Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Leicas and other Leica Mount Cameras > Epson R-D1 Leica M mount Digital Rangefinder

Epson R-D1 Leica M mount Digital Rangefinder A dedicated forum to the first Digital Leica M mount rangefinder camera.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Off shoe flash.. how?
Old 01-11-2006   #1
PaulN
Monkey
 
PaulN's Avatar
 
PaulN is offline
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Boston
Posts: 198
Off shoe flash.. how?

What is the easiest way to connect a flash to the r-d1 and hold it out at arms length? I was at my local calumet, and they all stared at me if I was crazy. The flash I have is a Canon 550ex. Is there some sort of hotshoe to hotshoe adapter I could cobble together?
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-11-2006   #2
JoshRoot
The NW will rise again.
 
JoshRoot's Avatar
 
JoshRoot is offline
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 172
The 550ex does not have a PC socket.

You are going to need something like this:

http://www.paramountcords.com/prodde...2DMHSF1&cat=85



But with a PC on the other end instead of that pocketwizard miniplug. Call paramount cords and tell them what you want, they will sell you one.

Or, buy a standard canon TTL off-camera cord. It should sync just fine in manual mode with the R-D1. Although I would test this at the store before I bought one.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-11-2006   #3
saxshooter
Registered User
 
saxshooter's Avatar
 
saxshooter is offline
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 584
Check this thread

http://www.rangefinderforum.com/foru...ad.php?t=12444

regarding the Vivitar 283 flash. In practice it would be easier than setting a flash manually because you can use auto aperture (non-TTL) settings.
__________________
Avatar:
Aung San Suu Kyi, Rangoon, Burma, 6/1996
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-13-2006   #4
Sean Reid
Photographer
 
Sean Reid's Avatar
 
Sean Reid is offline
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Southeastern Vemont, USA
Posts: 786
I was just going to link that until I saw the post above. Saxshooter linked my post about the Vivitar with the remote sensor. That's the ticket, as far as I'm concerned.

Sean
__________________
Avatar: NYC Subway, 1992
http://www.reidreviews.com
http://www.still-photo.net
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-13-2006   #5
kaiyen
local man of mystery
 
kaiyen's Avatar
 
kaiyen is offline
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SF Bay Area
Age: 40
Posts: 2,196
I find that PC connectors tend to slip out of the socket now and then. You should also be able to get a non-TTL hotshoe cable that slips directly into the shoe of the RD-1 (it has a shoe, right?) and onto the shoe of the flash.

allan
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-13-2006   #6
jaapv
RFF Sponsoring Member.
 
jaapv's Avatar
 
jaapv is offline
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Hellevoetsluis, Netherlands
Posts: 8,384
You'll probably find just the adapter you need here:
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...arch&Q=&ci=652
__________________
Jaap

jaapvphotography
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-13-2006   #7
Rob
rangefinder camera magnet
 
Rob is offline
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga. USA
Age: 61
Posts: 477
if you try to use the Canon 550ex it will only shoot at full power, no adjustments at all.
Just get a vivtar 283 they you can use the manual and automodes just fine.
__________________
<a href='http://www.rangefinderforum.com/photopost/showgallery.php?cat=500&ppuser=367'>My Gallery</a>
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-13-2006   #8
doubs43
Registered User
 
doubs43's Avatar
 
doubs43 is offline
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Byron, GA USA
Posts: 1,538
Isn't the r-d1 digital? If so, be CERTAIN that your flash doesn't exceed the camera's voltage rating. The early Vivitar 283's can ruin a digital camera. AFAIK, the 285 HV doesn't regardless of year/place of manufacture.

I use a Sunpak flash grip with an FLM Flash Ballhead on the grip. A hotshoe adapter on the Pentax *iDS camera and connecting cord between my 285 HV and the adapter. I use a lot of bounce flash so the ballhead allows me to turn the flash for vertical shots. It works pretty well.

Walker
__________________
<a href='http://www.rangefinderforum.com/photopost/showgallery.php?cat=500&ppuser=729'>My Gallery</a>
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-13-2006   #9
JoshRoot
The NW will rise again.
 
JoshRoot's Avatar
 
JoshRoot is offline
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 172
Quote:
if you try to use the Canon 550ex it will only shoot at full power, no adjustments at all.
100% incorrect.

The 550ex has a manual mode with full-1/128 power adjustments.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A Good Flash Setup for the R-D1 Sean Reid Epson R-D1 Leica M mount Digital Rangefinder 5 11-03-2005 08:00
Tiny Hot Shoe Flash keithslater Rangefinder Photography Discussion 5 10-02-2005 15:23
Low speed flash sync with Leica snaggs Leica M Film Cameras 14 06-20-2005 22:00
Canolite D flash causing erratic readings. Rob Rangefinder Photography Discussion 0 04-18-2005 16:36
New guy - electro GSN flash confusion kam Other RF 3 02-09-2005 07:54



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:55.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.