Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Leicas and other Leica Mount Cameras > Epson R-D1 Leica M mount Digital Rangefinder

Epson R-D1 Leica M mount Digital Rangefinder A dedicated forum to the first Digital Leica M mount rangefinder camera.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

just "Accidently" bought an R-D1...
Old 04-08-2012   #1
Gazzah
RF newbie
 
Gazzah is offline
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: N.Ireland - at the edge of TonnaghNeive
Age: 61
Posts: 166
just "Accidently" bought an R-D1...


I was sitting watching a documenary on ITV player and browsing Ebay, I saw an R-D1 and put a bid on.... 20 mins later I ha won it !

I had hankered after one for a long time, but the price kept putting me off. Now there should be one winging its way to me very soon.

I know most of the issues, but is there anything I should look out for, or anything I should grab in the meantime (spare batteries??).

Ive spent far to much recently on camera gear - must stop....!

Gary
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-08-2012   #2
shadeofpale
Registered User
 
shadeofpale's Avatar
 
shadeofpale is offline
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Krautland
Posts: 92
Congrats, Gary!
How several times reported, the cam eats batteries- so
buying some spare batteries is always a good idea.
__________________
Je suis Charlie too
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-08-2012   #3
Gazzah
RF newbie
 
Gazzah is offline
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: N.Ireland - at the edge of TonnaghNeive
Age: 61
Posts: 166
"buying some spare batteries is always a good idea"
Where would be the best place to get them in the UK?

I will hold off until the camera is here and Ive checked it over. Seller had good rating and good excuse for selling (M9) so hopfully it should be OK.

TIA
Gary H
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-08-2012   #4
RobVinc
I am a registered alien..
 
RobVinc is offline
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Yokohama, Japan
Posts: 149
Got some aftermarket batteries from Amazon as well of the bay..
__________________
Leica M2 / Epson R-D1 / Fujica G690
Canon 35mm 2.0 LTM / VC Ultron 28mm 1.9
and some other seldomly used stuff

my profile on dA:
http://robvinc.deviantart.com/

my tumblr:
http://longnoserob.tumblr.com/
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-08-2012   #5
back alley
IMAGES
 
back alley's Avatar
 
back alley is offline
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: true north strong & free
Posts: 49,241
accidental congratulations!!
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-08-2012   #6
Keith
On leave from Gallifrey
 
Keith's Avatar
 
Keith is offline
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 18,641
From someone also waiting for their RD-1 but not bought quite so accidentaly ... congratulations!

Australia post are currently tormenting me ... as seems to be their preference!
__________________
---------------------------
flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-08-2012   #7
forsakenrider
Salad
 
forsakenrider is offline
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Montreal, QC, CANADA
Posts: 66
you guys are all tormenting me! I want one of these so bad!
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-08-2012   #8
hajime
Registered User
 
hajime is offline
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gazzah View Post
"buying some spare batteries is always a good idea"
Where would be the best place to get them in the UK?

I will hold off until the camera is here and Ive checked it over. Seller had good rating and good excuse for selling (M9) so hopfully it should be OK.

TIA
Gary H
I bought mine here
http://www.duracelldirect.co.uk/pno/dbi9559a.html
(they work excellent & free delivery & they're made in japan
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-08-2012   #9
paradoxbox
Registered User
 
paradoxbox is offline
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 424
Think of the batteries as film you need to change every 100-150 shots.

You might also consider a wireless SD card if you have an iphone or ipad so that you don't have to swap out the sd card after it fills up.
__________________
Epson R-D1, Ricoh GRD III, Rollei TLR's, Lots of others
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-08-2012   #10
[email protected]
Registered User
 
raytoei@gmail.com's Avatar
 
[email protected] is offline
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,000
i have bought 5 batteries from this fella with no issues.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/170674549393...84.m1497.l2649

Add on top to the 3 that came with it from a fellow rffer, i have managed to go on a recent trip without bringing a charger along, but managed to use up only 2 batteries for the 3 days ... hhahaha


raytoei
( a newbie r-d1)
__________________
------------------------------------
Film is Photography.
------------------------------------
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-08-2012   #11
[email protected]
Registered User
 
raytoei@gmail.com's Avatar
 
[email protected] is offline
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,000
Paradoxbox,

I presume that you are referring to eye-fi ?

Have you used it ? and can you comment on it.

thanks

raytoei
__________________
------------------------------------
Film is Photography.
------------------------------------
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-08-2012   #12
Jobin
Registered User
 
Jobin's Avatar
 
Jobin is offline
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 170
Convince me to buy and rd-1 instead of an x100
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-08-2012   #13
Bill58
Native Texan
 
Bill58's Avatar
 
Bill58 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: So. Korea
Posts: 2,979
Am I guessing right that the X-pro1 will be the death knell for the RD-1?
__________________
My images of a strange land-So. Korea:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/wrs111445/
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-08-2012   #14
Keith
On leave from Gallifrey
 
Keith's Avatar
 
Keith is offline
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 18,641
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill58 View Post
Am I guessing right that the X-pro1 will be the death knell for the RD-1?


Why would you suggest that Bill?
__________________
---------------------------
flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-08-2012   #15
astro8
Registered User
 
astro8's Avatar
 
astro8 is offline
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sydney
Age: 57
Posts: 551
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jobin View Post
Convince me to buy and rd-1 instead of an x100
That's easy for yourself to do if you like experimenting with different focal lengths.

Favourite so far is 21mm followed by 35mm. I think I may be after a 15mm in the not too distant future.
__________________
-Greg

My RFF Gallery

  Reply With Quote

Old 04-09-2012   #16
Gazzah
RF newbie
 
Gazzah is offline
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: N.Ireland - at the edge of TonnaghNeive
Age: 61
Posts: 166
How do you guys use the wider lenses on the RD?
No frame lines and I gues the optional vewfinder wont be the right FOV for the lens any more.
I have a 15, 21, 25, 35 all CV lenses, and several other odds and sods so 1 matchesthe built in frames, the rest??
Would the 15 be close enough to the 21 viewfinder to use?

Bill - I have recently bought an XP1 as well - when I saw the RD wih a low bid on it I decided to up t by £2.50 never thinking I would win the thing..... Much as I like the XP1 (Only had it 3 days) it is not an RF - not even close...
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-09-2012   #17
astro8
Registered User
 
astro8's Avatar
 
astro8 is offline
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sydney
Age: 57
Posts: 551
I finally bought off a member here a 21D finder that's made for the R-D1. It's around 32mmFOV. A 35mm finder will work in a pinch.

A 21mm finder will work with the CV15mm on an R-D1.
__________________
-Greg

My RFF Gallery

  Reply With Quote

Old 04-09-2012   #18
hajime
Registered User
 
hajime is offline
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gazzah View Post
How do you guys use the wider lenses on the RD?
No frame lines and I gues the optional vewfinder wont be the right FOV for the lens any more.
I have a 15, 21, 25, 35 all CV lenses, and several other odds and sods so 1 matchesthe built in frames, the rest??
Would the 15 be close enough to the 21 viewfinder to use?
Discussed here too
http://www.rangefinderforum.com/foru...ad.php?t=86949
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-09-2012   #19
rommelgc
never clever
 
rommelgc is offline
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: setagaya-ku, tokyo-to
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by paradoxbox View Post
Think of the batteries as film you need to change every 100-150 shots.

You might also consider a wireless SD card if you have an iphone or ipad so that you don't have to swap out the sd card after it fills up.
just be forewarned the original R-D1 only supports SD .. not SDHC. the wireless SD cards (ie from Eye-fi) are mostly SDHC only :-(

and congratulations to the OP!
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-09-2012   #20
gdi
Registered User
 
gdi is offline
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: West-Central Connecticut
Posts: 2,588
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill58 View Post
Am I guessing right that the X-pro1 will be the death knell for the RD-1?
Kinda like the M8, G1, EP1, x100, Nex5/7... were?
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-09-2012   #21
DelDavis
.
 
DelDavis is offline
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United States, East
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by forsakenrider View Post
you guys are all tormenting me! I want one of these so bad!
I'm planning to post my R-D1 for sale in the next day or so. Stay tuned, or shoot me a message.

Have a feeling I'm going to miss it.
__________________
Flickr::midnightzulu
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-10-2012   #22
Kent
Finally at home...
 
Kent's Avatar
 
Kent is offline
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 1,693
I wish I had accidentally bought one.
Congratulations!
__________________
Cheers, Kent
_______
Main Cams: Leica, Sony, Nikon, Fuji, Olympus, Pentax, Panasonic, Canon
Main Lenses: Leica, Nikkor, Voigtländer, 7artisans, Meyer, Sigma, Pentax, Tamron, Rokkor etc.
Click me...
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-10-2012   #23
Ezzie
E. D. Russell Roberts
 
Ezzie's Avatar
 
Ezzie is offline
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 2,708
You very nearly make me miss mine. But only nearly.

Congrats
__________________
Eirik

RF: Leica M4-2 | Royal 35-M | Polaroid 110A/600SE hybrid
VF: DIY 4x5 | DIY 6x17 | Voigtländer Vito CL | Foth Derby | Welta Weltix | Smena Symbol | Lomo'Instax
SLR: Canon EF | Pentacon SIX | Pentax SP1000 | Pentax SV
TLR: Rolleiflex 2.8E3 | DUO TLR
CSC: Fuji X-E1
Pinhole: 6x17 Vermeer | ONDU 6x6 | DIY 4x5 | DIY 6x24

My Flickr
Silver Halides - Pictures in B&W
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-10-2012   #24
Gazzah
RF newbie
 
Gazzah is offline
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: N.Ireland - at the edge of TonnaghNeive
Age: 61
Posts: 166
Kent - thanks, this one went for about 1/2 what they have cost recently - I put a low bid on not expecting to win it. Im sure the original owner isnt to happy, but I sure am!
Only thing I need now (yea right!) is a decent 25mm and I willbe happy.
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-10-2012   #25
umcelinho
Marcelo
 
umcelinho's Avatar
 
umcelinho is offline
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sao Paulo
Age: 36
Posts: 1,332
Quote:
Originally Posted by DelDavis View Post
Have a feeling I'm going to miss it.
i put mine for sale once. i'm glad i changed my mind
__________________
__________
@marcelography on Instagram
behance.net/marcelography
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-10-2012   #26
hajime
Registered User
 
hajime is offline
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 14
Just sold mine... not mourning (yet! hehe), but happy for that the R-D1 can be appreciated by someone using it. Better than it just sitting around in my glass showcase.
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-17-2012   #27
Gazzah
RF newbie
 
Gazzah is offline
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: N.Ireland - at the edge of TonnaghNeive
Age: 61
Posts: 166
RD1 arrived today - took a visit to my favourite camera testing site; a very old grave yard.
Im just processing the images now.
I used a CV35 f4 and a jupiter 3 50 1.5. Very pleased with the ones from the CV, I missed focus quite a few times with the J3 at 1.5. It was just starting to get dark so thats my excuse!
If I manage to get themposted up somewhere I will link to them.
So far very happy, totaly different feel to my also new XP1.
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-17-2012   #28
huntjump
Registered User
 
huntjump's Avatar
 
huntjump is offline
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 743
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gazzah View Post
RD1 arrived today - took a visit to my favourite camera testing site; a very old grave yard.
Im just processing the images now.
I used a CV35 f4 and a jupiter 3 50 1.5. Very pleased with the ones from the CV, I missed focus quite a few times with the J3 at 1.5. It was just starting to get dark so thats my excuse!
If I manage to get themposted up somewhere I will link to them.
So far very happy, totaly different feel to my also new XP1.
Glad you are enjoying it. The R-D1 is a very very fun camera. Certainly has limitations, but for the most part its benefits far outweighs its dated technology, imo.
__________________
RFF Gallery
Flickr

-Adam
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-17-2012   #29
thirtyfivefifty
Noctilust survivor
 
thirtyfivefifty is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: 대한민국
Posts: 278
whoops! congrats?
__________________
Instagram, Flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-20-2012   #30
kuvvy
Registered User
 
kuvvy's Avatar
 
kuvvy is online now
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 63
Posts: 1,866
Gary, I got my last RD1 batteries form 7dayshop.com which no doubt you've heard of. I've bought spare third party batteries from them over many years for many different cameras and theyve always worked as well as the originals. Check out their website. Oh and enjoy your new toy

Paul
__________________
Epson R-D1, Leica MDa, Fuji X70, Fuji X100F, Fuji XQ1, Fuji F30, Olympus OM1n, Olympus OM-2n, Sigma DP1, DP2 & DP3 Merrills, Ricoh GR, Ricoh GR III, Lomo LC-Wide, LC-120

Ipernity Gallery

Flickr gallery
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-20-2012   #31
ped
Small brown dog
 
ped's Avatar
 
ped is offline
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: England
Posts: 945
Congrats, I love mine.

Does anyone make a Wifi 2GB SD card?
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-20-2012   #32
Guaranteed
Registered User
 
Guaranteed's Avatar
 
Guaranteed is offline
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 238
There's a few Eye-Fi 2GB cards on eBay at the moment.
__________________
Christian
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-20-2012   #33
ped
Small brown dog
 
ped's Avatar
 
ped is offline
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: England
Posts: 945
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guaranteed View Post
There's a few Eye-Fi 2GB cards on eBay at the moment.

Really? I can't find any... got a link??

I noticed that only some versions allow you to send RAW via Wi-fi, too - this would be a necessity for me.
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-21-2012   #34
Guaranteed
Registered User
 
Guaranteed's Avatar
 
Guaranteed is offline
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 238
Sorry for the delay, I have no experience with them so I'm not sure which versions do what.

Item number: 190667825192

Item number: 170826626829

Item number: 190667689151

Item number: 221003891563

Just C+P the numbers into the search bar, I hope this helps you out.
__________________
Christian
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-21-2012   #35
Kent
Finally at home...
 
Kent's Avatar
 
Kent is offline
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 1,693
I am "accidently" watching one...
__________________
Cheers, Kent
_______
Main Cams: Leica, Sony, Nikon, Fuji, Olympus, Pentax, Panasonic, Canon
Main Lenses: Leica, Nikkor, Voigtländer, 7artisans, Meyer, Sigma, Pentax, Tamron, Rokkor etc.
Click me...
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-21-2012   #36
ped
Small brown dog
 
ped's Avatar
 
ped is offline
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: England
Posts: 945
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guaranteed View Post
Sorry for the delay, I have no experience with them so I'm not sure which versions do what.

Item number: 190667825192

Item number: 170826626829

Item number: 190667689151

Item number: 221003891563

Just C+P the numbers into the search bar, I hope this helps you out.
Thanks very much for that! I wonder why they wouldn't show for me, perhaps it's because I'm in the UK?

Next question is do these cards send RAW or just JPEG as I know they do two versions currently... I always shoot RAW so if they do then I'll be happy...
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-23-2012   #37
ped
Small brown dog
 
ped's Avatar
 
ped is offline
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: England
Posts: 945
OK it turns out the 2GB card only sends Jpeg but with the R-D1 doing JPEG and RAW at the same time it might be useful for snaps and having the RAW on file for any shots you want to develop further.

Weird that the 2GB cards seem to only be in the US and 'ebayers' seem only to want to post them within the states... I assume the cards would work in the UK just as they do over there?
  Reply With Quote

Thanks to all...
Old 04-23-2012   #38
Gazzah
RF newbie
 
Gazzah is offline
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: N.Ireland - at the edge of TonnaghNeive
Age: 61
Posts: 166
Talking Thanks to all...

for the suggestions.
I checked the local Jessops - no suitable batteries. I see them on 7dayshop but after the first weekend of playing with the new toy I think the two that I have will do the job.
The only issue that I have so far is that he RF patch is a lot more opaque than either my M's or the bessas that I have, Makes it more difficult for my worn out eyes to focus with lenses like the jupiter 50 1.5.

I took the camera to my favorite testing sites (old grave yard and a local forest park) along with the new x-pro 1. The old Epson held up well againist the new boy, for B&W I definatly prefer the images directly out of the RD.

I will try and get someexamples posted up soon.
Thanks again for all the encouragement.

Gary NH

Last edited by Gazzah : 04-23-2012 at 12:07. Reason: Stupid typos
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-23-2012   #39
Latecomer
Making up for lost time
 
Latecomer's Avatar
 
Latecomer is offline
Join Date: May 2005
Age: 80
Posts: 56
My ''new' RD! arrived today, with neither batteries nor cables, so it will be a day or two before I get to have areal play. Very frustrating.

I too will be using the camera alongside a brand spanking new xp1. The only way I can compare the two at this stage is to say the simplicity of the RD! is very appealing .

Cheers
__________________
Jack
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-23-2012   #40
Shade
Registered User
 
Shade is offline
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 438
I think the RD-1 holds it's own place very well even when the Xpro1 is about. There's a certain different look from it's results that I don't think is replicable in the Fuji.
__________________
Www.memorialucis.blogspot.com
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:08.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.