Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Classic Film RangeFinders & Other Classics > 120 film RF Folders

120 film RF Folders 120/220 Format Folding Rangefinders, including the various classic Zeiss Ikontas, Voigtlander Bessas, and their Ruskie copies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Digitizing 120 transparencies?
Old 07-17-2016   #1
wes loder
Photographer/Historian
 
wes loder's Avatar
 
wes loder is offline
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Weisenberg Tep, PA
Posts: 246
Digitizing 120 transparencies?

Shot a roll of Fujichrome with my Super Ikonta A. The results are impressive. Far better than I thought an 80-year-old camera with an uncoated lens could do.
But I am not sure how to scan to digital. I do not have a flat-bed scanner. Suggestions?
WES
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-17-2016   #2
Steve M.
Registered User
 
Steve M. is offline
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,380
A lot of people who don't know much about photography will tell you all about the latest and greatest computer designed, multi coated modern lenses, but you really can't beat an old uncoated MF lens in my book, both for colour and B&W. Around my place, the older the lens, the better the photos. The IQ is just so much better on the old lenses. I could show you photos from a Voigtlander Brilliant I once owned w/ an uncoated Heliar lens that blew a Hasselblad out of the water for 3-D imaging and overall better IQ. Never should have sold that camera.

You could come up w/ a lot of work arounds (photograph the slide w/ a DSLR on a light box for instance), but the cheapest and best way to go for great results is to look for an old Epson 2450 flatbed scanner. They were state of tha art technology in their day, and still make really, really good scans w/ 120 film. I used mine w/ 35mm even and got wonderful results. You don't need any fancy film holders or software either, just lay the slide on the bed and use the Epson scanning software. These things go for $25-$40 here in the US.

You can scan negs up to 4x5, and large prints too. The only caveat is that you may have to have Windows XP or something similar installed to make use of the software. I am not 100% sure the later operating systems are compatible. You could always buy a cheap PC just for scanning, or use the XP on a dual drive HD. You have a classic camera w/ a good lens and you're shooting 120 film, may as well get some high quality results.
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-17-2016   #3
citizen99
Registered User
 
citizen99's Avatar
 
citizen99 is offline
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 748
If you wanted to go the way of getting an old, cheap, flatbed (I'm assuming it would be one with a USB interface, unlike some really old ones), there are ways of running its old software (typically XP-era) on a more modern system.

If you've got Windows 7 Professional or Ultimate (don't know about the situation with 8.1 or 10) you can run XP software in 'emulation' mode (right-click on the *.exe file(s) for options).

Otherwise, on any OS that will run VirtualBox, you could install an XP system as a virtual machine, and then install an XP-era scanner s/w in that. Works for me with my Canoscan 8800F flatbed.
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-17-2016   #4
mike rosenlof
Insufficient information
 
mike rosenlof is offline
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Colorado
Age: 60
Posts: 357
I bought a new-old-stock Epson 1680 scanner off the bay a year ago and use it for 120 through 8x10. I hesitate to call it great, but it's pretty good. I use it mostly for my "proof sheets" as I'm still printing in the darkroom as my prefered output.

You'll probably need to use VueScan or some virtualization if you want to use the original epson software with it, but VueScan is my choice.
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-17-2016   #5
edge100
-
 
edge100 is offline
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 758
http://www.mfphotography.ca/michael-...digital-camera

No better way to do it for <$10k

Quote:
Originally Posted by wes loder View Post
Shot a roll of Fujichrome with my Super Ikonta A. The results are impressive. Far better than I thought an 80-year-old camera with an uncoated lens could do.
But I am not sure how to scan to digital. I do not have a flat-bed scanner. Suggestions?
WES
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-17-2016   #6
Spanik
Registered User
 
Spanik is offline
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,425
Thanks for that link, very interesting.
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-17-2016   #7
wjlapier
Registered User
 
wjlapier's Avatar
 
wjlapier is offline
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,682
I use an Espon V500 with the stock insert and it works fine for me. Prints ( sent to Walmart ) came out great. Vuescan with standard auto settings. I'm on a Mac too.

  Reply With Quote

Old 07-17-2016   #8
charjohncarter
Registered User
 
charjohncarter's Avatar
 
charjohncarter is offline
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Danville, CA, USA
Posts: 8,680
When you scan make sure that the histogram has space on the white and black end. Then in post you can adjust with levels. If you don't have all the information it won't look right.
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-19-2016   #9
EVIL_Guy
Registered User
 
EVIL_Guy's Avatar
 
EVIL_Guy is offline
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 74
Use a V550 Epson for my 120s; works great!
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 22:02.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.