Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Rangefinder Forum > Image Processing: Darkroom / Lightroom / Film > Scanners / Scanner Software

View Poll Results: How do you scan your 35mm B&W film?
I use a flatbed scanner - i.e. Epson V750 photo scanner 299 35.18%
I use a dedicated 35mm scanner - i.e. a Nikon Coolscan V 353 41.53%
I use a dedicated multi-format film scanner - i.e. a Nikon Coolscan 9000 84 9.88%
I use a professional scanner - i.e. drum scanner 27 3.18%
I send mine away to be scanned 57 6.71%
I don't care - I wet print! 30 3.53%
Voters: 850. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 04-19-2017   #281
Huss
Registered User
 
Huss is offline
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Venice, CA
Posts: 6,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by welshzorki View Post
Ok thanks for the help guys, here's my first old neg scanned with my Sony A7RII, converted in lightroom.
Looks good to me. How do u feel about it?
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-19-2017   #282
Darthfeeble
But you can call me Steve
 
Darthfeeble's Avatar
 
Darthfeeble is offline
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Logtown, California, USA
Age: 72
Posts: 1,452
I voted dedicated film scanner when this thread first opened but have changed to a V600 with my renewed interest in film.
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-20-2017   #283
Huss
Registered User
 
Huss is offline
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Venice, CA
Posts: 6,772
I don't know why anyone would buy a scanner if they have a decent digi cam. I'm getting better results using my D750 + macro lens than from a pro lab using Noritsu or Frontier machines.

It also takes me about 15 secs per image.

For mf film, I just take a couple of shots and use the merge function in LR :

Plus there is none of that 'scanning is an art' required. Take shot of the film, done. Then process in LR etc. The way you would with any image.
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-20-2017   #284
Darthfeeble
But you can call me Steve
 
Darthfeeble's Avatar
 
Darthfeeble is offline
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Logtown, California, USA
Age: 72
Posts: 1,452
Does it require any special attachments? I know it can be done but hadn't a clue how and I know how to make the scanner work. As an aside, I got rid of my macro lens for my DSLR. Other than the time involved I'm pleased with the results and wasn't with what I got from a Lab.
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-20-2017   #285
Huss
Registered User
 
Huss is offline
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Venice, CA
Posts: 6,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by Huss View Post
Nikon D750 DSLR + macro lens , then..

1/ If scanning 35mm film, I use the Nikon ES-1 slide duplicator with a film holder.
Illuminated with a slave flash, camera pointing directly at it.

2/ If scanning 120/220 film, same camera and lens, but I use a copy stand and light pad. With that I got this:

If you have any decent digital camera you can do this. Using the 35mm slide copier it takes me about 10-15 secs to take a shot . So I can do a roll of film in about 10 minutes. Using the copy stand, as there are 8-15 shots per roll (depending on whether it is 6x9, 6x6, 6x4.5) I can do a roll in 3-5 minutes.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Huss View Post
Yup, I just reverse (I use LR) then play with the tone curves the way I would would with any image. As it is a reversed image, they go the opposite direction!
You can do one for the first image on that film, then save it as a preset so your next ones will just need a tiny tweek.

If you do colour negs it is the same thing BUT the most important bit is to use the eye dropper to set the white balance before you reverse. C41 films have a serious orange base and this removes it in an instant. I've seen online tutorials that say to set the WB manually to as cold (blue) as possible to counteract this but they are so wrong, as then your shot will be blue. Just use the dropper when u process.

Your Sony's resolution is something like 7400x4400, which is far higher than a lab scan. Plus the Sony's sensor has incredible DR. Use it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darthfeeble View Post
Does it require any special attachments? I know it can be done but hadn't a clue how and I know how to make the scanner work. As an aside, I got rid of my macro lens for my DSLR. Other than the time involved I'm pleased with the results and wasn't with what I got from a Lab.
See above.

Film holder available here. Scroll down until you see Nikon ES-1

http://www.negative-solutions.com/assets/inventory.pdf
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-21-2017   #286
welshzorki
Registered User
 
welshzorki's Avatar
 
welshzorki is offline
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Huss View Post
Looks good to me. How do u feel about it?
I'm happy with the results.
Here are a couple more.


__________________
Leica M4-2 also Zorki 1
Voigtlander 35mm f2.5 Skopar, Canon 50mm f1.5, Leica Super Angulon 21mm f3.4, Jupiter8 50mm f2.
everyday working cameras Sony A7RII, Canon 5DmkIII & mkII, Fuji XE1.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-06-2017   #287
hap
Registered User
 
hap is offline
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 75
Arghhh.....Nikon ES-1 not compatible with my 105 Macro D FX according to Nikon website.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-06-2017   #288
Huss
Registered User
 
Huss is offline
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Venice, CA
Posts: 6,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by hap View Post
Arghhh.....Nikon ES-1 not compatible with my 105 Macro D FX according to Nikon website.
The ES-1 uses a 52mm filter thread, same as your lens. Not sure why the ES-1 wouldn't work. Hmm.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-30-2017   #289
Malcolm M
Registered User
 
Malcolm M's Avatar
 
Malcolm M is offline
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 42
Cheap (50) scanner from Maplin- quite adequate for websites or emails. The wall of shame I print properly.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-30-2017   #290
frank-grumman
Registered User
 
frank-grumman is offline
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: SoCal/PA
Posts: 247
V850 works well for me. I'm using SF 8.8.0r9. Still learning how to use it, but so far with one roll of Acros 100, I like it.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-24-2017   #291
jeffrypittman
Jeff Pittman
 
jeffrypittman is offline
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 18
I use an old Minolta Dimage 5400 and when I want a higher quality scan I send to a professional lab (Icon) in LA.
__________________
[size="2"]Jeff Pittman
M240, MP, M5, M3, M2
Rollei 2.8F, 2.8GX, 6008AF, 6003
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-10-2017   #292
FalseDigital
krapow moo khai dow
 
FalseDigital's Avatar
 
FalseDigital is offline
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bangkok
Posts: 566
I have a Pakon F135 and a Fujifilm Frontier SP-500

Higher Dynamic Range on the Pakon but only 6 MP
Stronger Contrast on the Frontier but 19MP

Pakon can scan RAW, Fuji can't.
So I use either or depending on the project/film/etc.
__________________
Analog Tumblr /// Fuji X Street Tumblr
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-10-2017   #293
BernardL
Registered User
 
BernardL is offline
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 129
Nikon LS-2000 with vuescan.
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-10-2017   #294
ptpdprinter
Registered User
 
ptpdprinter is offline
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 1,604
Quote:
Originally Posted by FalseDigital View Post
Pakon can scan RAW, Fuji can't.
What RAW format (extension) does the Pakon save as, and what RAW converter do you use to open the resulting image? How is that different from, say, a 16-bit TIF?
__________________
ambientlightcollection.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-10-2017   #295
FalseDigital
krapow moo khai dow
 
FalseDigital's Avatar
 
FalseDigital is offline
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bangkok
Posts: 566
Quote:
Originally Posted by ptpdprinter View Post
What RAW format (extension) does the Pakon save as, and what RAW converter do you use to open the resulting image? How is that different from, say, a 16-bit TIF?
The Pakon can export as .TIFF as well as .RAW but it's .RAW file is proprietary and programs like Photoshop cannot read it. So I use this program: https://alibosworth.github.io/pakon-...er/comparison/
to convert them to .TIFF

Follow the link at the top of the page to download PPRC (The Raw Converter) I'm currently running Mac OS X El Captain and run it from a terminal command. Although, there is a Windows option available as well.

For images with heavy contrast (especially skies) this method seems to work better than simple .TIFF export.
__________________
Analog Tumblr /// Fuji X Street Tumblr
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-31-2017   #296
Michael Markey
Registered User
 
Michael Markey's Avatar
 
Michael Markey is offline
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Blackpool ,England
Age: 68
Posts: 3,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank-grumman View Post
V850 works well for me. I'm using SF 8.8.0r9. Still learning how to use it, but so far with one roll of Acros 100, I like it.

Yep .... when my V600 gave up I bought a V850.
Couldn`t be more pleased.
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-13-2018   #297
Ronald M
Registered User
 
Ronald M is offline
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4,479
Do not scan. Print film. Shoot digital and skip scan step.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-08-2018   #298
Godfrey
somewhat colored
 
Godfrey's Avatar
 
Godfrey is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 8,843
Quote:
Originally Posted by hap View Post
Arghhh.....Nikon ES-1 not compatible with my 105 Macro D FX according to Nikon website.
The ES-1 is designed for copying slides at about 1:1 with a 55 mm lens. It is possibly not a long enough tube to achieve the right magnification for slide copying with a 105mm lens: it would hold the slide too close to the lens.

(A similar problem exists for the Leica BEOON copy stand: it is designed for a 50mm lens and gives the range from 1:1 to 1:3 magnifications with that focal length. It can't be used very successfully with lenses shorter than about 45mm or longer than about 60mm.)

G
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-04-2018   #299
bluesun267
Registered User
 
bluesun267's Avatar
 
bluesun267 is offline
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 217
I second the digicam DIY scanning method. Vastly superior to any flatbed. I will never go back.

I was lucky enough to have one of those old, tiny, no-name enlargers for 35mm film. Remove the light source, replace with digital camera (in my case it's an EOS-M), mount an enlarging lens, focus, shoot. Of course there's a bit of tweaking involved to make the camera sit solidly, and the biggest problem for me has been finding an even light source (I use my laptop screen on a white page, with negative elevated about an inch, to avoid pixels showing through). But I've gotten to where I can scan a roll of 36 exposures in about 15 min.

Post-processing takes only a tiny bit longer than it did with a flatbed. I use an 80mm enlarging lens that is fine for both 35mm and 6x6 depending on the elevation of the enlarger.

Crucifix by Timoleon Wilkins, on Flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-04-2018   #300
Ted Striker
Registered User
 
Ted Striker's Avatar
 
Ted Striker is offline
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 620
I scan with a Plustek OpticFilm 120. The results with 35mm are amazing, far beyond what any flatbed scanner can even dream of doing.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-04-2018   #301
seagrove
Registered User
 
seagrove is offline
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 229
When I began my foray into digital printing, I built a computer and installed a half-height Nikon Coolscan II. That lasted for a while until the digital printing industry started to mature. I then upgraded computers, software, and eventually picked up a Nikon Super Coolscan 5000 ED that I still use today.
__________________
Rich
http://www.richard-owen.com
http://meandmyx100s.blogspot.com
Yashica Electro35 GS, Fujifilm X100S (both silver & black bodies), TCL-X100, WCL-X100, sold everything else!
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-04-2018   #302
Huss
Registered User
 
Huss is offline
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Venice, CA
Posts: 6,772
I have a spare Nikon ES-2 35mm film copier kit that just showed up.
I can return it, but am giving anyone here in Los Angeles the ability to pick this up at MSRP $140 tax free.
These have been very hard to come by.

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...html?sts=pi-ps

I had orders at 2 diff stores thinking one would show before the other and so I could cancel one..
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-20-2018   #303
Ricoh
Registered User
 
Ricoh is offline
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 139
Currently using Plustek 8200 with Silverfast Ai. Does a good job but slow when trying to scan a complete roll of film.
I've been considering the Epson V800 or V850, apparently the same hardware apart from improved lens coatings and duplicate set of carriers for the V850. Trying to weigh up if the 'extras' are worth the price difference.
Also I'd like the potential for scanning the complete negative including the sprocket holes, but don't know if it could be achieved apart from maybe sanwitching the negatives between two sheets of glass.
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-20-2018   #304
Gregm61
Registered User
 
Gregm61 is offline
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 400
I shoot my film, then mail off to Simple Labs for processing/scanning and download the zip file when the scans to DNG are ready, which is about a week later. Between the time I shot the film and get the scans back, I enjoy using my M246 and MP240.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-10-2018   #305
Guth
Observational Documenter
 
Guth is offline
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 131
I just recently reentered the world of (film) photography after more than a decade away. For now I'm taking my film to a local lab for processing. After reading up on current scanners (as of Fall 2018) it sounded like either the Epson V550 or V600 would be perfect for sharing my images with others and posting online. I found the V550 on sale and it does a decent enough job for my current needs. If I end up sticking with photography this time around then eventually I plan to start developing my own film. At some point later I'd likely set up my own darkroom. If I end up taking things that far then I could see a better scanner in my future. For now the Epson works just fine.
__________________
My RFF Gallery
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-11-2018   #306
ColSebastianMoran
Registered User
 
ColSebastianMoran's Avatar
 
ColSebastianMoran is online now
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,300
Options:
- Flatbed V500 will make a nice 6x9 inch print or file for screens from 35mm. See this thread. V750 will be a little better resolution.
- Digital camera with a macro lens will give far higher resolution, but you'll have to invert and adjust tonality. To work in Lightroom, shoot RAW and check out Negative Lab Pro
- Dedicated 35mm scanner. NikonCoolscan no longer supported but still around and still good. I use VueScan software.
- Your phone. Seriously, with the right macro lens (Zeiss Exolens or Moment), and a current phone, get a 12MPx image. Invert as above or try FilmLab on the phone. Expect to do some adjustments.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Col. Sebastian Moran, ret. (not really)

In Classifieds Now: Nikon DX Fisheye, photos in this Flickr album.
Use this link to leave feedback for me.

Named "Best heavy-game shooter in the Eastern Empire." Clubs: Anglo-Indian, Tankerville, and Bagatelle Card Club.
Sony E/FE, Nikon dSLR, and iPhone digital. Misc film.
Birds, portraits, events, family. Mindfulness, reflection, creativity, and stance.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-12-2018   #307
KM-25
Registered User
 
KM-25's Avatar
 
KM-25 is offline
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,665
I scan the page of negatives or the contact sheet with a loupe or my eyes for the right image to print and then put it into the enlarger and make a print. Pretty simple, always a good result.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-12-2018   #308
capitalK
Warrior Poet :P
 
capitalK's Avatar
 
capitalK is offline
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,205
Currently using a Durst ColorCopy slide/neg duplicator with my Sony A7ii camera.

The rig uses enlarger lenses and has film orders for 35mm, 6x6, 6x7 and 4x5.

Really, I couldn't be happier.

More info on it here:

https://www.photrio.com/forum/thread...-stand.159197/
__________________
-------------------
Flickr
www.kennetharmstrong.ca
  Reply With Quote

Old 3 Weeks Ago   #309
adai6670
Registered User
 
adai6670's Avatar
 
adai6670 is offline
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: shanghai,china
Age: 32
Posts: 4
Usually I use the nikon coolscan VED for 35mm.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 20:02.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.