are not addressed in a specific category. Take note there is also a General Photography forum.

Recommendation for Loupe and Lightbox
Old 08-19-2005   #1
skimmel

Recommendation for Loupe and Lightbox

I have recently started to shoot 35mm slide film and have been really enjoying it. I am looking for recommendations for a good (but not huge) light box and loupe. My plan is to use them to identify slides to later scan and print.

Some specific questions (I have no experience at all here, so hopefully these questions are even on-point):
1) What multiplication factor for the loupe?
2) Any brands in particular?
3) How important is the quality of the lightbox?
4) Any other advice?

Thanks in advance for all advice.

Old 08-19-2005   #2
back alley
IMAGES

i've never had a decent lightbox so i can't help there.

i do have a very nice nikon loupe made for the 35mm size and it works great, crystal clear.

i also have a cheap loupe made for 120 and it works ok.
i tend to use it to read medicine bottles and ingredients on packages.

Old 08-19-2005   #3
XAos

I just got mine, here's what I found out.

Dont worry about color corrected unless you're doing 1) slides 2) have to be accurate with your colors - like ad work. That said - most of them are color corrected. Be careful when you look at them online - many of the less expensive light boxes run on batteries and do not include an AC adapter, which will jack up the price.

Price up to 5x7 is reasonable. If you absolutely got to have 8x10 or larger it'll cost more. It is handy for viewing a whole sheet of negatives though, but I can live with sliding the page around.