Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Rangefinder Forum > Rangefinder Photography Discussion

Rangefinder Photography Discussion General discussions about Rangefinder Photography. This is a great place for questions and answers that are not addressed in a specific category. Take note there is also a General Photography forum.

Cheap 35mm rangfinder
Old 01-24-2006   #1
Zack
Screw RC

Cheap 35mm rangfinder

So i find myself in a photography class my senior year of high school, and i walk in only to find out the teacher wants eevrything to be taken on either a point and shoot 35mm or a point and shoot digital. I have a complete darkroom setup in my basement from my dad, and have been taking and developing pictures since i was a freshman. After explaining this to the teacher he told me i could use my own camera but all prints had to be made at school on 5x7 RC. I learned on a nikon slr but a year ago a bought a fuji gsw690II and now can never go back to the cumbersome slr. The enlargers at school only cover 35 so the point of my post is to ask what is a good cheap 35mm rangefinder i could buy to use only for this semester(short term) and then when its over go back to the fuji.

Thanks for your time,
Zack

Go Bears!!! (2-0)

Old 01-24-2006   #2
Chaser

Canonet ql17 GIII,
Yashica Electro GSN come to mind

My Gallery

My Flickr

Old 01-24-2006   #3
captainslack
Five Goats Hunter

[quote=Zack]So i find myself in a photography class my senior year of high school, and i walk in only to find out the teacher wants eevrything to be taken on either a point and shoot 35mm or a point and shoot digital. /QUOTE]

You've got to be kidding me!

Old 01-24-2006   #4
davidbivins

What Chaser said, and in addition an Olympus RC or Minolta 7s or 7sII.

Old 01-24-2006   #5
Sedaku
lolly

My vote is for the QL-17, but you could just make a contact print. A 6x9 on 5x7 might look pretty nice.

Old 01-24-2006   #6
Trius
Waiting on Maitani