Sony A7R with M lens - focus peaking?
Old 12-14-2013   #1
Nick De Marco
Registered User
 
Nick De Marco is offline
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 897
Sony A7R with M lens - focus peaking?

Just got the A7R
Very nice
Only have M lenses for it now
I bought moderately priced Kippon adapter.
It works but, you cannot enlarge image or have focus peaking. Is this the same for all M-E adapters or do I need to buy a better one?
Nick
__________________
Check out my new book:
http://www.blurb.co.uk/b/6811623-lomodam

And my blog, Rangefinder Chronciles:
http://rangefinderchronicles.blogspot.co.uk
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-14-2013   #2
Vobluda
Registered User
 
Vobluda is offline
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Age: 44
Posts: 828
You can do both but you have to enable it in the menus.
Those features doesnt have nothing in common with the adapter.
Cheers.
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-14-2013   #3
Robin P
Registered User
 
Robin P's Avatar
 
Robin P is offline
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Poitou-Charentes, France
Posts: 646
See
http://www.luminous-landscape.com/re...s_report.shtml
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-14-2013   #4
Nick De Marco
Registered User
 
Nick De Marco is offline
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 897
Thanks for the replies
I have worked out focus peaking which is nice
What I still can't do is enlarge in finder (although with peaking this is less important).
When I try I get the message: "Invalid because lens not attached". Is there a setting I have missed (manual is crud as we all know) for this, is it just not possible, or is it my adapter?

Nick
__________________
Check out my new book:
http://www.blurb.co.uk/b/6811623-lomodam

And my blog, Rangefinder Chronciles:
http://rangefinderchronicles.blogspot.co.uk
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-14-2013   #5
Vobluda
Registered User
 
Vobluda is offline
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Age: 44
Posts: 828
You have to assign the feature to some of the function buttons.
Again, it doesnt have to do nothing with the adapter.
You choose when to use it by pressing the assigned button.
First of all, did you set the option to fire the shutter without the lens attached? From camera point of view this is what happends when you want to use MF lens with an adapter.
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-14-2013   #6
Out to Lunch
Registered User
 
Out to Lunch's Avatar
 
Out to Lunch is offline
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vietnam
Posts: 5,428
Robin, Thanks for posting the luminous-landscape link. On a beside, if and when you happen to live in the EU, the German made Novoflex adapter is cheaper in Europe than in the USA, even when you pay VAT in Europe.

One question: focus peaking and enlarging, can it be used with both the view finder and the screen?
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-14-2013   #7
Vobluda
Registered User
 
Vobluda is offline
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Age: 44
Posts: 828
Yes.
Also both finder and screen has various modes of information showed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Wijninga View Post
One question: focus peaking and enlarging, can it be used with both the view finder and the screen?
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-14-2013   #8
Nick De Marco
Registered User
 
Nick De Marco is offline
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 897
I don't see the feature on the menu to do that. I always do that on my Leica M, where the setting is obvious. Do you know what it is called, or where it is, in the Sony menu?
__________________
Check out my new book:
http://www.blurb.co.uk/b/6811623-lomodam

And my blog, Rangefinder Chronciles:
http://rangefinderchronicles.blogspot.co.uk
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-14-2013   #9
Vobluda
Registered User
 
Vobluda is offline
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Age: 44
Posts: 828
I just downloaded the manual in pdf and searched for the words "Enable" and "Enlarged" - they are answering your questions.
Sometimes is realy worth to read the manual
Cheers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick De Marco View Post
I don't see the feature on the menu to do that. I always do that on my Leica M, where the setting is obvious. Do you know what it is called, or where it is, in the Sony menu?
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-14-2013   #10
Nick De Marco
Registered User
 
Nick De Marco is offline
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 897
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vobluda View Post
I just downloaded the manual in pdf and searched for the words "Enable" and "Enlarged" - they are answering your questions.
Sometimes is realy worth to read the manual
Cheers
I'm sorry, you don't seem to understand me. I have tried all of those obvious buttons on the back. But it doesn't work. I'm trying to ask someone who actually uses the camera with a Leica adapter if it works.

Thanks anyway
__________________
Check out my new book:
http://www.blurb.co.uk/b/6811623-lomodam

And my blog, Rangefinder Chronciles:
http://rangefinderchronicles.blogspot.co.uk
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-14-2013   #11
Vobluda
Registered User
 
Vobluda is offline
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Age: 44
Posts: 828
1. Menu - Custom Settings - Release w/o Lens: set Enable
Now the shutter can open when the lens is not attached (again from camera point of view - attached lens is only original Sony lens).

2. Menu - Custom Settings - MF Assist: set ON
Now you can display an enlarged image when focusing manually.

3. Menu - Custom Settings - Focus Magnif. Time: set the desired time for MF Assist: 2 Sec/5 Sec/No Limit

4. Menu - Custom Settings - Custom Key Settings: assign the MF Assist feature to the desired button (C2 I guess)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick De Marco View Post
I'm sorry, you don't seem to understand me. I have tried all of those obvious buttons on the back. But it doesn't work. I'm trying to ask someone who actually uses the camera with a Leica adapter if it works.

Thanks anyway
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-14-2013   #12
Out to Lunch
Registered User
 
Out to Lunch's Avatar
 
Out to Lunch is offline
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vietnam
Posts: 5,428
Hi Vobluda, so you are sure I can see both 'enlarged' and 'focus peaking' in the viewfinder? Important to me. Thanks for your feedback, Peter
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-14-2013   #13
Vobluda
Registered User
 
Vobluda is offline
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Age: 44
Posts: 828
Yes of course, both at the time as well, but:
The EVF resolution is lower than the LCD so that the edges of the contrast are less defined and by that is the focus peaking limited in the viewfinder especially when enlarged.
You need the scene with lot of contrast or the lens with the high contrast to see the focus peaking in the EVF with the maximal enlargement.
On the other side why would you need the focus peaking when enlarging? You are enlarging to see the small detail in order to focus correctly and color from focus peaking is just disturbing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Wijninga View Post
Hi Vobluda, so you are sure I can see both 'enlarged' and 'focus peaking' in the viewfinder? Important to me. Thanks for your feedback, Peter
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-14-2013   #14
Nick De Marco
Registered User
 
Nick De Marco is offline
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 897
1. Menu - Custom Settings - Release w/o Lens: set Enable
Now the shutter can open when the lens is not attached (again from camera point of view - attached lens is only original Sony lens).

2. Menu - Custom Settings - MF Assist: set ON
Now you can display an enlarged image when focusing manually.

3. Menu - Custom Settings - Focus Magnif. Time: set the desired time for MF Assist: 2 Sec/5 Sec/No Limit

4. Menu - Custom Settings - Custom Key Settings: assign the MF Assist feature to the desired button (C2 I guess)

Thanks, Vobula, but I have done all of that and I still cannot enlarge. Once again is there anyone out there who has enlarged with a leica lens?
Nick
__________________
Check out my new book:
http://www.blurb.co.uk/b/6811623-lomodam

And my blog, Rangefinder Chronciles:
http://rangefinderchronicles.blogspot.co.uk
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-14-2013   #15
GaryLH
Registered User
 
GaryLH's Avatar
 
GaryLH is offline
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6,180
FYI - a trick that I have found useful in the past when I was using the nex5n a lot w/ legacy lenses should apply here as well. What I can't remember off the top is if jpg+raw or only raw is needed. But if u shoot monochrome (b&w) setting, the raw is always going to be in color w/ just about every photo sw I have encountered. Granted your initial preview maybe b&w due to the embedded tiny Jpg in the raw file, but once u select the raw, it will always revert to color.

For cameras like the Sony w/ focus peaking that let's u select different colors, I set peaking color to yellow, my output to raw format and b&w. thus even w/o mag it is easy to c the peaking since the LCD or evf output is always going to be monochrom and te peaking is yellow. I can't wait for Fuji to implement different colors in their peaking solution so that I can use this trick.

Ymmv
Gary
__________________
Panasonic LX100, Sigma Foveon, Fuji X and Panasonic CM1
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-14-2013   #16
GaryLH
Registered User
 
GaryLH's Avatar
 
GaryLH is offline
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vobluda View Post
Yes of course, both at the time as well, but:
The EVF resolution is lower than the LCD so that the edges of the contrast are less defined and by that is the focus peaking limited in the viewfinder especially when enlarged.
You need the scene with lot of contrast or the lens with the high contrast to see the focus peaking in the EVF with the maximal enlargement.
On the other side why would you need the focus peaking when enlarging? You are enlarging to see the small detail in order to focus correctly and color from focus peaking is just disturbing.
Doesn't the a7 family have a mf/afs/afc type switch at the bottom front of the camera body? I suspect u may need to set this to mf mode. My Fuji needs this set to mf for mag to work.

Gary
__________________
Panasonic LX100, Sigma Foveon, Fuji X and Panasonic CM1
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-14-2013   #17
Vobluda
Registered User
 
Vobluda is offline
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Age: 44
Posts: 828
And you have focus peaking, you can fire the shutter and the image is written to the card?

It doesnt matter which 3rd party lens or adapter you use.
The bad adapter can cause light leak, no infinity focus or poor lens attachment so that the lens can drop from adapter or adapter from the camera with the lens. It doesnt influence the functions of the camera.
Yes, I do enlarge with the M lens.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick De Marco View Post
1. Menu - Custom Settings - Release w/o Lens: set Enable
Now the shutter can open when the lens is not attached (again from camera point of view - attached lens is only original Sony lens).

2. Menu - Custom Settings - MF Assist: set ON
Now you can display an enlarged image when focusing manually.

3. Menu - Custom Settings - Focus Magnif. Time: set the desired time for MF Assist: 2 Sec/5 Sec/No Limit

4. Menu - Custom Settings - Custom Key Settings: assign the MF Assist feature to the desired button (C2 I guess)

Thanks, Vobula, but I have done all of that and I still cannot enlarge. Once again is there anyone out there who has enlarged with a leica lens?
Nick
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-14-2013   #18
Vobluda
Registered User
 
Vobluda is offline
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Age: 44
Posts: 828
Sony is not that much retro:-)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryLH View Post
Doesn't the a7 family have a mf/afs/afc type switch at the bottom front of the camera body? I suspect u may need to set this to mf mode. My Fuji needs this set to mf for mag to work.

Gary
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-14-2013   #19
GaryLH
Registered User
 
GaryLH's Avatar
 
GaryLH is offline
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6,180
IC. Oh well... I saw this switch on my cousins new rx10. I thought it might be there on the a7 as well...

Gary
__________________
Panasonic LX100, Sigma Foveon, Fuji X and Panasonic CM1
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-14-2013   #20
Nick De Marco
Registered User
 
Nick De Marco is offline
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 897
Yes, I have focus peaking, I can fire the shutter and the image is written to the card.

I must be doing something wrong then, as I have all the settings as above but whenever I try to enlarge it says it cannot because no lens is attached....
__________________
Check out my new book:
http://www.blurb.co.uk/b/6811623-lomodam

And my blog, Rangefinder Chronciles:
http://rangefinderchronicles.blogspot.co.uk
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-14-2013   #21
Vobluda
Registered User
 
Vobluda is offline
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Age: 44
Posts: 828
No lens attached I guess means that the adapter is not well mounted on the body.

Two more things then - check if the adapter is well mounted on the camera and just in case: Camera Settings - Focus Mode set: Manual Focus

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick De Marco View Post
Yes, I have focus peaking, I can fire the shutter and the image is written to the card.

I must be doing something wrong then, as I have all the settings as above but whenever I try to enlarge it says it cannot because no lens is attached....
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-14-2013   #22
FA Limited
planespotting
 
FA Limited is offline
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 828
i think i read somewhere that after you assign the enlargement to a button you must press it twice to enable... i cannot find source sorry but worth a shot

edit: read here http://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/52599559
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-14-2013   #23
Nick De Marco
Registered User
 
Nick De Marco is offline
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 897
Right, I have done it. It was my fault - I did not do step 4, setting the custom settings to the correct button - properly. I thought I had but I hadn't. Being a Leica user I'm not used to such complicated menus! Sorry. All works fine now, and yes, you do need to press the button twice too.

Thanks for the help.

Nick
__________________
Check out my new book:
http://www.blurb.co.uk/b/6811623-lomodam

And my blog, Rangefinder Chronciles:
http://rangefinderchronicles.blogspot.co.uk
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-20-2013   #24
hunz
Registered User
 
hunz is offline
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vobluda View Post

4. Menu - Custom Settings - Custom Key Settings: assign the MF Assist feature to the desired button (C2 I guess)
I went to Custom Key Settings, but can't find the "MF Assist" as a selectable option. Or am I missing something?
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-22-2013   #25
Vobluda
Registered User
 
Vobluda is offline
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Age: 44
Posts: 828
"Focus Magnifier" is the right word.
Cheers

Quote:
Originally Posted by hunz View Post
I went to Custom Key Settings, but can't find the "MF Assist" as a selectable option. Or am I missing something?
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-23-2013   #26
aeturnum
Registered User
 
aeturnum is offline
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 159
I have never seen so many menu items give the user access to so little functionality as on my A7. It took me several passes to understand most of the settings. I would recommend using one of the custom buttons to adjust the focus peaking level as well - I've found all 3 settings to be of different use at different times.
__________________
Flickr
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 13:37.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.