Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Fuji X Series > Fuji X Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

X Pro1 new FIRMWARE
Old 04-23-2012   #1
wild05kid05
Registered User
 
wild05kid05 is offline
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
X Pro1 new FIRMWARE

The firmware update Ver.1.01 incorporates the following issues:
1.Reduction of chattering noise from iris of lenses in shooting mode.
2.Improvement of phenomenon that parallax compensation does not work under condition of manual focus with OVF bright frame mode.
3.Improvement of phenomenon that OVF quality as low visibility due to too bright OVF under the condition of power save mode during pressing the shutter button halfway.
4.Improvement of phenomenon that delete function does not work after viewing continues shooting mode images.

http://www.fujifilm.com/support/digi...ro1/index.html
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-23-2012   #2
gavinlg
Registered User
 
gavinlg's Avatar
 
gavinlg is offline
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wellington NZ
Posts: 5,121
Awesome I don't even own an x-pro1 (yet?) but every time fujifilm updated the x100s firmware, the AF got incrementally better too. I'd advise everyone to keep an eye on the AF speed and characteristics before and after - you might have a nice little surprise
__________________
NO PRAISE
@gavinlagrange
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-23-2012   #3
Spyro
Registered User
 
Spyro is offline
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Melbourne, VIC, Oz
Posts: 916
I love the use of the word "phenomenon" instead of bug or fault or malfunction or whatever.
Like it's some sort of force majeure enforced on this camera by alien species and fuji never had anything to do with it :P

Great news though
__________________
Flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-2012   #4
wild05kid05
Registered User
 
wild05kid05 is offline
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
Anyone planning on updating firmware, can you test before and after performance
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-2012   #5
macjim
Registered User
 
macjim is offline
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 463
How do you get the firmware into the camera? I can't find any instructions for it.

Sent from my iPhone using Forum Runner
__________________
Cheers, Macjim
  Reply With Quote

Yes!! Thanks Fuji !!!!!!!!!!
Old 04-24-2012   #6
punctum
Registered User
 
punctum is offline
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 17
Yes!! Thanks Fuji !!!!!!!!!!

Hi
Well I'm all updated now, and the Chatter seems to be gone on both the 35 & 60 I have. The AF speed is improved on the 60 which came with a 1.01 firmware and is now 1.02, the 35mm again AF speed seems improved. The AF speed is welcome but the AF speed worked well enough right out of the box on 20th march the removal of the chatter more pleasing but wasn't deal breaker as some would have it.
So the the good support Fuji showed the x100 owners will continue with the X-pro1.
Sven
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-2012   #7
dcsang
Canadian & Not A Dentist
 
dcsang's Avatar
 
dcsang is offline
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Toronto Canada
Age: 54
Posts: 4,708
What a nice surprise to wake up to Process looks easy enough - but will have to read through it to make sure I get it right - don't want the camera to lock up and all that - people, from what I've read, claim better AF speeds but that may be just personal preference. Framelines being fixed (hopefully) in the OVF would be a good thing. The chattering, while present, never really irked me but I know it bugged a lot of folks.

As mentioned over at DPreview's forums, I wonder if by cutting out the chatter this would help with battery life.... we'll see right?

Cheers,
Dave
__________________
I own a Leica and I am NOT a dentist (I don't even portray one on TV!!!)

I have an idea what I'm looking for but it only becomes real once I see it - Constantine Manos

ITS THE MAGIC I SEE IN THE Light, Texture, & Tone
that Intoxicates Me - Helen Hill

My Flickr - it's where I post my RF and P&S shtuff
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-2012   #8
macjim
Registered User
 
macjim is offline
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 463
OK. Found out how: here's the page for the instructions. http://www.fujifilm.com/support/digi.../download.html
__________________
Cheers, Macjim
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-2012   #9
dcsang
Canadian & Not A Dentist
 
dcsang's Avatar
 
dcsang is offline
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Toronto Canada
Age: 54
Posts: 4,708
Upgraded - Chatter has completely disappeared from the camera. Upgraded the two lenses as well - note that the links for ALL the upgrades (body and lens) is found here:
http://www.fujifilm.com/support/digi...ware/#firmware

As noted elsewhere the firmware upgrade WIPES your custom settings, date, time etc.

Not a "pain" for me but it may be for those with specific items that they have not made note of within the settings.

Cheers,
Dave
__________________
I own a Leica and I am NOT a dentist (I don't even portray one on TV!!!)

I have an idea what I'm looking for but it only becomes real once I see it - Constantine Manos

ITS THE MAGIC I SEE IN THE Light, Texture, & Tone
that Intoxicates Me - Helen Hill

My Flickr - it's where I post my RF and P&S shtuff
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-2012   #10
Macmook
Tenebrous
 
Macmook is offline
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 18
Great stuff. One note: my 60mm was already at V1.01 - the upgrade brought it to V1.02
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-2012   #11
x.z.
Registered User
 
x.z. is offline
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Beijing, China
Posts: 58
wild05kid05, thank you for sharing the news.

Fuji must have a long list of "phenomenon" :-) I wonder how Fuji prioritize all of them. Anyway it's good to see some of the "phenomenon" was fixed.
__________________
Xu, Zhe


My Flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-2012   #12
kbg32
neo-romanticist
 
kbg32's Avatar
 
kbg32 is offline
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New York, New York
Posts: 5,592
The "phenomenon" with the most complaints go to the top of the list.
__________________
Keith

http://keithgoldstein.me/
Keith’s Gallery
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-2012   #13
Spyro
Registered User
 
Spyro is offline
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Melbourne, VIC, Oz
Posts: 916
Not to be ungrateful but I wonder why they didn't fix the phenomenon with the min shutter speed in auto iso.
__________________
Flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-2012   #14
Dante_Stella
Rex canum cattorumque
 
Dante_Stella's Avatar
 
Dante_Stella is offline
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,786
Confirmed that AF speed with the 35mm is now better. Love that Fuji corrected the MF framelines but did not provide a corrected reticle for on-demand focusing.

Dante
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-2012   #15
furcafe
Registered User
 
furcafe's Avatar
 
furcafe is offline
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Washington, DC, USA
Age: 53
Posts: 4,310
Haven't noticed any improvements in AF speed w/the 18/2. Since that was already the fastest focusing lens, perhaps it's even a bit slower in dark conditions in non-Power Save mode, though if the accuracy is improved I can live w/the trade-off.
__________________
Five a Second. Chicago's Bell & Howell Co. (cameras) announced that it would put on sale this fall the world's most expensive still camera. Its "Foton" will take five 35-mm. pictures a second, sell for $700. Bell & Howell, which has found that "families of both low and high incomes now spend over $550" for movie equipment, hopes to sell 20,000 Fotons a year.
--Facts And Figures, Time magazine, Monday, October 4, 1948
My Photoblog

My Flickr stream

My RFF Gallery

My Instagram
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-2012   #16
PrecisionCamera
Precision Camera & Video
 
PrecisionCamera's Avatar
 
PrecisionCamera is offline
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 130
Beat me to it wildkid! I just blogged about this on our site with the individual links for the firmware updates.

The updates are easy to implement, just download the files to a computer, place them in the root directory on your SD card, place that card in your camera (with a full battery charge) and turn it on while holding down the DISP/BACK button. This starts the camera in update mode and walks you through the rest of the process.

One thing you really have to pay attention to when getting the files from Fuji is that they are the full download. A phenomenon (like how I used that word? ) that can occur due to fluctuating internet connections is that the full file does not download and then you cannot complete the update because of a corrupted file. The respective file sizes are:

The X-Pro1 Body update is 36.5MB
The XF18/2.0 Lens is 385KB
The XF35/1.4 Lens is 385KB
And The XF60/2.4 Lens is 385KB

You can find the link to my article on the updates here.

So happy to hear the aperture chatter is gone!
__________________
Precision Camera & Video
2438 West Anderson Lane
Ste.B4
Austin, TX 78757
800-677-1023
512-467-7676
[email protected]
http://www.precision-camera.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-2012   #17
wild05kid05
Registered User
 
wild05kid05 is offline
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
I haven't updated mine yet (doing it this afternoon). Glad the chatter is gone, but do you guys still find the brightness level in OVF and LCD consistent ?
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-2012   #18
kdemas
ʎlʇuǝɹǝɟɟıp sƃuıɥʇ ǝǝS
 
kdemas's Avatar
 
kdemas is offline
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3,746
Just downloaded and updated the firmware, quick and easy. Haven't had a chance to test it yet but kudos to Fuji for responsively addressing some sore points so quickly. I'm interested to see if the "chatter fix" effects the EVF or OVF illumination at all in use (that's what the chatter was for I believe, to keep the view at a consistent brightness level).
__________________
------------------------------------------------------------
Open Iris. Life, Captured.
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-2012   #19
JHutchins
Registered User
 
JHutchins's Avatar
 
JHutchins is offline
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Juneau, Alaska
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by wild05kid05 View Post
I haven't updated mine yet (doing it this afternoon). Glad the chatter is gone, but do you guys still find the brightness level in OVF and LCD consistent ?
Post firmware update the aperture still opens and closes depending on how much light is falling on the sensor, but it does it quietly. It's very nice now...
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-2012   #20
Kent
Finally at home...
 
Kent's Avatar
 
Kent is offline
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 1,693
Already???

Is that a good or a bad sign?
__________________
Cheers, Kent
_______
Main Cams: Leica, Sony, Nikon, Fuji, Olympus, Pentax, Panasonic, Canon
Main Lenses: Leica, Nikkor, Voigtländer, 7artisans, Meyer, Sigma, Pentax, Tamron, Rokkor etc.
Click me...
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-2012   #21
wild05kid05
Registered User
 
wild05kid05 is offline
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
Fuji did really pull this one off, the blade still dances, but it's inaudible. That doesn't mean we get better battery life by the way
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-2012   #22
aanokhin
Registered User
 
aanokhin's Avatar
 
aanokhin is offline
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Dubna, Moscow Region, Russia
Posts: 7
Just updated all 4 - subjectively AF is way better than before and "chatter" is gone... will keep testing
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-2012   #23
huntjump
Registered User
 
huntjump's Avatar
 
huntjump is offline
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 743
great news
__________________
RFF Gallery
Flickr

-Adam
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-2012   #24
PrecisionCamera
Precision Camera & Video
 
PrecisionCamera's Avatar
 
PrecisionCamera is offline
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 130
Yes! Updated our floor model and can confirm noiseless aperture, but have not had a chance to fully test other "phenomenon" fixes for results. I'll be posting about it in my full review on Thursday after testing out the firmware adjustments.
__________________
Precision Camera & Video
2438 West Anderson Lane
Ste.B4
Austin, TX 78757
800-677-1023
512-467-7676
[email protected]
http://www.precision-camera.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-2012   #25
scho
Registered User
 
scho is offline
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ithaca, NY
Age: 82
Posts: 322
Well, "aperture chatter" was at the bottom of my list for firmware fixes. #1 was give me the ability to assign a minimum acceptable shutter speed in auto ISO setup. Patiently waiting for next FW upgrade.
__________________
Gear: Leica M-E, Sigma DP3M, Ricoh GXR-M, Contax G2, Rolleiflex 2.8F.

TheDailySnap
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-2012   #26
celluloidprop
Registered User
 
celluloidprop is offline
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 876
no chatter, I don't notice a difference in AF speed

Agreed on auto ISO, but I suspect that may never get 'fixed.' People were asking Canon for user-adjustable AISO for years and they kept using the same 1/FL for camera after camera.
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-2012   #27
FA Limited
planespotting
 
FA Limited is offline
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 828
Quote:
Originally Posted by celluloidprop View Post
Agreed on auto ISO, but I suspect that may never get 'fixed.' People were asking Canon for user-adjustable AISO for years and they kept using the same 1/FL for camera after camera.
is that what the Fuji uses?
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-2012   #28
gdi
Registered User
 
gdi is offline
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: West-Central Connecticut
Posts: 2,588
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dante_Stella View Post
Confirmed that AF speed with the 35mm is now better. Love that Fuji corrected the MF framelines but did not provide a corrected reticle for on-demand focusing.

Dante
So you think Fuji fixed the AF and didn't list it the "Detail of the Update"?

Maybe, but I can remember all the M8 (and many other cameras/manufacturers)updates that people insisted included undocumented improvements to the ISO performance - but usually wasn't the case!
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-2012   #29
celluloidprop
Registered User
 
celluloidprop is offline
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 876
Quote:
Originally Posted by FA Limited View Post
is that what the Fuji uses?
Fuji is using 1/FL equivalent - for the 35mm it's 1/52, for the 18 it's 1/30.
I'm not sure if Canon uses true FL or equivalent on crop bodies.
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-2012   #30
wild05kid05
Registered User
 
wild05kid05 is offline
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
AF does feel snappier for sure, not placebo effect !
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-2012   #31
Keith
On leave from Gallifrey
 
Keith's Avatar
 
Keith is offline
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 18,641
It amazes me that in testing this camera they didn't wonder if the chattering aperture blades would annoy some users ... and if it was a simple firmware alteration to stop it why not sort it out first before having it discussed all over the interweb!
__________________
---------------------------
flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-2012   #32
wild05kid05
Registered User
 
wild05kid05 is offline
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
HOWEVER, as the blades move slower, it will take longer for the VF/LCD to adjust brightness
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-2012   #33
Dante_Stella
Rex canum cattorumque
 
Dante_Stella's Avatar
 
Dante_Stella is offline
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,786
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdi View Post
So you think Fuji fixed the AF and didn't list it the "Detail of the Update"?

Maybe, but I can remember all the M8 (and many other cameras/manufacturers)updates that people insisted included undocumented improvements to the ISO performance - but usually wasn't the case!
Probably recompiled the firmware if nothing else. The X100 seemed to get faster with every iteration, but an AF speed increase for still frame was only documented once.

Dante
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-2012   #34
fiddlergene1
Registered User
 
fiddlergene1 is offline
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7
Update was easy, except it wiped out all my settings so I had to do them all over again -boo hoo! Note that the RAW converter has been updated also. Not that it's earth shattering. Adobe should be out with an update to camera raw soon.
  Reply With Quote

issues with mac and xpro updat
Old 04-24-2012   #35
clicker
Registered User
 
clicker is offline
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 317
issues with mac and xpro updat

Anyone else attempting to upgrade Xpro firmware using a mac and having difficulty- error message stating new firmware not on card after installed?
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-2012   #36
Kibabalu
Registered User
 
Kibabalu is offline
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1
No issue here on a Mac with Lion 10.7.3
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-2012   #37
GaryLH
Registered User
 
GaryLH's Avatar
 
GaryLH is offline
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6,180
Fuji firmware updater requires that the firmware is in the root of the flash card (sd) plus the file name must be exactly the one specified.

The original name downloaded on the Mac can be auto renamed if the Mac discovers a file with the same name in the download directory. For example a previously downloaded file with the name xx1234yy.dat, the next download with the same file name the Mac will use xx1234yy-1.dat instead.

Not sure if either of these two could be your problem..

Good luck
Gary
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-24-2012   #38
Latecomer
Making up for lost time
 
Latecomer's Avatar
 
Latecomer is offline
Join Date: May 2005
Age: 80
Posts: 56
No problem on Snow Leopard.

Cheers
__________________
Jack
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-25-2012   #39
lam
Dave
 
lam's Avatar
 
lam is offline
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 946
I just exchanged my NEX-7 + Zeiss 24/1.8 for a X-Pro 1 and 35/1.4, I didn't even turn it on before flashing the new firmware, and I was using a Mac 27".

Needless to say, the performance of the camera is astounding to me, the focus seems great actually.

Not entirely sure how it could go wrong if you're just copying DAT files over to the card.
__________________
website twitter
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-25-2012   #40
macjim
Registered User
 
macjim is offline
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by clicker
Anyone else attempting to upgrade Xpro firmware using a mac and having difficulty- error message stating new firmware not on card after installed?
First of all. Did you format the SD card before you tried to add the firmware to it? You have to have a clean formatted SD card so any old spare cards will do. Then download the software and drag it to the desktop, then drag onto the card. I had no problems at all on my MacBook Pro with any of the firmware updates, the only problem was finding out how to do it but after I clicked the download link, the instructions were revealed.

Sent from my iPhone using Forum Runner
__________________
Cheers, Macjim
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:47.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.