Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Leicas and other Leica Mount Cameras > Leica M8 / M8.2 / Ricoh GXR

Leica M8 / M8.2 / Ricoh GXR Smaller than full frame digital Leica M mount cameras. The Ricoh is included as a less expensive and viable digital Leica M lens platform.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Can the M8 do HDR photography?
Old 07-21-2009   #1
mikemyers
Registered User
 
mikemyers is offline
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 55
Can the M8 do HDR photography?

One of the things I like to do with my cameras is take HDR photos. That's where you take 3, 5, or 7 shots of the same thing, bracketing the exposure. There is special software that puts the final image together, using the best parts of each of the images.

Does the M8 have bracketing? How many shots in a row can it take? Can I do this in "burst" mode?

There's no need to see the images on the LCD. Since I know I can't vary the aperture automatically, can it do this by varying the shutter speed?

If the M8 can not do it, I'll continue to use the D2h and D3 series cameras, that do this perfectly.
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-21-2009   #2
Darkhorse
pointed and shot
 
Darkhorse's Avatar
 
Darkhorse is offline
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 732
Please don't do it.
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-21-2009   #3
mikemyers
Registered User
 
mikemyers is offline
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 55
See: http://www.hdrsoft.com/ for examples...
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-21-2009   #4
J. Borger
Registered User
 
J. Borger is offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 942
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkhorse View Post
Please don't do it.
Agree very much!!


M8 is not convenient for this.
If you want to do it with the m8 you have to change the EV settings yourself manual before each exposute. A real pita if you ask me!
__________________
my website
my RFF gallery
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-21-2009   #5
kid_a
Registered User
 
kid_a's Avatar
 
kid_a is offline
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Age: 33
Posts: 101
I find it very hard to swallow, an M8 being used for HDR photography..


Anyway, who cares if it actually brackets? Take a shot, adjust exposure up, take a shot, adjust exposure down... etc.
__________________
voigtlander r2a - cv 50/1,5 nokton - cv 25/4 skopar
nikon s2 - 5cm 1,4 nikkor
hasselblad 500 el/m - 50/4 t* - 80/2,8 t* - 150/4 t*
ltd ed. "jack" white stripes holga with fisheye
and a giant pile of boring digital mess.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/dylanlynch/
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-21-2009   #6
mikemyers
Registered User
 
mikemyers is offline
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkhorse View Post
Please don't do it.

Sorry, I've been doing it for a year, and intend to continue to do it. My question is whether the M8 can provide bracketing, as otherwise I need a tripod and to take each image separately.
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-21-2009   #7
JNewell
Leica M Recidivist
 
JNewell is offline
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Near Boston, MA
Age: 60
Posts: 1,008
I think what he meant was please don't do it with an M8 because it'll frustrate you because the bracketing function is frankly (but not surprisingly) pretty "manual" (I did not say "crude"). You will need a tripod, I think, but I am not very schooled in good HDR field technique.
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-21-2009   #8
venchka
Registered User
 
venchka's Avatar
 
venchka is offline
Join Date: Apr 2006
Age: 73
Posts: 6,211
Interesting. I had very good luck with Tufuse and a single frame of 35mm film exposed before there was software.

HDR processing by itself isn't bad. It's what people do at the Tone Mapping stage that creates cartoon like photos. Tufuse doesn't have tone mapping. It's free too.
__________________
Wayne
Deep in the darkest heart of the East Texas Rain forest.
Quote:
"Leave me alone, I know what I'm doing" Kimi Raikkonen
My Gallery
My Blog-Reborn
FlickrMyBookTwitSpaceFace
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-21-2009   #9
Jamie123
Registered User
 
Jamie123 is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,783
Quote:
Originally Posted by JNewell View Post
I think what he meant was please don't do it with an M8 because it'll frustrate you because the bracketing function is frankly (but not surprisingly) pretty "manual" (I did not say "crude"). You will need a tripod, I think, but I am not very schooled in good HDR field technique.
No, I think what he meant was that hdr is an abomination and that the world doesn't need more of it.

May I add: Please, please, please, please don't do it!

Btw, I may be wrong but I suspect that once the number of hdr pictures in the world has reached a critical mass, it will create a black hole that will destroy the universe.
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-21-2009   #10
user237428934
User deletion pending
 
user237428934 is offline
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,684
No built in bracketing function. I am sure some would call the M8 a P/S camera if it had one ;-) But do you need different exposures? I read that many people do HDR with one raw file. Expose it in the raw converter with -1, 0, +1 and feed the results to the HDR-tool of your choice.
This is really the first time that I read about the combination of HDR and M8.
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-21-2009   #11
bolohead
Joel Cosseboom
 
bolohead's Avatar
 
bolohead is offline
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 242
Don't buy the M8 for its HDR ability. It would be like using the fine china for a backyard barbeque. If you want a camera that processes HDR images, pick up a new Pentax K7, which can do in-camera HDR processing. Paper plates are better for burgers.
__________________
------------------

My Flickr
My RFF Gallery

  Reply With Quote

Old 07-21-2009   #12
mikemyers
Registered User
 
mikemyers is offline
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 55
One of the people I do work for is the owner of a large hotel in Asia. He was shown some HDR photography, and fell in love with it. So, if I want to keep him happy, I get him what he wants.

The Nikon D2x is perfect at this - put it in bracketing mode, turn on high-speed shooting, press the button, and your pre-selected number of photos (3, 5, 7, 9) are taken automatically.

It doesn't matter if I like HDR or not, or you guys like it, or whether it's leading to the end of the world, if I don't get him his HDR images he'll just get them from the person that first showed them to him.
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-21-2009   #13
Gabriel M.A.
My Red Dot Glows For You
 
Gabriel M.A.'s Avatar
 
Gabriel M.A. is offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Paris, Frons
Posts: 9,992
Quote:
Originally Posted by bolohead View Post
Don't buy the M8 for its HDR ability. It would be like using the fine china for a backyard barbeque.
A BBQ is too sophisticated as a comparison with HDR.

I'd say it's like using the fine china for serving nachos.
__________________
Big wig wisdom: "Who the hell wants to hear actors talk?" --Harry Warner, of Warner Bros., 1927

Fellow RFF member: I respect your bandwidth by not posting images larger than 800px on the longest side, and by removing image in a quote.
Together we can combat bandwidth waste (and image scrolling).


My Flickr | (one of) My Portfolio
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-21-2009   #14
Ronald_H
Don't call me Ron
 
Ronald_H's Avatar
 
Ronald_H is offline
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Helmond, The Netherlands
Age: 48
Posts: 1,731
I like doing HDR. Not for the cartoon effect, but to get what a single frame can't capture, dynamic range wise. Museum photos froma tripod for example

The 'Oh God no, it's an abominaton' attitude is to be expected from people who still live in the fifties, a.k.a Leica purists. Small wonder most of them still refuse to shoot in color.

Anyway, I don't own a M8, I use a D200 for HDR. But putting film in the M2 is pretty HDR too
__________________
"The only substitute for Tri-X is more Tri-X"

My Flickr

My regular website: www.lookupinwonder.nl
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-21-2009   #15
dfoo
Registered User
 
dfoo is offline
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 1,921
What is this "color" you speak of?
__________________
M8, M3, ZM Ikon + too many lenses to list.

Some of my work - http://silverprint.posterous.com/
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-21-2009   #16
Jamie123
Registered User
 
Jamie123 is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,783
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronald_H View Post
I like doing HDR. Not for the cartoon effect, but to get what a single frame can't capture, dynamic range wise. Museum photos froma tripod for example

The 'Oh God no, it's an abominaton' attitude is to be expected from people who still live in the fifties, a.k.a Leica purists. Small wonder most of them still refuse to shoot in color.

Anyway, I don't own a M8, I use a D200 for HDR. But putting film in the M2 is pretty HDR too

I actually much prefer color to bw, love photoshop and don't own a Leica. But I did get a 5D II yesterday (so much for the "purist" in me). Nevertheless, HDR makes my eyes vomit.

I read the "HDR done right" argument all the time. But the thing is that people who use this technique with the required subtlety in order to cope with a wide dynamic range in a scene usually don't refer to it as HDR unless they're trying to make an argument.
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-22-2009   #17
tritiated
Registered User
 
tritiated's Avatar
 
tritiated is offline
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 221
Why not just use what works for you already?
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-22-2009   #18
Ronald_H
Don't call me Ron
 
Ronald_H's Avatar
 
Ronald_H is offline
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Helmond, The Netherlands
Age: 48
Posts: 1,731
As I said. not for the effect, but to capture the scene better:








__________________
"The only substitute for Tri-X is more Tri-X"

My Flickr

My regular website: www.lookupinwonder.nl
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-22-2009   #19
Thardy
Registered User
 
Thardy is offline
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamie123 View Post
But the thing is that people who use this technique with the required subtlety in order to cope with a wide dynamic range in a scene usually don't refer to it as HDR unless they're trying to make an argument.

That's true. On Pnet a thread was started about the cartoonish look of HDR and people came out of the woodwork showing many, many great looking shots that had subtle HDR treatment. The shots above are just what I'm talking about.

But , I think there are some people who are going for that surreal look. To each his own.
__________________
Thomas

Flickr

Tumblr

Last edited by Thardy : 07-22-2009 at 02:49.
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-22-2009   #20
gdi
Registered User
 
gdi is offline
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: West-Central Connecticut
Posts: 2,588
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemyers View Post
See: http://www.hdrsoft.com/ for examples...
I wonder what a Draganized HDR image would look like....
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-22-2009   #21
dmr
Registered Abuser
 
dmr's Avatar
 
dmr is offline
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere in Middle America
Posts: 4,520
Don't laugh, but I've been playing around with HDR using bracketed Kodachrome exposures.

About the only down-side I know of to Kodachrome is the high contrast and limited dynamic range.

I don't have any "ready for prime-time" images yet, but I have been playing around with it using shots of a scene I took a few weeks back.

Before anyone throws up, I do agree that HDR is misused more than it is used effectively, and that many so-called HDR images look unrealistic, even cartoonish. That's not my intent here.
__________________
My (NEW) Gallery
My Blog
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-22-2009   #22
uhligfd
Registered User
 
uhligfd is offline
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 535
Ok, someone clue me in: how to do multiple exposures (of exactly the same pic) hand-held?

I am silly, but do we not have to have the same scene, angles, ... from shot to shot for HDR to work?

And once you put your leica, beica or meica - or any camera - on a tripod for a static scene, changing shutter speeds in predetermined over- underexposure settings should be a cinch in manual.

Even if the camera does not have bracketing automation. Setting up the tripod will easily be more cumbersome than over- and underexposing a couple of times.
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-22-2009   #23
dmr
Registered Abuser
 
dmr's Avatar
 
dmr is offline
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere in Middle America
Posts: 4,520
Quote:
Originally Posted by uhligfd View Post
I am silly, but do we not have to have the same scene, angles, ... from shot to shot for HDR to work?
Uh-huh, you sure do.

There's also a problem with "ghosting" where something moves from frame to frame. Some of the cookie-cutter HDR programs supposedly correct for this.

Quote:
And once you put your leica, beica or meica - or any camera - on a tripod for a static scene, changing shutter speeds in predetermined over- underexposure settings should be a cinch in manual.
Yes, it's actually quite simple in theory, take 4-5 shots each at a different shutter speed. I took all at the same F stop so that the DOF and such would be consistent from frame to frame.

Quote:
Even if the camera does not have bracketing automation. Setting up the tripod will easily be more cumbersome than over- and underexposing a couple of times.
Tripods are a pain! My Kodachrome HDR thing will probably be a one-time only project. I probably stood out there (park, buildings in the background, lagoon in the foreground with reflections) for 1/2 hour from start to finish. I used a hand-held light meter and did over and under exposures accordingly.
__________________
My (NEW) Gallery
My Blog
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-22-2009   #24
Gabriel M.A.
My Red Dot Glows For You
 
Gabriel M.A.'s Avatar
 
Gabriel M.A. is offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Paris, Frons
Posts: 9,992
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronald_H View Post
The 'Oh God no, it's an abominaton' attitude is to be expected from people who still live in the fifties, a.k.a Leica purists. Small wonder most of them still refuse to shoot in color.
I must've been born when my parents were in 2nd grade in school

I also didn't know that living in the fifties meant being a Leica purist. Is it fair to say that the "Oh God no, it's a Leica purist" attitude is to be expected from people who live in a Thomas Kinkade print a.k.a. Nikon refinists?
__________________
Big wig wisdom: "Who the hell wants to hear actors talk?" --Harry Warner, of Warner Bros., 1927

Fellow RFF member: I respect your bandwidth by not posting images larger than 800px on the longest side, and by removing image in a quote.
Together we can combat bandwidth waste (and image scrolling).


My Flickr | (one of) My Portfolio
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-22-2009   #25
Michael Da Re
Registered User
 
Michael Da Re is offline
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 240
If your just interested in seeing what a photo would look like in HDR. I recommend a program called Dynamic Photo HDR. It allows you to create a pseudo hdr image from a single .jpg.

Both of these photos were made from a single image. Believe it or not I took them with my cellphone.
hdr1.jpg

hdr2.jpg


Michael
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-23-2009   #26
jaapv
RFF Sponsoring Member.
 
jaapv's Avatar
 
jaapv is offline
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Hellevoetsluis, Netherlands
Posts: 8,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamie123 View Post
No, I think what he meant was that hdr is an abomination and that the world doesn't need more of it.

May I add: Please, please, please, please don't do it!

Btw, I may be wrong but I suspect that once the number of hdr pictures in the world has reached a critical mass, it will create a black hole that will destroy the universe.

A strange attitude to something that is basically an extension of the basic darkroom technique of burning and dodging. Why don't you want to burn all gradient filters too? The dodge/burn tool of CS3 is so lame that one often has to resort to HDR techniques. I hardly ever get any comment on it in images I post. Fortunately CS4 is a lot better, because it is time consuming.
__________________
Jaap

jaapvphotography

Last edited by jaapv : 07-23-2009 at 00:23.
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-23-2009   #27
JNewell
Leica M Recidivist
 
JNewell is offline
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Near Boston, MA
Age: 60
Posts: 1,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamie123 View Post
No, I think what he meant was that hdr is an abomination and that the world doesn't need more of it.

May I add: Please, please, please, please don't do it!

Btw, I may be wrong but I suspect that once the number of hdr pictures in the world has reached a critical mass, it will create a black hole that will destroy the universe.
I guess we're going to have to take away your PC and software, as well as your enlarger, dodging/burning tools, etc.??? I don't see the issue here.
  Reply With Quote

Jus kidd'n
Old 07-23-2009   #28
skibeerr
Registered User
 
skibeerr's Avatar
 
skibeerr is offline
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Melbourne Vic
Age: 57
Posts: 1,075
Jus kidd'n

Quote:
Originally Posted by JNewell View Post
I don't see the issue here.
What, you do not see the fruit of their loins?
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-23-2009   #29
MinorTones
Registered User
 
MinorTones's Avatar
 
MinorTones is offline
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: North Carolina
Age: 38
Posts: 284
http://www.lonelywolf.pl/

These all look very natural and they are done with HDR software.

They are not mine.
__________________
My Gallery

My Blogspot

My Flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-24-2009   #30
ruslan
Registered User
 
ruslan is offline
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 171
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemyers View Post
One of the things I like to do with my cameras is take HDR photos. That's where you take 3, 5, or 7 shots of the same thing, bracketing the exposure. There is special software that puts the final image together, using the best parts of each of the images.

Does the M8 have bracketing? How many shots in a row can it take? Can I do this in "burst" mode?

There's no need to see the images on the LCD. Since I know I can't vary the aperture automatically, can it do this by varying the shutter speed?

If the M8 can not do it, I'll continue to use the D2h and D3 series cameras, that do this perfectly.
Any camera with manual control can do HDR, D3 is a better camera. Many people don't know how to use HDR, even how to use tripod
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-24-2009   #31
Ronald M
Registered User
 
Ronald M is offline
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4,485
HDR looks bad only if you make it look like a cartoon. It does not have to be done that way even if you resort to the programs for help.

If you have a tripod hole and can turn the shutter speed dial, you can do HDR. Just no more cartoons please.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 16:57.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.