Removing eyes on summicron and summaron
Old 05-15-2010   #1
vangabriel
Registered User
 
vangabriel is offline
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: central california
Age: 28
Posts: 10
Removing eyes on summicron and summaron

I was wondering if it is possible to remove the goggles off of either of these lenses and still use them on my M2? I read somewhere that it wouldn't focus properly? I dont like how they look and I would look into buying one if I could remove the goggles
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-15-2010   #2
Rob-F
Likes Leicas
 
Rob-F's Avatar
 
Rob-F is offline
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The Show Me state
Age: 79
Posts: 6,313
They will not focus properly without the goggles.
__________________
May the light be with you.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-15-2010   #3
benno
Hack.
 
benno is offline
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 175
Yeah, I've a 35/3.5 Summaron and removing the goggles screws with the focussing. But I want to get a separate finder anyway, most of the time with the 35 I shoot hyperfocal so it doesn't bother me.
__________________
flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-15-2010   #4
FrankS
Registered User
 
FrankS's Avatar
 
FrankS is offline
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada, eh.
Age: 62
Posts: 19,389
Right. You can scale focus accurately.
__________________
my little website: http://frankfoto.jimdo.com/

photography makes me happy
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-15-2010   #5
retnull
Registered User
 
retnull is offline
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 464
If you remove the goggles, these lenses can be used with no problem on a m4/3 camera (Panasonic G1, Olympus EL-1, etc), with an M-to-m4/3 adapter.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-15-2010   #6
Brian Sweeney
Registered User
 
Brian Sweeney's Avatar
 
Brian Sweeney is offline
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 14,907
All you lose is the RF, use them as scale focus lenses. The distance scale will still be correct. The RF will be off.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-15-2010   #7
SolaresLarrave
My M5s need red dots!
 
SolaresLarrave's Avatar
 
SolaresLarrave is offline
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: DeKalb, IL, USA
Age: 60
Posts: 7,499
Why not simply replace them with goggle-less versions? It'll be better than tinkering with two perfectly fine lenses.

In the meanwhile... I do like my Elmarit 135mm f2.8 BECAUSE of its goggles.
__________________
-Francisco
Check out
My Leica M4-2 Blog and/or
My Nikon D700 Neophyte's Guide
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-15-2010   #8
Doug
Moderator
 
Doug's Avatar
 
Doug is online now
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central Washington, USA
Posts: 13,400
Agree with Francisco... I bought my Summaron *because* of the goggles, to be used on my M2. Makes it much easier to see the framelines... and around the outsides of the frame. Very satisfactory!

Maybe "learn to love" the goggles?
__________________
Doug’s Gallery
RFF on Facebook
  Reply With Quote

Goggles on summicron
Old 05-15-2010   #9
Latecomer
Making up for lost time
 
Latecomer's Avatar
 
Latecomer is offline
Join Date: May 2005
Age: 80
Posts: 56
Goggles on summicron

I take it we are not talking about the Summicron DR here. In the past I have used the lens without goggles on my M2 without any obvious focussing problems. Furthermore the goggles have their own carrying case whihc suggests they were not meant to be a permanent fixture.

Forgive me if this is an idiot question.
__________________
Jack
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-15-2010   #10
benno
Hack.
 
benno is offline
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug View Post
Agree with Francisco... I bought my Summaron *because* of the goggles, to be used on my M2. Makes it much easier to see the framelines... and around the outsides of the frame. Very satisfactory!

Maybe "learn to love" the goggles?
I don't like the distorted view I get through mine, they darken the viewfinder considerably and mine are vertically misaligned (although they weren't before I had the lens CLA'd...)
__________________
flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-15-2010   #11
Doug
Moderator
 
Doug's Avatar
 
Doug is online now
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central Washington, USA
Posts: 13,400
John, the goggles for the DR Summicron 50 is a quite different situation. And you're right; the lens is normally used without them, and the goggles are put on when you want to focus closer... Thus the term "dual range".

For the several 35mm lenses that were offered in goggled form, this was specifically for the M3 camera, which didn't have native 35mm framelines; the widest is 50mm. So these goggles "demagnify" the finder in such a way that the 35mm field of view appears within those 50mm framelines. The lens, then, brings up the 50mm framelines when mounted, the goggles are not easily removable, meant to be left on always, and the optical properties of the goggles are such that if they were removed the RF would misfocus the lens.

As it happens, the goggled 35mm lenses work fine on other M cameras too, expanding the view of the 50mm framelines to show 35mm. I like this effect on my M2, whose in-built 35mm framelines are so far out at the edge of the view that I can only see the ends simultaneously in peripheral vision. The 50mm frame is easy to see, so with the goggled lens that frame shows me the 35mm field, I can easily see all around the outside of it, making it much more pleasant to use.
__________________
Doug’s Gallery
RFF on Facebook
  Reply With Quote

Goggles on summicron
Old 05-15-2010   #12
Latecomer
Making up for lost time
 
Latecomer's Avatar
 
Latecomer is offline
Join Date: May 2005
Age: 80
Posts: 56
Goggles on summicron

Thanks Doug

Regards, John
__________________
Jack
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-27-2010   #13
Vincenzo Maielli
Registered User
 
Vincenzo Maielli is offline
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bari - Italy
Age: 59
Posts: 381
I own both Summaron 35/2.8 and Summicron 35 with eyes for the Leica M3. I use both these lenses on all my M cameras (M2, M3, M4, M5, M7 and MP). If you remove the eyes, the focus not work properly. Moreover, the cams of the Summaron and Summicron 35 with goggles engage the 50 mm framelines, in the finder of all M cameras: the goggles widen the 50 mm framelines up the 35 framelines, in the finder of all M cameras.
Ciao.
Vincenzo
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-29-2010   #14
umcelinho
Marcelo
 
umcelinho's Avatar
 
umcelinho is offline
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sao Paulo
Age: 36
Posts: 1,332
What if one mounts a 35mm Summicron with eyes on a M6? Will the 35mm framelines be easier to see (smaller) and the RF stil accurate? I like using 35mm, but when wearing glasses the framelines get too close to the edges. Anyone tried that already?
__________________
__________
@marcelography on Instagram
behance.net/marcelography
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-29-2010   #15
SimonSawSunlight
userabuser
 
SimonSawSunlight's Avatar
 
SimonSawSunlight is offline
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Berlin
Age: 31
Posts: 2,961
Quote:
Originally Posted by SolaresLarrave View Post
Why not simply replace them with goggle-less versions? It'll be better than tinkering with two perfectly fine lenses.
I agree 100%
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-31-2010   #16
rulnacco
Registered User
 
rulnacco is offline
Join Date: May 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by umcelinho View Post
What if one mounts a 35mm Summicron with eyes on a M6? Will the 35mm framelines be easier to see (smaller) and the RF stil accurate? I like using 35mm, but when wearing glasses the framelines get too close to the edges. Anyone tried that already?
I don't have an M6, I use my goggled Summaron on the M3 for which it was initially made. However, the lens will bring up the 50 framelines on your M6, so I would assume that means it will do exactly what you want it to do, as the framelines for that focal length should be well away from the edge of the viewfinder field.

The whole purpose of the goggles is this: when the M3 was first released, the widest lens the viewfinder had frames for was the 50 (it also has 90 and 135 framelines). The goggles "condense" the field of view of the 35 into the framelines for the 50. So on any Leica body, it will bring up the framelines for that lens, and what you see within them will be what you'll get on film with the lens. The caveat of course being that you might get just a bit more/less than you expect in frame at the edges; not sure to what degree the inherent general inaccuracy of rangefinder framelines is affected by this conversion on the M6. It shouldn't be too much to worry about, I would estimate.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-31-2010   #17
umcelinho
Marcelo
 
umcelinho's Avatar
 
umcelinho is offline
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sao Paulo
Age: 36
Posts: 1,332
I've always wanted some sort of de-magnifier from 35mm and wider, It'd be so good to be able to use, say, a 21mm without an external VF. I have nothing again those, but needing only 1 VF would be sweet. Those screw on 0.85x de-magnifiers do not work so well, from what I've read. Something that would go in front of the VF would be best, I assume.
__________________
__________
@marcelography on Instagram
behance.net/marcelography
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 19:13.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.