Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Rangefinder Forum > Rangefinder Photography Discussion

Rangefinder Photography Discussion General discussions about Rangefinder Photography. This is a great place for questions and answers that are not addressed in a specific category. Take note there is also a General Photography forum.

Why your wife should have her Leica!
Old 03-31-2009   #1
simplethings

Why your wife should have her Leica!

Some of you may already know my situation. If you don't, I basically ordered an M6 with a 35 1.4 pre-ASPH Summilux without even asking or telling my husband. Oy. He has known that I've wanted an M6 for quite sometime, but I figured I had a hard enough time loading the film so I could wait awhile and just get later.

I basically got it to use as a tool for my personal projects. I'm a grad. student and have been working on projects on the side while trying to earn a living with a small photography business.

Anyhow, if you guys could list reasons for why I should be able to keep my Leica gear that would be great!!! I have no idea how I'm going to tell him -- or if I even should. This is so unlike me. I normally ask/tell him about big purchases (anything over $100). I rarely spend money on clothes, handbags (unless it's a camera bag), but he recently let me drop $5,000 on camera equipment since I sold everything off at one point.

Any suggestions, supporting arguments would be GREAT! :-D Thanks guys!

Old 03-31-2009   #2
ferider

Your camera will be indispensable for B&W baby photos a few months from now.

Cheers,

Roland.

Old 03-31-2009   #3
K5HJ

Believe me, if my wife bought an M6, I would be tickled. But, with a Summilux!

Alas, that could never happen.

I have to admit though, I would use it more than she.

Old 03-31-2009   #4
Trius
Waiting on Maitani

Two reasons:

Life is short
You are worth it

Happiness is APX100 and Rodinal 1:100

A bunch o cameras. Does it really matter?