Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Leicas and other Leica Mount Cameras > Canon Leica Screw Mount Film Rangefinders

Canon Leica Screw Mount Film Rangefinders For classic Leica Screw Mount Canon Rangefinders.

First roll through Canon P
Old 02-02-2019   #1
twvancamp
Thom

First roll through Canon P

I just scanned the first roll I've put through my new Canon P. I've been shooting with fixed lens rangefinders for a while, but this is my first proper RF and I wasn't super happy with the results.

There are several variables, and I am hoping to get others' opinions to see how I can get the most out of this camera.

I got a few good shots, but most came out like these.

Possible issues I can think of are:
- my own exposure. This is my first time shooting without a dedicated meter and I may have just been way off.
- the lens. Body came with a pretty beat up Elmar 9cm f3.5 that might have some issues. Could this lead to the haze in the center of some of these?
- issue with camera. Mechanics seem good but maybe there is something off with the shutter. Or light seals?
- some combination of the above, or something else entirely.

Appreciate any thoughts. I've seen great images come from this camera so I am hoping it is something I can learn to work with!

Old 02-02-2019   #2
lukx

I think there is either light leaking into your camera or the shutter curtains are not synchronized very well. My bet is on the body.

Old 02-02-2019   #3
ajtruhan

Tape up the whole thing then shoot a few shots, remove some tape, shoot more, etc.

Old 02-02-2019   #4
twvancamp
Thom

Thanks for the replies. I did the rough shutter test with that app that checks the speed. Not sure how accurate that is, but it suggested all the speeds were at least a few stops off.

If it is light leak, where would it be coming in? The door hinge? Doesn't seem like it has seals (like a modern SLR or something would).

Old 02-02-2019   #5
wwfloyd