Problem with Epson V800
Old 07-27-2019   #1
Gilo25
Registered User
 
Gilo25 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 101
Problem with Epson V800

Does anybody have any idea of why the thumbnail preview of all my color negatives come out more or less like this (see attachment)? In order to scan I need to click on 'normal' instead of 'thumbnails', and frame each photo manually before scanning scan. I have no problem with black and white negatives, only color negatives of any type.
Thanks to all.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screenshot 2019-07-26 at 19.59.47.jpg (30.2 KB, 35 views)
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-27-2019   #2
lynnb
Registered User
 
lynnb's Avatar
 
lynnb is offline
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 8,461
I haven't seen that before. The little black dots look like the index marks in the plastic film holder, in the part between the negative strips, that are used (I think) by Epson Scan to identify where the frames are.

I sometimes get panorama-aspect crops when Epson Scan has difficulty finding the edges of the frame - usually when the film has been over- or under-exposed.
__________________
Lynn
happiest when shooting 35mm and 120 film
RFF Gallery
Flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-27-2019   #3
ajtruhan
Registered User
 
ajtruhan is offline
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilo25 View Post
Does anybody have any idea of why the thumbnail preview of all my color negatives come out more or less like this (see attachment)? In order to scan I need to click on 'normal' instead of 'thumbnails', and frame each photo manually before scanning scan. I have no problem with black and white negatives, only color negatives of any type.
Thanks to all.
What size film are you dealing with?
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-27-2019   #4
Gilo25
Registered User
 
Gilo25 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajtruhan View Post
What size film are you dealing with?
135, but I have the same problem also with 120.
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-27-2019   #5
Gilo25
Registered User
 
Gilo25 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by lynnb View Post
I haven't seen that before. The little black dots look like the index marks in the plastic film holder, in the part between the negative strips, that are used (I think) by Epson Scan to identify where the frames are.

I sometimes get panorama-aspect crops when Epson Scan has difficulty finding the edges of the frame - usually when the film has been over- or under-exposed.
Yes, I get that also, but that's understandable if the edges are not too defined because they are underexposed. But with color I basically get one negative strip normal and the rest is plain white with dots
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-27-2019   #6
Timmyjoe
Registered User
 
Timmyjoe's Avatar
 
Timmyjoe is offline
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,985
Are you using a Mac? The reason I ask is that many years ago I would get weird results like that from a Nikon film scanner, and a Nikon tech told me, on a Mac, that occasionally something would get screwed up in the processing software, so the way to fix it was to find the preferences file for the scanning software you are using (Usually in the UserName/Library/Preferences folder), throw it in the trash, "Repair Disk Permissions" in Utilities, and then relaunch the scanning software. I've been using that fix for almost 20 years now and it still works for my scanning software. Might help yours.

Best,
-Tim
__________________
http://www.timcarrollphotography.com

New Photo Books
Sturgis Stories
& Scenes From Sturgis
now available
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-27-2019   #7
Jamie123
Registered User
 
Jamie123 is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilo25 View Post
Does anybody have any idea of why the thumbnail preview of all my color negatives come out more or less like this (see attachment)? In order to scan I need to click on 'normal' instead of 'thumbnails', and frame each photo manually before scanning scan. I have no problem with black and white negatives, only color negatives of any type.
Thanks to all.
I always frame manually anyway, so I can only guess but maybe if it's only on color negatives you can try to disable ICE for the previews?
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-27-2019   #8
Gilo25
Registered User
 
Gilo25 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamie123 View Post
I always frame manually anyway, so I can only guess but maybe if it's only on color negatives you can try to disable ICE for the previews?
I never use dust reduction, digital ICE or anything else. It is never ticked.
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-27-2019   #9
Gilo25
Registered User
 
Gilo25 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timmyjoe View Post
Are you using a Mac? The reason I ask is that many years ago I would get weird results like that from a Nikon film scanner, and a Nikon tech told me, on a Mac, that occasionally something would get screwed up in the processing software, so the way to fix it was to find the preferences file for the scanning software you are using (Usually in the UserName/Library/Preferences folder), throw it in the trash, "Repair Disk Permissions" in Utilities, and then relaunch the scanning software. I've been using that fix for almost 20 years now and it still works for my scanning software. Might help yours.

Best,
-Tim
Thanks, yes, I am using a Mac. I will give it a try and let you know. Thanks again.
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-27-2019   #10
CharlesDAMorgan
Registered User
 
CharlesDAMorgan is offline
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: South East UK
Posts: 853
My V800 scans the fullness of the 135 negative (as long as correctly exposed) but crops the things by a good 3mm each side on bulk scan, so I have then to re-scan the individual images I want in full frame each time. Never yet found a way to solve this, so might have to try Tim's idea. It drives me crazy.
__________________
Film amateur with a few rangefinders - Leica III, M2/M3, Werra 3 and Zeiss Super Ikonta 534/16 medium format.

Apart from that have a Rolleiflex 3.5F, the odd Minolta XD7, Hasselblad 500cm, a Topcon Super D and an Intrepid 5x4 large format (not the half of it but I am clearing them out, honest).

I do all my own black and white developing at home.
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-27-2019   #11
ajtruhan
Registered User
 
ajtruhan is offline
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilo25 View Post
Thanks, yes, I am using a Mac. I will give it a try and let you know. Thanks again.
I think it would help to give all your specs- PC/Mac, software, scan settings...

I use a Win 10 with espon scan on a v550. So a bit different. On medium format the format has to be manually adjust (645/6x6/6x7 etc) or else you get nonsense. I think 35mm has one setting but double check. Also ICE is great for color so leave it on.
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-27-2019   #12
Gilo25
Registered User
 
Gilo25 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajtruhan View Post
I think it would help to give all your specs- PC/Mac, software, scan settings...

I use a Win 10 with espon scan on a v550. So a bit different. On medium format the format has to be manually adjust (645/6x6/6x7 etc) or else you get nonsense. I think 35mm has one setting but double check. Also ICE is great for color so leave it on.
I have a iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, 2017) with Mac OS Mojave 10.14.5. I use the Epson software with the attached settings.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screenshot 2019-07-27 at 16.05.13.jpg (20.2 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg Screenshot 2019-07-27 at 16.05.28.jpg (23.9 KB, 7 views)
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-27-2019   #13
Jamie123
Registered User
 
Jamie123 is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilo25 View Post
I have a iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, 2017) with Mac OS Mojave 10.14.5. I use the Epson software with the attached settings.
What are the settings in the preview configuration?
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-27-2019   #14
Gilo25
Registered User
 
Gilo25 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamie123 View Post
What are the settings in the preview configuration?
Only 'thumbnail'. There are no other settings in the preview mode apart from 'thumbnail' and 'normal'. The other settings are in the attachment
I posted above.
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-27-2019   #15
ajtruhan
Registered User
 
ajtruhan is offline
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilo25 View Post
Only 'thumbnail'. There are no other settings in the preview mode apart from 'thumbnail' and 'normal'. The other settings are in the attachment
I posted above.
In professional mode, at the bottom is a configuration button. Do you have that? Thatís where the film size is selected.
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-28-2019   #16
Gilo25
Registered User
 
Gilo25 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajtruhan View Post
In professional mode, at the bottom is a configuration button. Do you have that? Thatís where the film size is selected.
Yes, I have it, but that's to select the film size for medium format only.
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-28-2019   #17
Gilo25
Registered User
 
Gilo25 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by CharlesDAMorgan View Post
My V800 scans the fullness of the 135 negative (as long as correctly exposed) but crops the things by a good 3mm each side on bulk scan, so I have then to re-scan the individual images I want in full frame each time. Never yet found a way to solve this, so might have to try Tim's idea. It drives me crazy.
For that problem, try to go to configuration >preview> auto photo orientation (tick) > thumbnail cropping area > large
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-28-2019   #18
Gilo25
Registered User
 
Gilo25 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajtruhan View Post
I think it would help to give all your specs- PC/Mac, software, scan settings...

I use a Win 10 with espon scan on a v550. So a bit different. On medium format the format has to be manually adjust (645/6x6/6x7 etc) or else you get nonsense. I think 35mm has one setting but double check. Also ICE is great for color so leave it on.
On the V800 you can choose the size of the medium format negative in order to avoid the non sense. I don't know about the V550, though.
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-28-2019   #19
CharlesDAMorgan
Registered User
 
CharlesDAMorgan is offline
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: South East UK
Posts: 853
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilo25 View Post
For that problem, try to go to configuration >preview> auto photo orientation (tick) > thumbnail cropping area > large
Thanks - I've reset to your specs and much more is captured - many thanks!
__________________
Film amateur with a few rangefinders - Leica III, M2/M3, Werra 3 and Zeiss Super Ikonta 534/16 medium format.

Apart from that have a Rolleiflex 3.5F, the odd Minolta XD7, Hasselblad 500cm, a Topcon Super D and an Intrepid 5x4 large format (not the half of it but I am clearing them out, honest).

I do all my own black and white developing at home.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 14:04.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.