Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Gearhead Delights > Repair / Camera Care

Repair / Camera Care This is a good place to discuss the care and repair of your photo gear. You can share Do-It-Yourself repair and maintenance, as well as your recommendations for pro repairs. This new forum was created 4/1/07. PLEASE title your thread wisely, so others searching for a certain make of camera or repair person can find your thread easily!

Learning Camera Repair
Old 01-05-2017   #1
unixrevolution

Learning Camera Repair

Hey all,

I am a DIY Computer fix-it, a DIY car mechanic, and a self-taught photographer. Seeing the general decline in the people who can fix our cherished film cameras, I was wondering how hard it was to get started really repairing camera gear.

What are the starting tools needed, are there any good books or self-teaching aids, and where do I get them?

I was thinking if I got good at it, I could even make it a second income. Not to tread on the toes of other Camera repair people, of course, but new people need to learn so there will be someone to fix Leicas and Pentaxes in 50 years

"I decided to stop collecting cameras and become a photographer."

Old 01-05-2017   #2
tunalegs
Pretended Artist

A good set of jewellers screwdrivers, a felt mat to work on (to keep tiny screws from rolling or bouncing away), some tweezers or tiny pliers, x-acto knife (for pulling up leatherette or stickers that hide screws) and a decent adjustable lens spanner, probably the minimum required.

Then get some simple cameras like Argus C3, Exa, take them apart and put them back together again. Once you do that work on some "real" cameras. Stick to manual cameras. Once plastics and electronics started appearing in cameras, they tended to no longer be made with servicing them in mind and you can get in way over your head without special tools and a manual specific to the camera you're opening up.

Old 01-05-2017   #3
Mackinaw
Think Different