Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Classic Film RangeFinders & Other Classics > 120 film RF Folders

120 film RF Folders 120/220 Format Folding Rangefinders, including the various classic Zeiss Ikontas, Voigtlander Bessas, and their Ruskie copies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Balda Super Baldax with Prontor SV issue
Old 05-12-2008   #1
andrew moxom
Registered User
 
andrew moxom is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 25
Balda Super Baldax with Prontor SV issue

I sourced a good used Super Baldax on Fleabay and found that one of the shutter blades actually has a tear in it. I sent the camera to Cert06 to CLA and check it out, but was wondering if anyone knows if this is repairable? I doubt many spares are available for that shutter, but at any rate, is this a common problem that is easily resolved?
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-12-2008   #2
chippy
foo was here
 
chippy's Avatar
 
chippy is offline
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 778
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrew moxom View Post
I sourced a good used Super Baldax on Fleabay and found that one of the shutter blades actually has a tear in it. I sent the camera to Cert06 to CLA and check it out, but was wondering if anyone knows if this is repairable? I doubt many spares are available for that shutter, but at any rate, is this a common problem that is easily resolved?
no doubt he has draws full of them....he should easy be able to fix or he may even possibly just change it over to one he has already (at a cost!)...i am just considering i thought he says he isnt taking on more work at the moment (too busy) so he must be looking at a quick turn around
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-14-2008   #3
ray*j*gun
Registered User
 
ray*j*gun's Avatar
 
ray*j*gun is offline
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Philadelphia area
Posts: 2,317
Based on what I have been told JK does not do all of his own work especially lens work! BE CAREFUL with him I have heard some very negative thinks about his work and gear!

Ray
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-14-2008   #4
FallisPhoto
Registered User
 
FallisPhoto's Avatar
 
FallisPhoto is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,318
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrew moxom View Post
I sourced a good used Super Baldax on Fleabay and found that one of the shutter blades actually has a tear in it. I sent the camera to Cert06 to CLA and check it out, but was wondering if anyone knows if this is repairable? I doubt many spares are available for that shutter, but at any rate, is this a common problem that is easily resolved?
Prontors aren't that hard to fix, if you have the spare parts. Depends on how serious he is about all those broken lenses and shutters he brags about throwing away. Generally, I'd strip anything I'm going to throw out right down to the bone first. I've got a Zeiss "Klio" shutter (Zeiss' name for the Prontor S) that I would send you just for postage, but I don't remember if the Prontor S has the same shutter blades as the SV.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-14-2008   #5
chippy
foo was here
 
chippy's Avatar
 
chippy is offline
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 778
Ray i dont quite see how warning him helps considering he has already sent it! a case of the horse has already bolted or in this case the wheels have left the airstrip! so a reasuring 'it be ok mate' seemed appropriate.

he has said in the past to me that some repairs to shutters are beyond him and he sends them out for repair (what that limit is i dont know!) i have one such shutter that came with the report of repair and his name (somewhere around here). it was a reasonable short report on work done and all speeds noted at each setting-seemed very good to me and i would have no qualms about this guy fixing my shutter. of course you are paying a middle man in this instance. whether JK uses other people (i think he does) and they are less competent i dont know.

also i often read people say he makes his own bellows! the leather ones in particular. however he has told me he buys them in and his cost of doing so- so i am always wondering what gives people the impression he make them himself
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-15-2008   #6
ray*j*gun
Registered User
 
ray*j*gun's Avatar
 
ray*j*gun is offline
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Philadelphia area
Posts: 2,317
Well Chippy (Andrew), the warning was to be sure he checks out the camera as soon as he gets a chance and follows up right away if need be. I don't get your analogy to a horse etc. The forum is about information and I was glad for the warnings I received, always better to be for warned.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-15-2008   #7
chippy
foo was here
 
chippy's Avatar
 
chippy is offline
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 778
sure i get where ya comming from...no harm done

you mean to say you havn't heard the saying about the horse LOL its been on so many old american TV shows i can't count. it just referes to 'its a bit late now to do anything, we will have to deal with whatever happens later' type of thing
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-15-2008   #8
ray*j*gun
Registered User
 
ray*j*gun's Avatar
 
ray*j*gun is offline
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Philadelphia area
Posts: 2,317
Ah, yes I get it.

Thanks for the come back!

Ray
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-15-2008   #9
FallisPhoto
Registered User
 
FallisPhoto's Avatar
 
FallisPhoto is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,318
Quote:
Originally Posted by chippy View Post
also i often read people say he makes his own bellows! the leather ones in particular. however he has told me he buys them in and his cost of doing so- so i am always wondering what gives people the impression he make them himself
I believe that rumor was started by a couple of guys on the Classic Camera Repair Forum. Among other people, some time ago, I myself asked the folks there where he got them and I was told that he makes his own -- by two different people.

Incidentally, at least some of the black bellows cameras on his website have "new old stock" Kodak replacement bellows.

Last edited by FallisPhoto : 05-15-2008 at 08:00.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-15-2008   #10
Wayno
Registered User
 
Wayno is offline
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 261
In answer to your original question, the Prontor SV is a common shutter (and probably shares blades with other Prontor shutters anyway), and it's no big deal for a competent repair person to replace the torn blade with another.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-18-2008   #11
FallisPhoto
Registered User
 
FallisPhoto's Avatar
 
FallisPhoto is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,318
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayno View Post
... it's no big deal for a competent repair person to replace the torn blade with another.
I'll vouch for that. I'm no Ed Romney (or even Thomas Tomosy), but even I can do it. The problem is that not all competent people have the materials on hand.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-19-2008   #12
andrew moxom
Registered User
 
andrew moxom is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 25
Thanks for the help. I have not heard back from Jurgen yet, and he;s had my camera close to 5 weeks now. He has a 6 to 8 week turnaround, so I am hopeful it will be painfree!
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-11-2008   #13
andrew moxom
Registered User
 
andrew moxom is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 25
well, here I am at 9 weeks and 3 emails to Jurgen asking on progress, no response for the first two, and third was sent a few minutes ago :-( Not looking good so far.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-11-2008   #14
chippy
foo was here
 
chippy's Avatar
 
chippy is offline
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 778
doesnt it just er um peeve ya when you dont get a responce

its gone from hopfully pain free...to not looking good so far...

i hope the next instalment is a good one!!!!
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-11-2008   #15
andrew moxom
Registered User
 
andrew moxom is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 25
Well, I did get a response from Jurgen today! :-) So I guess persistence is what it takes. At any rate, the torn SVS shutter leaf is a problem, and he does not have spare blades. He does have an LVS shutter available that can be used and will give me the same capability, but with an interlock feature that allows you to keep the same EV once aperture and shuter are selected. If you move the shutter ring after setting the aperture and initial speed, the aperture will change to keep the same exposure value. I am not sure whether any of the Baldax cameras came with that option, and if it is something I want . Could be more to go wrong, and I'd like to keep the camera as close to stock as possible, Anyone know about the LVS shutter?
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-11-2008   #16
Solinar
Analog Preferred
 
Solinar's Avatar
 
Solinar is offline
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Age: 65
Posts: 2,530
A light value system shutter has the aperture coupled to the shutter speeds. There is a pointer which points to an EV/LV number usually 1 thru 18. When you change the shutter speed - the aperture ring moves with it. Also, the self-timer is part of the MX and now V lever - M for bulb flash, X for x-synch and V to set the clockwork for the timer.

I find the LVS shutters to be a bit fiddly. For one, you have to watch the aperture setting like a hawk. Second, I'll bet dollars to donuts that this shutter uses a different fascia than your Prontor SV. Whether the latter will be a problem or not - I don't know. Finally, make sure that the lever used to trip the shutter matches the one you have now.

Hope this helps.
__________________
- Andrew in Austin, Texas -

35mm Gear Bessa R, Leica II, - IIIg, - M2
Just for fun 35mm Gear a Kodak Retina IIa, a Rollei 35 S, plus an Oly 35RD and a Voigtlander Vito II
Modern Medium Format Fuji GW 690III
Vintage MF Folders a Voigtländer Perkeo II and Bessa II, 2 of them - a ZI Mess Ikonta 524/2 - plus an Agfa Super Isolette & a Record III
Digital a D300 and a D700 with some primes - still going over a decade later

"Who spilled the Dektol on the bathroom carpet?"

Last edited by Solinar : 06-11-2008 at 19:08.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-11-2008   #17
chippy
foo was here
 
chippy's Avatar
 
chippy is offline
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 778
sheeze three Andrews' in a row!!

Andrew Moxom if you look at Solinar's avatar it has the LVS system. i assume it will now be a synchro compur shutter as well i am certain that was only one that the lvs came with..and no doubt this shutter is from a isolette (no your camera did not come with them), also there are two slightly different versions which look identical but one has the metal arrow that points to the EV number as on Solinar avatar and another version has a V shaped piece that this arrow fits into and makes the dail an EV scale easier to move...all that doesn't matter tho

i think if you prefer to keep it original then it is a bad move, but if that didnt bother you and you want a workable camera (and assuming it all goes together and works properly?!?) with higher shutter speed then fine...personaly i prefer to keep original...i am very suprised a shutter leaf cant be found! seems bazzar to me!
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-12-2008   #18
andrew moxom
Registered User
 
andrew moxom is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 25
Okay, so Jurgen said that he took the replacement shutter off of a super Baldax that the body was a wreck. It is apparently a Prontor LVS so it should look like and work like the older one, but just have the option for coupling the shutter and aperture together to keep the same EV. He will fix it if things don't go right. I'll post progress. It's supposed to ship back to me on Friday.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-12-2008   #19
FallisPhoto
Registered User
 
FallisPhoto's Avatar
 
FallisPhoto is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,318
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrew moxom View Post
Okay, so Jurgen said that he took the replacement shutter off of a super Baldax that the body was a wreck. It is apparently a Prontor LVS so it should look like and work like the older one, but just have the option for coupling the shutter and aperture together to keep the same EV. He will fix it if things don't go right. I'll post progress. It's supposed to ship back to me on Friday.

It it doesn't work out for you I still have that spare Prontor S (relabled Klio, by Zeiss). You could send it to him and have him strip it down for the shutter blades (assuming he held on to your shutter).
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-12-2008   #20
andrew moxom
Registered User
 
andrew moxom is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 25
Thanks FallisPhoto. I'll try the camera out first, then see. In actual fact, I did do some research and in some instances, the Super Baldax did come with the Synchro-Compur I wonder if I got and LVS version of that that may have been used on a Radionar, or Ennit lens? I hope my Beldenar was still service able, but not sure if shutters and lenses are intercahngeable like that? I'll ask him again about the shutter.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-13-2008   #21
chippy
foo was here
 
chippy's Avatar
 
chippy is offline
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 778
sorry didnt mean to confuse...yes the S/baldax came with synchro-compur but not the LVS/EV (Light Vaule System or Exposure Vaule) version as far as i know. i am assuming that the shutter he is replacing it with is a synchro-compur w/LVS (i dont beleive the prontor shutters had the LVS/EV system on them) that was from the late model agfa isolette III which was fitted with them. no doubt it fits your lens or he wouldnt be able to do it.

not to confuse LVS (Light Vaule System) with a Prontor SVS (model of shutter) which is an updated version of the previous Prontor II ,S and SV model shutters

Last edited by chippy : 06-13-2008 at 16:52.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-14-2008   #22
FallisPhoto
Registered User
 
FallisPhoto's Avatar
 
FallisPhoto is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,318
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrew moxom View Post
Thanks FallisPhoto. I'll try the camera out first, then see. In actual fact, I did do some research and in some instances, the Super Baldax did come with the Synchro-Compur I wonder if I got and LVS version of that that may have been used on a Radionar, or Ennit lens? I hope my Beldenar was still service able, but not sure if shutters and lenses are intercahngeable like that? I'll ask him again about the shutter.
I'm not suggesting that you swap shutters. Shutters and lenses are in fact NOT usually interchangable, since the lenses used are usually set up for that particular shutter type, by that particular manufacturer. For example, you can't take a Schneider Xenar off of a Retina and put it on a Welti or a Baldina. What I am saying is that the two different types of Prontor shutters mentioned in this post used the same shutter BLADES. Yours had a torn shutter blade. My Klio has a bunch of blades in it and one could be used to replace your torn blade.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-16-2008   #23
andrew moxom
Registered User
 
andrew moxom is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 25
Okay, straight from Jurgen, here are the details:-
Camera is done. The shutter is a Prontor-SVS, just like the one that was on the camera...except, its an LVS. Most LVS shutters are Synchro-Compurs... and a few Prontor-SVS'. So, as I said, it IS a Super Baldax shutter... actually, only shutters specifically made for the Super Baldax will fit the body.

The old shutter is "an exchange" and eventually I will have the blade replaced.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-16-2008   #24
chippy
foo was here
 
chippy's Avatar
 
chippy is offline
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 778
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrew moxom View Post
Okay, straight from Jurgen, here are the details:-
Camera is done. The shutter is a Prontor-SVS, just like the one that was on the camera...except, its an LVS. Most LVS shutters are Synchro-Compurs... and a few Prontor-SVS'. So, as I said, it IS a Super Baldax shutter... actually, only shutters specifically made for the Super Baldax will fit the body.

The old shutter is "an exchange" and eventually I will have the blade replaced.

ok...it seems to make sence...a misunderstanding in translating the term perhaps

i for the life of me could not see how an LVS shutter from an Isolette (which is what Jurgen calls them-and maybe others?--i cal them EV shutters because of the EV scales/numbers on them) was ever going to fit and if it did it would look like a dogs breakfast i think. if that was the case i was going to suggest that you get the old shutter back so down the track if you decided to sell it could at least be made original again--its just too nice and classic a camera to alter in any significant way

i am assuming that the Balda LVS shutter doesnt have the EV numbers on it and it is simply a linked aperature and shutter speed, and can go by unoticed just glancing at them. at least i havnt noticed one before. be sure to post a photo Andrew when you get it back.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-17-2008   #25
andrew moxom
Registered User
 
andrew moxom is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 25
I'll post a picture as soon as I get my digital camera cable found! I received the camera yesterday, and the shutter looks great. It's a Prontor SVS with an LVS switch on the bottom. There is in fact an EV scale on the left of the shutter as you look at the front of the camera. It all works well.
  Reply With Quote

Jurgen et al
Old 06-17-2008   #26
Dektol Dan
Registered User
 
Dektol Dan is offline
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 925
Jurgen et al

I have had business with Jurgen. I think it wise to visit his site so you know what your dealing with. He's pretty much self taught and he knows what he is familiar with. I sent him a couple of Certo 35's to work on and he wasn't familiar with them so he passed. You should also remember he has family in Germany, he's retired and the camera thing is more hobby than business to him. Turn around times on repairs can take take months as may communication. Also, parts are where he or you find them and he's got more than a bit of back yard mechanic in him. His love for cameras may exceed his abilities but he is surely dedicated.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-17-2008   #27
andrew moxom
Registered User
 
andrew moxom is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 25
Okay, here are some pictures of the new Prontor SVS shutter with LVS option, and EV scale. See the little tab sticking out the bottom of the shutter with the dots to activate. (one is white)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg S8002198.JPG (121.1 KB, 12 views)
File Type: jpg S8002199.JPG (121.7 KB, 11 views)
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 17:36.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.