Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Leicas and other Leica Mount Cameras > Leica M9 / ME

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

I just have to vent at Leica... or myself...
Old 05-03-2014   #1
hepcat
Former PH, USN
 
hepcat's Avatar
 
hepcat is offline
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eastern Iowa
Age: 64
Posts: 1,268
I just have to vent at Leica... or myself...

Ok, so I've said many times I've shot Leica M rangefinders off and on for forty years... I don't have to look at an M body to do anything... it's all muscle memory by now...

So, EVERY time I take the baseplate off my M8 or M9P, I try to put it on the wrong way... I put the plate on with the latch on the wrong side of the camera. It's not a big deal of course, but it's exasperating to do it EVERY time. And I NEVER do that with my M4-P. Hmmm... So.. I've had the digi Ms now for a year and a half... and I'm down working in my studio... doing a battery reset; a drain and recharge on my digi M batteries. And I tried to put the M8 baseplate on backwards... again.

So, it finally occurs to me that there must be a reason that I'm doing that... and I pull my M4-P out of the bag... and voila... the digi-M baseplate IS BACKWARDS!!!! ARRRRRRGGGGGHHHHHH!!!!!

Ok, so I'm not the sharpest tool in the shed... I just had to share this. LMAO!!!


release latch location by chief1120, on Flickr
__________________
Leicas and lenses

Find me on the web...
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-03-2014   #2
MCTuomey
Registered User
 
MCTuomey's Avatar
 
MCTuomey is offline
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: U.S.
Age: 65
Posts: 3,309
Great post - and I'm there too!
__________________
--Mike

My Flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-03-2014   #3
Godfrey
somewhat colored
 
Godfrey's Avatar
 
Godfrey is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 9,147
That's funny, Roger. :-)

G
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-03-2014   #4
Richard G
Registered User
 
Richard G's Avatar
 
Richard G is offline
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 37,47 S
Posts: 5,185
My God, that must explain it. I'm doing it all the time still and I've only had two rolls of film through a film M this year. More than two years with the M9. So much for the benefits of muscle memory.
__________________
Richard
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-03-2014   #5
burancap
Registered User
 
burancap's Avatar
 
burancap is offline
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Carolina
Age: 54
Posts: 2,193
This is great! I never noticed!
__________________
Jeff
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-03-2014   #6
mothertrucker
Registered User
 
mothertrucker's Avatar
 
mothertrucker is offline
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 173
Guess you better switch to an M5!
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-03-2014   #7
icebear
Registered User
 
icebear's Avatar
 
icebear is offline
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: just west of the big apple
Posts: 2,985
But you haven't tried to load Tri-X in your M9, have you ?
__________________
Klaus
You have to see the light.
M9, MM & a bunch of glass, Q

my gallery:http://www.rangefinderforum.com/rffg...d=6650&showall
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-03-2014   #8
Richard G
Registered User
 
Richard G's Avatar
 
Richard G is offline
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 37,47 S
Posts: 5,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by icebear View Post
But you haven't tried to load Tri-X in your M9, have you ?
That'd be OK. Checking for a memory card in the M2 would be a bit of a let down.
__________________
Richard
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-03-2014   #9
angelog
formerly agianelo
 
angelog's Avatar
 
angelog is offline
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 151
I remember reading Roger's review where he remarked about this and the wrong way shutter dial. How dare they! At least Epson retained the film crank lever.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-03-2014   #10
Ronald M
Registered User
 
Ronald M is offline
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4,515
I still have trouble occasionally. It is like trying to eat left handed.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-03-2014   #11
cosmonaut
Registered User
 
cosmonaut's Avatar
 
cosmonaut is offline
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 1,207
Funny Roger. I guess it's like that one M that has the backward shutter dial?
__________________
Cosmo
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-03-2014   #12
hepcat
Former PH, USN
 
hepcat's Avatar
 
hepcat is offline
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eastern Iowa
Age: 64
Posts: 1,268
Thanks, everyone. I just had to share my "duh" moment...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard G View Post
My God, that must explain it. I'm doing it all the time still and I've only had two rolls of film through a film M this year. More than two years with the M9. So much for the benefits of muscle memory.
Thank you Richard, you saved my sanity. I had feared I was the ONLY one with this malady!!! <grin>

Quote:
Originally Posted by icebear View Post
But you haven't tried to load Tri-X in your M9, have you ?
I just nearly pulled the bottom off my loaded (with a half-shot roll) M4-P to pull the battery out and charge it... *sigh* It's now safely back in the bag so I don't do it...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronald M View Post
I still have trouble occasionally. It is like trying to eat left handed.
EXACTLY!!! That's it EXACTLY! Great analogy! <grin>

And somehow, I STILL feel foolish admitting this...
__________________
Leicas and lenses

Find me on the web...
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-03-2014   #13
Godfrey
somewhat colored
 
Godfrey's Avatar
 
Godfrey is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 9,147
Quote:
Originally Posted by hepcat View Post
Thanks, everyone. I just had to share my "duh" moment...
:-)

'Tis all right. I pulled out the Hasselblad the other day and went nuts trying to remember why the shutter would not release. Oh yeah, pull out the dark slide. Doh!

G
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-03-2014   #14
robbeiflex
Registered User
 
robbeiflex's Avatar
 
robbeiflex is offline
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Luxembourg
Posts: 1,030
Seriously? That explains that weird sensation of "something is not right" when I load the battery and memory card in my ME. Here I thought it was something to do with the media, but as they say in the real estate business it's "location, location, location".

Thanks,
Rob
__________________
"They say, ‘If you use this digital camera, you can take a clear picture in the dark’. The dark should stay dark. You can’t really see that much, and you don’t really want to see that much anyway.” Nobuyoshi Araki 2006

My Flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-03-2014   #15
Kwesi
Registered User
 
Kwesi is offline
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by hepcat View Post
...So, it finally occurs to me that there must be a reason that I'm doing that... and I pull my M4-P out of the bag... and voila... the digi-M baseplate IS BACKWARDS!!!! ARRRRRRGGGGGHHHHHH!!!!!

Ok, so I'm not the sharpest tool in the shed... I just had to share this. LMAO!!!


release latch location by chief1120, on Flickr
Very funny! You got me thinking though, so I pulled out my M7 and M9 and there actually is a very Leica logic to it. It's not backwards at all! In each case the latch goes over the "film" container.
  Reply With Quote

Digital baseplate
Old 05-03-2014   #16
dblrifle
Registered User
 
dblrifle's Avatar
 
dblrifle is offline
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 17
Digital baseplate

You mean for all these years you have been using Leicas and just this moment realize they have been putting the baseplates on incorrectly for all those years. I started using a Leica in 1956 and have used them constantly ever since and when I got my M8's a couple of years ago the very first thing I said was 'well they finally got the baseplates on the right way'. For some reason I seem to be gifted to adapt to different ways of doing things. For example I rarely search for the dimmer switch on the floorboard of my car. I have a Hyundai Veloster Turbo and the transmission shift lever is far different from any I have ever used but for some reason I seem to have adapted to it. Can't say I have the hang of paddle shifters as yet though. The gas fill is on the proper side though (the drivers) and not the other side as my Dodge has.This actually causes me to have to pay attention when I am pulling in to the pump to fill up. As I say I suppose I'm just gifted.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-03-2014   #17
hepcat
Former PH, USN
 
hepcat's Avatar
 
hepcat is offline
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eastern Iowa
Age: 64
Posts: 1,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by dblrifle View Post
You mean for all these years you have been using Leicas and just this moment realize they have been putting the baseplates on incorrectly for all those years. I started using a Leica in 1956 and have used them constantly ever since and when I got my M8's a couple of years ago the very first thing I said was 'well they finally got the baseplates on the right way'.
Really? Yeah... as I said, it' s a "duh" moment. <grin>

So, you're saying that ALL of the film Leicas are backwards, and they're just now fixing it with the digitals? What brand did it "right" first?
__________________
Leicas and lenses

Find me on the web...
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-03-2014   #18
Pioneer
Registered User
 
Pioneer's Avatar
 
Pioneer is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Age: 65
Posts: 3,123
That's it...I have had it with this!

Back to the Leica II!

__________________
You gotta love a fast lens;

It is almost as good as a fast horse!
Dan
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-03-2014   #19
hepcat
Former PH, USN
 
hepcat's Avatar
 
hepcat is offline
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eastern Iowa
Age: 64
Posts: 1,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by Godfrey View Post
:-)

'Tis all right. I pulled out the Hasselblad the other day and went nuts trying to remember why the shutter would not release. Oh yeah, pull out the dark slide. Doh!

G
Yes, Godfrey, I've never done that... too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by robbeiflex View Post
Seriously? That explains that weird sensation of "something is not right" when I load the battery and memory card in my ME. Here I thought it was something to do with the media, but as they say in the real estate business it's "location, location, location".

Thanks,
Rob
Rob, I'm SO glad there's others out there like me... thanks for sharing! Ha ha ha!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kwesi View Post

Very funny! You got me thinking though, so I pulled out my M7 and M9 and there actually is a very Leica logic to it. It's not backwards at all! In each case the latch goes over the "film" container.
Hey, that makes as much sense as any other part of this!
__________________
Leicas and lenses

Find me on the web...
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-03-2014   #20
Godfrey
somewhat colored
 
Godfrey's Avatar
 
Godfrey is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 9,147
The reason the baseplate latch was under the film canister on the film cameras what that, once up a time, it opened the film canister's light seal when you turned it. It was neither the wrong nor right place for the latch, it was simply where it had to be.

Personally, I had not noticed that it had switched to the other size on the M9. I just look for the catch tab on one edge to align it and lock it in place once it's seated. Rather blind of me, eh?

G
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-03-2014   #21
Phil_F_NM
Camera hacker
 
Phil_F_NM's Avatar
 
Phil_F_NM is offline
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 43
Posts: 3,976
I never got the hang of those digital baseplates. Over the course of two years, first with an M8 then an M9.

Now I shoot a Nikon digital with all AiS lenses and those things focus backwards as far as I'm concerned but the SLR has such a difference of operation that I seem to get it right somehow.

At least my Mamiya 6 focuses the proper way, like the Leica M4 and DR Summicron do.

Phil Forrest
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-03-2014   #22
peterm1
Registered User
 
peterm1's Avatar
 
peterm1 is offline
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5,579
I do the same (ie tend to put it on the wrong way) but had not noticed that the base-plate is reversed by comparison with older models. I presume it must be for technical reasons. But even if there is a good technical reason Leica does tend to be quirky at times in how it chooses to do things........... and they always have had a reputation for doing slightly strange things. For example my old M3 has flash sync ports that are non standard - requiring that an adapter be used to be able to use any standard flash made in the past 60 years. That sort of thing. It can be galling at times. With the digital Ms what gets me is that unlike every other camera maker instead of using standard ISO settings (100,200,400 etc) it uses different ones (160, 320,640 etc) for what I can only say is for no good reason that I can conceive of. Good old Leica!
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-03-2014   #23
Darthfeeble
But you can call me Steve
 
Darthfeeble's Avatar
 
Darthfeeble is offline
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Logtown, California, USA
Age: 73
Posts: 1,500
I've never had a film M, but I had the same thing with both my digitals. It's just un-natural.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-03-2014   #24
rscheffler
Registered User
 
rscheffler is offline
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 483
Interesting observation. I've only shot digital Ms and would prefer to have the release latch at the same end as the film Ms... it seems to me like a more natural location for it.

Perhaps Leica reversed it so that when shooting film and digital Ms side by side, one doesn't accidentally pop open the baseplate of a film M when one meant to actually do it to the digital body...?
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-03-2014   #25
Takkun
Ian M.
 
Takkun's Avatar
 
Takkun is offline
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sunny South Seattle
Posts: 776
It's a conspiracy I tell you, to sell more grips! You know, to the five people that actually buy them.

Never noticed this, since I have an M5. Moved the latch to the other side for the ratcheted rewind crank, which was moved for....some unknown reason with the embiggening of that camera.
__________________
Ian M., Seattle
Current bag contents: Just a Fuji GX680iii. Nothing else will fit.

--
my infrequently updated blog
Finally on Instagram
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-04-2014   #26
hepcat
Former PH, USN
 
hepcat's Avatar
 
hepcat is offline
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eastern Iowa
Age: 64
Posts: 1,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterm1 View Post
I do the same (ie tend to put it on the wrong way) but had not noticed that the base-plate is reversed by comparison with older models. I presume it must be for technical reasons. But even if there is a good technical reason Leica does tend to be quirky at times in how it chooses to do things........... and they always have had a reputation for doing slightly strange things. For example my old M3 has flash sync ports that are non standard - requiring that an adapter be used to be able to use any standard flash made in the past 60 years. That sort of thing. It can be galling at times. With the digital Ms what gets me is that unlike every other camera maker instead of using standard ISO settings (100,200,400 etc) it uses different ones (160, 320,640 etc) for what I can only say is for no good reason that I can conceive of. Good old Leica!
Peter, the M3 pre-dates the "standard" sync terminal, and the flash sync terminals on the M2 & M3 are actually a more solid setup than the "standard" PC sync terminals. Leica had hoped to set an industry standard with their version, but it wasn't to be so.

As far as the non-standard ISO numbers, once again the Leica system pre-dates the current standards... in the early film days, Kodachrome was rated at ASA 12, Kodacolor was rated at ASA 80, High Speed Ektachrome at 160, and Tri-X at 320.

There weren't any "standard" shutter speeds until the late '50s either. Early M3s have the early shutter speed designations, but that even varied by manufacturer.
__________________
Leicas and lenses

Find me on the web...
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-04-2014   #27
hepcat
Former PH, USN
 
hepcat's Avatar
 
hepcat is offline
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eastern Iowa
Age: 64
Posts: 1,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by Godfrey View Post
The reason the baseplate latch was under the film canister on the film cameras what that, once up a time, it opened the film canister's light seal when you turned it. It was neither the wrong nor right place for the latch, it was simply where it had to be.

Personally, I had not noticed that it had switched to the other size on the M9. I just look for the catch tab on one edge to align it and lock it in place once it's seated. Rather blind of me, eh?

G
That makes sense, but... the catch is under the take-up spool on the film bodies... even the Barnacks?
__________________
Leicas and lenses

Find me on the web...
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-04-2014   #28
hepcat
Former PH, USN
 
hepcat's Avatar
 
hepcat is offline
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eastern Iowa
Age: 64
Posts: 1,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by Takkun View Post
It's a conspiracy I tell you, to sell more grips! You know, to the five people that actually buy them.

Never noticed this, since I have an M5. Moved the latch to the other side for the ratcheted rewind crank, which was moved for....some unknown reason with the embiggening of that camera.
And that may be exactly why they moved it... so the grips would fasten more solidly... for those five people.
__________________
Leicas and lenses

Find me on the web...
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-04-2014   #29
Scrambler
Registered User
 
Scrambler's Avatar
 
Scrambler is offline
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Toowoomba
Posts: 1,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by hepcat View Post

Peter, the M3 pre-dates the "standard" sync terminal, and the flash sync terminals on the M2 & M3 are actually a more solid setup than the "standard" PC sync terminals. Leica had hoped to set an industry standard with their version, but it wasn't to be so.
While I am sure the second part is right, the Synchro-Compur shutter and its PC connector were out a few years before the M3.

Doesn't the IIIf use a PC connector? Or so I've read on RFF so it must be true :-)
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-04-2014   #30
hepcat
Former PH, USN
 
hepcat's Avatar
 
hepcat is offline
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eastern Iowa
Age: 64
Posts: 1,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrambler View Post
While I am sure the second part is right, the Synchro-Compur shutter and its PC connector were out a few years before the M3.

Doesn't the IIIf use a PC connector? Or so I've read on RFF so it must be true :-)
Yep. You're right! The IIIf AND the IIIg use the standard PC connector. Go figure...
__________________
Leicas and lenses

Find me on the web...
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-04-2014   #31
Godfrey
somewhat colored
 
Godfrey's Avatar
 
Godfrey is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 9,147
Quote:
Originally Posted by hepcat View Post
That makes sense, but... the catch is under the take-up spool on the film bodies... even the Barnacks?
It's certainly under the film canister, where I would expect it, on my M4-2. I can't believe that my M4-2 is different from all other Leica Ms. And my IIf, IIc, and IIIf all had it in the same location.

G
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-04-2014   #32
hepcat
Former PH, USN
 
hepcat's Avatar
 
hepcat is offline
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eastern Iowa
Age: 64
Posts: 1,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by Godfrey View Post
It's certainly under the film canister, where I would expect it, on my M4-2. I can't believe that my M4-2 is different from all other Leica Ms. And my IIf, IIc, and IIIf all had it in the same location.

G
Duh... of course it is. It's early and I'm working on my first cup of coffee. I think in my morning fog I was trying to picture it in my head, and what I came up with was that the rapid-load spool guide on the M2 was attached to the latch (instead of the post)... so of COURSE, the latch would have been under the take-up spool... and of course it wasn't... and isn't... duh... (except on the digi-Ms that don't HAVE a cassette OR take up spool) and of course it was waaaaay to much work to actually get out of my chair and pick up my camera and actually look at it... so I just sat in my morning stupor and confusion and posted. THAT oughta' learn me!

thanks Godfrey.

more coffee needed!!!
__________________
Leicas and lenses

Find me on the web...
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-04-2014   #33
jsrockit
Moderator
 
jsrockit's Avatar
 
jsrockit is offline
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Santiago, Chile
Age: 46
Posts: 19,953
I never noticed this either and did the same thing. Funny.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-04-2014   #34
Richard G
Registered User
 
Richard G's Avatar
 
Richard G is offline
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 37,47 S
Posts: 5,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Takkun View Post
It's a conspiracy I tell you, to sell more grips! You know, to the five people that actually buy them.

Never noticed this, since I have an M5. Moved the latch to the other side for the ratcheted rewind crank, which was moved for....some unknown reason with the embiggening of that camera.
I have an M5 and never had a problem with its baseplate. While the latch is the other side, is the lug on the body that engages the baseplate also 'wrong'? I'm not at home to check. I was using that concurrently with M6 and M2 and M9 and never seemed to have a problem. Perhaps the different shape allowed its uniqueness to settle in the brain immediately.
__________________
Richard
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-04-2014   #35
hepcat
Former PH, USN
 
hepcat's Avatar
 
hepcat is offline
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eastern Iowa
Age: 64
Posts: 1,268
In all the years I've shot Leica, I've never held an M5 Richard, but the lug is on the "wrong" side on the M8/M9, and I presume it would necessarily be on the opposite side of the catch on the M5 as well.
__________________
Leicas and lenses

Find me on the web...
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-11-2014   #36
Steve_F
Registered User
 
Steve_F's Avatar
 
Steve_F is offline
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hampshire, UK
Age: 53
Posts: 453
I'm waiting for the day my M6TTL battery dies and I inadvertently remove the base plate to change it, instead of the front cover. - whilst there's film in it.
That doesn't matter on my M9 of course
No reflex action please.

Steve.
__________________
www.stephenfell.net

'Thoughts & Scribbles' Blog



"You look at a colour image, but read a black & white one"

"Personal Development Through Image Construction"

M6 TTL Black, M6TTL Chrome, 35/2 Summicron ASPH, 50/2 Summicron

Nikon FM3A, Mamiya RZ67 Pro II
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 19:27.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.