Epson V500 Scanner
Old 01-07-2019   #1
Range-rover
Registered User
 
Range-rover is offline
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,145
Epson V500 Scanner

Last week I took a trip to my local Salvation Army, it's usually a hit or
miss and I leave empty handed. So to my surprise when I went back to
the electronics department on the bottom shelf there was a nice Epson
V500 scanner for the sum of $24.99, It didn't have a power cord and
supply so I decided to get it and when the counter girl rang it up it was
the price of $12.50 and took my big investment home and ordered a power
cord and supply. Well the Power supply came today and I hooked it up and
downloaded all the things needed to scan and to my surprise it works, I
have to get used to the way it all works but so far I makes nice scanned
prints. I did have what I thought was a problem, I scanned a picture of
my uncle and when I printed it scan lines came out but when I look at
the original there they were printer printing lines from my Canon i9900
printer so it does pick this up. I just wanted to also now if anyone has
a Epson scanner and if you could give me any tips on using it.

Thanks
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-07-2019   #2
Bingley
Registered User
 
Bingley's Avatar
 
Bingley is offline
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 5,636
Congrats on a great find! I’ve been using an Epson V500 scanner for at least 7 years. I recommend getting some ANR glass inserts to press 35mm negs flat in the plastic holders. Also, play around with the slider used to control tones. The default settings don’t capture all the info on the negative but can be adjusted. Once you get the hang of it, this scanner does a more than decent job of scanning 35mm and 120 negs.
__________________
Steve

FS: Zeiss-ZM Planar 50 plus hood, Pentax MX, Voigtlander Ultron 40/2.0 SLII in Pentax K-mount, Takumar 100/2.8 and 35/3.5 lenses: See my ads in Classifieds

M3, M2, R2A, IIIc, IVSB2, & T, and assorted LTM & M lenses
Minolta XD11, Pentax ME Super, and assorted MD Rokkor and Takumar lenses, Rolleicord III, Rolleicord Vb, Rolleiflex Automat MX-EVS

My Flickr
My Gallery
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-08-2019   #3
tbhv55
Registered User
 
tbhv55 is offline
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Devon, UK
Age: 63
Posts: 581
I have a v550 which is (as far as I know, anyway) almost identical to the v500, and I've been very pleased with it. Like Bingley [post #2] I use it for both 35mm and 120 neg scanning, and it easily does a good enough job for my purposes. Yes, drum scans are better, but you just don't get a drum scanner for the price of a v500!

I don't really have any tips, other than doing what I did - which was to experiment until I found settings that suited my requirements.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-08-2019   #4
traveler_101
American abroad
 
traveler_101 is offline
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 1,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bingley View Post
Congrats on a great find! Iíve been using an Epson V500 scanner for at least 7 years. I recommend getting some ANR glass inserts to press 35mm negs flat in the plastic holders. Also, play around with the slider used to control tones. The default settings donít capture all the info on the negative but can be adjusted. Once you get the hang of it, this scanner does a more than decent job of scanning 35mm and 120 negs.
Like this - ?
http://www.betterscanning.com/scanning/insert35.html
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-08-2019   #5
Moto-Uno
Moto-Uno
 
Moto-Uno's Avatar
 
Moto-Uno is offline
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Wet Coast
Posts: 1,629
FWIW , I've had very good scans from my Epson V600 , by simply placing a
thin piece of glass over the negatives, perfectly flat and the scan detail is great , did I say cheap and effective ? Try it before you spend a penny on expensive holders , it only takes a few tries to get the negs located correctly . Try it !
Peter
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-09-2019   #6
Bingley
Registered User
 
Bingley's Avatar
 
Bingley is offline
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 5,636
Quote:
Originally Posted by traveler_101 View Post
Exactly. That's what I use.
__________________
Steve

FS: Zeiss-ZM Planar 50 plus hood, Pentax MX, Voigtlander Ultron 40/2.0 SLII in Pentax K-mount, Takumar 100/2.8 and 35/3.5 lenses: See my ads in Classifieds

M3, M2, R2A, IIIc, IVSB2, & T, and assorted LTM & M lenses
Minolta XD11, Pentax ME Super, and assorted MD Rokkor and Takumar lenses, Rolleicord III, Rolleicord Vb, Rolleiflex Automat MX-EVS

My Flickr
My Gallery
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-09-2019   #7
Bingley
Registered User
 
Bingley's Avatar
 
Bingley is offline
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 5,636
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moto-Uno View Post
FWIW , I've had very good scans from my Epson V600 , by simply placing a
thin piece of glass over the negatives, perfectly flat and the scan detail is great , did I say cheap and effective ? Try it before you spend a penny on expensive holders , it only takes a few tries to get the negs located correctly . Try it !
Peter
I've been intrigued by the idea of putting negatives directly on the glass plate. I understand that the Epson V700 scanner series will allow you to do that. The V500 won't (or, at least, I've never figured out how to adjust the software to "read" negatives directly on the plate). The V500 comes with rather cheap plastic holders, but with the glass ANR inserts the scanning is fine.
__________________
Steve

FS: Zeiss-ZM Planar 50 plus hood, Pentax MX, Voigtlander Ultron 40/2.0 SLII in Pentax K-mount, Takumar 100/2.8 and 35/3.5 lenses: See my ads in Classifieds

M3, M2, R2A, IIIc, IVSB2, & T, and assorted LTM & M lenses
Minolta XD11, Pentax ME Super, and assorted MD Rokkor and Takumar lenses, Rolleicord III, Rolleicord Vb, Rolleiflex Automat MX-EVS

My Flickr
My Gallery
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-09-2019   #8
Bingley
Registered User
 
Bingley's Avatar
 
Bingley is offline
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 5,636
One additional tip on the V500: after you get the preview of your images, click on "full size" for each previewed image and then look at the little histogram button over on the left (with the other scanner setting options). Click on it to open up the histogram for the particular image. I do two things for each image. First, I move the sliders under the histogram so that the left slide is set at 0 and the right slider is set at 255 (I don't know why the defaults are different). Then, I adjust the sliders on the histogram itself so that the right point is directly under or slightly to the right of the right edge of the histogram; the mid-point is set at 1:00 or as close to it as I can get; and the left point is set at or slightly to the left of the left edge of the histogram. This is where you can make some initial exposure adjustments to the image before actually scanning, but by setting the outer points directly under the left and right edges of the histogram, you're also capturing the maximum amount of information in the scan. You can then tweak the results in PS, LR, or whatever other image processing software you use.
__________________
Steve

FS: Zeiss-ZM Planar 50 plus hood, Pentax MX, Voigtlander Ultron 40/2.0 SLII in Pentax K-mount, Takumar 100/2.8 and 35/3.5 lenses: See my ads in Classifieds

M3, M2, R2A, IIIc, IVSB2, & T, and assorted LTM & M lenses
Minolta XD11, Pentax ME Super, and assorted MD Rokkor and Takumar lenses, Rolleicord III, Rolleicord Vb, Rolleiflex Automat MX-EVS

My Flickr
My Gallery
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-09-2019   #9
Moto-Uno
Moto-Uno
 
Moto-Uno's Avatar
 
Moto-Uno is offline
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Wet Coast
Posts: 1,629
I'm not familiar with the V500 , however with the V600 there's no mention anywhere concerning placing the negatives on the glass . There also seems to be much talk of correct distancing of the negatives away from the plate . My experience over the last few years ,is that is not substantiated by me. It only takes some careful positioning of the negative strip. If in the preview mode it shows nothing (default is thumbnail) , choose to close it and use "normal" and the scans then show . Hope this helps , Peter
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-09-2019   #10
Ko.Fe.
Kostya Fedot
 
Ko.Fe.'s Avatar
 
Ko.Fe. is offline
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: MiltON.ONtario
Posts: 7,189
Do nothing, just use Epson scan. Mine v500 works this way, with original film holders.
Just make sure you hold it. I mean, negatives in the book.
For few days. They will become flat.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-09-2019   #11
nzeeman
Registered User
 
nzeeman's Avatar
 
nzeeman is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: belgrade
Age: 39
Posts: 1,194
i have v330-its a bit cheaper model than 500 but i think you guys can help me-i have a feeling that i get a bit softer detail-any advice how to get more out of negs?
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-09-2019   #12
Ko.Fe.
Kostya Fedot
 
Ko.Fe.'s Avatar
 
Ko.Fe. is offline
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: MiltON.ONtario
Posts: 7,189
Quote:
Originally Posted by nzeeman View Post
i have v330-its a bit cheaper model than 500 but i think you guys can help me-i have a feeling that i get a bit softer detail-any advice how to get more out of negs?
I had V330 before getting V500. The only reason it is cheaper - it has no MF support.

Scan at higher resolution and set it to resize, save to manageable file.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-09-2019   #13
gb hill
Registered User
 
gb hill's Avatar
 
gb hill is offline
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: North Carolina
Age: 59
Posts: 5,871
Nice find. I have a V500. I use the supplied film holders & so far am quite satisfied. Iím still learning so havenít any info to share. I like that it scans 120 as well. My wife had some old negatives from her dads old camera she wanted me to scan. 620 maybe? They scanned ok. MOF this is one of my wife I scanned and posted in the gallery.

__________________
Greg
flickr
Bessa R & L
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-09-2019   #14
ColSebastianMoran
Registered User
 
ColSebastianMoran's Avatar
 
ColSebastianMoran is offline
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,326
Good for Medium Format scanning. I think it makes excellent prints 6-8x the linear dimension of the negative.
__________________
Col. Sebastian Moran, ret. (not really)

In Classifieds Now: Nikon DX Fisheye, photos in this Flickr album.
Use this link to leave feedback for me.

Named "Best heavy-game shooter in the Eastern Empire." Clubs: Anglo-Indian, Tankerville, and Bagatelle Card Club.
Sony E/FE, Nikon dSLR, and iPhone digital. Misc film.
Birds, portraits, events, family. Mindfulness, reflection, creativity, and stance.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-10-2019   #15
Pentode
Registered User
 
Pentode's Avatar
 
Pentode is offline
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 188
I’ve had a V500 for years and find it is quite easy to work with and gives results that are as nice as you’re likely to get with a flatbed. The supplied negative holders work okay but they’re not very easy to use. I eventually picked up a 120 holder from Betterscanning which was a big improvement. Later I got 120 and 35mm Digitaliza holders, which I also like a lot.

Bingley’s setting suggestions match what I do almost exacty and I have no complaints with the quality of the scans. If you’re in a hurry the default auto-exposure setting actually does a pretty decent job, too.

I experimented with Vue Scan for a while and it’s much more flexible and full-featured than the stock Epson Scan software but, in the end, I found I seldom need the added features and Vue Scan is a lot fussier to use* so I mostly just use Epson Scan.

All in all it’s been a very reliable machine.

*Don’t get me wrong; Vue Scan is excellent software. It just has a steeper learning curve than Epson Scan does.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-16-2019   #16
Range-rover
Registered User
 
Range-rover is offline
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,145
Here's a question for you guys, I received the holders for 35mm slides and film and
decided to try it out and scan some slides, I didn't do a total scan just the first scan
and wow the Kodakchrome 64 are still breathtaking. Now if I wanted to print one to
say 8X10 I just follow the page that comes up and where to set?
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-17-2019   #17
charjohncarter
Registered User
 
charjohncarter's Avatar
 
charjohncarter is offline
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Danville, CA, USA
Posts: 8,679
There all kinds of tips but I'll give you this one:

http://www.coltonallen.com/getting-t...epson-flatbed/
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:22.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.