Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Rangefinder Forum > Image Processing: Darkroom / Lightroom / Film > Scanners / Scanner Software

View Poll Results: Which is the better Scan software ?
Nikon Scanware V 4.0.2 38 29.92%
SilverFast AI Studio V 6.5.X 14 11.02%
VueScan V 8.4.62 ( whatever it is today,,,) 75 59.06%
Voters: 127. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 02-06-2011   #41
Terao
Kiloran
 
Terao is offline
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Southampton, UK
Age: 49
Posts: 963
Quote:
Originally Posted by Central Harlem Anon View Post
Final note from me on this topic, I expect: I just heard back from Nikon tech support. They acknowledge the problem and indicate no plans to fix it.

"You are correct, this is a known issue with this scanner. Please disconnect Firewire devices if Nikon Scan cannot find your scanner. Sorry for the inconvenience."
For what its worth, this seems to be an issue no matter which version of OSX you are using. I've just got a new FW800 drive and now I can't see the scanner when its plugged in. Doesn't matter whether its on 400 or 800 mode. As soon as its plugged in the scanner no longer shows up in System Profiler - the Mac knows there is a device plugged in but its not detected correctly. This is on an old Panther G5 (10.3.9).

Strangely enough I don't get the same problem when I have my DV camera plugged in via Firewire.
__________________
Currently using:

Bodies:
Nikon D700
Lenses: Nikon 50mm f/1.2 AIS, Nikon 85mm f/1.4

My Flickr gallery
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-08-2011   #42
[email protected]
Registered User
 
[email protected] is offline
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 166
I have been successfully running a Nikon 8000 with Nikon Scan 4.02 on an Intel Mac using osx 10.5.8. There have been times when the program has crashed, but I believe I've developed a routine that prevents or minimizes crashing:
1. I start the computer up with ONLY the 8000 attached. The only other things plugged in are the keyboard/mouse.
2. Nikon Scan is started after the scanner is powered on and the green light stays lit. I never mess with anything while the program is running. For instance, I don't ask it to abort a scan or preview.

It's possible (I can't prove it) that because different Nikon scanners use firewire or USB ports, the software may get hung up if anything else is plugged into either.

FWIW: I also have Vuescan as a backup. In the end, the results for most scans are comparable.
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-09-2011   #43
[email protected]
Registered User
 
[email protected] is offline
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 166
Sorry, I have to post this update: after successfully running Nikon Scan for many scans, it will no longer run no matter what I do. Even reinstalled.
Vuescan is the only option for me now. It works fine, but reds are way too saturated.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-16-2014   #44
gilgsn
Registered User
 
gilgsn's Avatar
 
gilgsn is offline
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Sarasota Florida
Age: 52
Posts: 192
Hello,

Has anyone used a Firewire 400 to 800 converter cable with a Mac for the Coolscan 8000?

Gil.
__________________
Lumix GM5.
I dearly miss my M2!
http://www.flickr.com/photos/gilgsn/
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-16-2014   #45
Godfrey
somewhat colored
 
Godfrey's Avatar
 
Godfrey is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Silly Valley, California, USA
Posts: 9,187
Quote:
Originally Posted by hassiman View Post
I was just wondering if anyone here is using SilverFast AI Studio, VueScan or Nikon Scanware 4.0.2 to successfully run a Nikon Super CoolScan 9000 on a Mac OS 10.4.11 (Tiger) witha Intel MacPro platform?

Which of the latest versions of VueScan or SilverFast AI is better?

I had heard that there were issues with Nikon Scanware 4.0.2 on Intel Macs.
Nikon software hasn't been current since OS X Leopard or Snow Leopard. I think it broke on Lion.

I run OS X Mavericks (version 10.9.3 at present) and drive my Super Coolscan 9000 with VueScan. I connect it through the Thunderbolt Display 27" FireWire port to a late 2012 Mac mini. Works beautifully; this is a great scanner and I prefer VueScan over any of the other scanner apps.

G
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-16-2014   #46
cabbiinc
Slightly Irregular
 
cabbiinc is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Western Washington
Posts: 235
Godfrey, you do realize that this thread is 6 years old right.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-16-2014   #47
Godfrey
somewhat colored
 
Godfrey's Avatar
 
Godfrey is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Silly Valley, California, USA
Posts: 9,187
Quote:
Originally Posted by cabbiinc View Post
Godfrey, you do realize that this thread is 6 years old right.
No, I didn't at first, but what difference does that make? Someone asked a question which I answered.
I don't always look at all the dates.

G
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-17-2014   #48
Ron (Netherlands)
Registered User
 
Ron (Netherlands)'s Avatar
 
Ron (Netherlands) is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,920
Have an ED 8000 through firewire on an imac (osx 10.8.5). Never got the Nikon software running on the imac. Therefore I had to jump to an alternative, for me this was vuescan. It took me a lot of time to get used to this software but in the end provides some nice results. btw never used silverfast.

scan from 6x6 velvia slide:

Super Ikonta 532/16 CLA XII
by Ron (Netherlands), on Flickr
__________________
__________________
When day is done......

Leica: IIa synch conversion, IIIb, M6 TTL Millenium, 2x Rolleicord Vb, 2x Rolleiflex 3.5F white face, Rolleiflex 2.8A, 5x ICA Tropica

My Flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-19-2014   #49
craygc
Registered User
 
craygc is offline
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Age: 59
Posts: 1,075
Quote:
Originally Posted by gilgsn View Post
Hello,

Has anyone used a Firewire 400 to 800 converter cable with a Mac for the Coolscan 8000?

Gil.
Running a 4000 and a 9000, which are both FW400, back to a Mac Mini, which is FW800 only. FW400 to FW800 is spec'ed to work - FW400 just uses 6 pins of the 9-pin FW800 plug
__________________
Craig Cooper
Australia
Photo Stream
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-19-2014   #50
Timmyjoe
Registered User
 
Timmyjoe's Avatar
 
Timmyjoe is offline
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,029
I ran my Coolscan 9000 on an intel Mac running 10.6 or 10.7 and using the Nikon Scan software. Also used Vuescan. Finally got fed up with it and dragged out an old Apple G4 Power PC and hooked the Coolscan 9000 to it, and it is a dedicated scan computer, running 10.5.

I can do these sort of "batch scans" with Nikon Scan to see which negs I am interested in, then I carefully scan each with Vuescan. Works for me.

Best,
-Tim
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-20-2014   #51
Zonan
Registered User
 
Zonan's Avatar
 
Zonan is offline
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by craygc View Post
Running a 4000 and a 9000, which are both FW400, back to a Mac Mini, which is FW800 only. FW400 to FW800 is spec'ed to work - FW400 just uses 6 pins of the 9-pin FW800 plug
Me too, no problems with using the FW800/400 adapter plug with FW800 port on macmini for LS9000
__________________
Hexar AF, GSW690 III, GW690 II, GA645zi, Autocord, F6, Chamonix 45n-2
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-15-2014   #52
Harry Lime
Practitioner
 
Harry Lime's Avatar
 
Harry Lime is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Here and there
Posts: 1,675
Nikonscan was fairly idiot proof in use and produced excellent results.

The Vuescan GUI looks like something from the early 1990's, but it produces excellent results. It's also cheap and Ed is a good guy.

The Silverfast GUI is a trainwreck and the only reason why I use it is because the HDR scan feature pulls every last photon of exposure off the negative. Silverfast is expensive and they tend to milk you for every penny you have.

So, Silverfast it is; simply because of the HDR feature. I really wish Vuescan would add this option.
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-28-2014   #53
Chriscrawfordphoto
Real Men Shoot Film.
 
Chriscrawfordphoto's Avatar
 
Chriscrawfordphoto is online now
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana
Age: 44
Posts: 9,061
I've used my Nikon 8000ED for over a decade with Vuescan. Nikon Scan sucked even with the PowerPC Macs it was originally made for, so I bought Vuescan way back when I was using the Powermac G4 dual 1.25 I bought new in 2003. Still using Vuescan on my Mac Pro with dual four-core intel processors. Works beautifully, as always.
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-29-2014   #54
Fernando2
Registered User
 
Fernando2's Avatar
 
Fernando2 is offline
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Rome, Italy
Age: 50
Posts: 260
Same here: I'm driving the 8000 with a 2004 PowerBook(!) using Vuescan.
Works much better than NikonScan 4.
Too bad I can't use recent versions (stuck to 9.0.something) since I can't install OS X > 10.5.

Fernando
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-29-2014   #55
Timmyjoe
Registered User
 
Timmyjoe's Avatar
 
Timmyjoe is offline
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,029
I've kept an old PowerPC Mac just for using it with my CoolScan 9000. I usually use Nikon Scan to scan through a roll of negs to make small jpgs as I can batch scan with Nikon Scan. After I look through those and find the keepers, I scan the best negs with VueScan.

Best,
-Tim
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-26-2016   #56
BLKRCAT
99% Film
 
BLKRCAT's Avatar
 
BLKRCAT is offline
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,771
I use both nikonscan and vuescan. Different tools for different purposes.

Nikonscan Color, Vuescan BW.

Though last roll I did with nikonscan the colors wouldnt stay consistent. Normally this is fine because I dont shoot consistent things throughout roll but this time it was more clienty work that needed consistency and nikonscan couldnt get it so I opted for vuescan and was impressed with the results.
__________________
Tumblr Youtube
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-09-2019   #57
rbrooks
Registered User
 
rbrooks is offline
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 87
I've gotten my Nikon Coolscan 9000 to work on the latest Windows 10 with Vuescan. Had to use the two Apple converters. Firewire 400 to TB2. And TB2 to TB3.
I might have had to fiddle with software as per some of the more quoted/linked webpages on this forum, but don't remember if any of those were really needed.
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-30-2019   #58
Timmyjoe
Registered User
 
Timmyjoe's Avatar
 
Timmyjoe is offline
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,029
Not sure why these old threads keep popping back to the top of the lists. But since it's here, one update from my Coolscan 9000 workflow. Similar to what BLKRCAT posted in 2016, I'm finding I get best results using Vuescan for my B&W negatives, and Nikon Scan for all my color negatives and chromes.

Best,
-Tim
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-30-2019   #59
analoged
Registered User
 
analoged's Avatar
 
analoged is offline
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: HNL/TYO
Posts: 356
When people vote in the poll, the thread pops back to the top!
__________________
M6, 35mm Pre Asph Lux, 50 Elmar M

IIIasync, 5cm Summar, 5cm Sonnar, 3.5cm Elmar, 13.5cm Sonnar

Leicaflex SL, Leicaflex SL2, R6.2, 28mm Elamrit Ver II, 80mm Lux, 100mm Apo Macro Elmarit, 180 Elmarit, 400mm Telyt, 560mm Telyt

Epson R-D1
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:49.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.