Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Rangefinder Forum > Rangefinder Photography Discussion

Rangefinder Photography Discussion General discussions about Rangefinder Photography. This is a great place for questions and answers that are not addressed in a specific category. Take note there is also a General Photography forum.

Question re: Volunteer Work & Images
Old 10-14-2005   #1
Warren T.

Question re: Volunteer Work & Images

I am volunteering my time to take some pictures of a local event held by a non-profit organization. I am not a professional photographer.

The organization will provide the film, and will do the processing. All I am doing is taking the pictures. They will use the images for promotional purposes, brochures, etc. I am more than happy to do this because it is for a very worthy cause.

I was just wondering if the organization will own those images, or what other arrangements might others make in this situation?

If I get some good images, I would love to show them as some of my work either online or in an album somewhere, but I'm not sure how this all works.

Thanks,

Warren

Old 10-14-2005   #2
cp_ste.croix
At the beginning again.

Your best bet is to write it up as a contract which details their usage rights but maintains your ownership of the images. You might also wish to be credited when they use the images.

Just make sure everyone is on the same page before you start, and no one should have any problems.

I believe there are sample photographer contracts online all over the place...but maybe someone more law literate than me can point you to one.

Old 10-14-2005   #3
Rob
rangefinder camera magnet

Not being a lawyer or anything but they are paying for the film and the processing...Guess they could argue its theirs...Maybe you could write up a contract between you and them saying that you own all rights to the pictures and they are allowed use of the images?