Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Gearhead Delights > Repair / Camera Care

Repair / Camera Care This is a good place to discuss the care and repair of your photo gear. You can share Do-It-Yourself repair and maintenance, as well as your recommendations for pro repairs. This new forum was created 4/1/07. PLEASE title your thread wisely, so others searching for a certain make of camera or repair person can find your thread easily!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Leica M5 repair help needed
Old 6 Days Ago   #1
ajtruhan
Registered User
 
ajtruhan is offline
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 95
Leica M5 repair help needed

I have an M5 that needs a new frameline unit or my frameline unit to be recemented. It also has a couple other more normal issues. I’ve tried DAG, Golden Touch, and YYe and none can help. Any thoughts? I’m afraid I’m going to have to sell the body for parts.
  Reply With Quote

Old 6 Days Ago   #2
filmtwit
Desperate but not serious
 
filmtwit's Avatar
 
filmtwit is offline
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: West Coast
Posts: 2,987
Sherry Krauter in New York is the M5 person to go too.
http://www.sherrykrauter.com/

Don't email just call her.
__________________
Instgram
https://www.instagram.com/filmtwit/

The Flickr Stream
http://www.flickr.com/photos/filmtwit/

The Blog (Boring Sidney, Boring)
http://jeffthomasallen.blogspot.com/
  Reply With Quote

Old 6 Days Ago   #3
CameraQuest
Head Bartender
 
CameraQuest is offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: over the hills from Malibu
Posts: 5,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajtruhan View Post
I have an M5 that needs a new frameline unit or my frameline unit to be recemented. It also has a couple other more normal issues. Iíve tried DAG, Golden Touch, and YYe and none can help. Any thoughts? Iím afraid Iím going to have to sell the body for parts.
A new MP finder can be installed into the M5.

not cheap, but a great solution.

Stephen
  Reply With Quote

Old 6 Days Ago   #4
sepiareverb
genius and moron
 
sepiareverb's Avatar
 
sepiareverb is offline
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: St Johnsbury VT
Posts: 8,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by CameraQuest View Post
A new MP finder can be installed into the M5.

not cheap, but a great solution.

Stephen
+1 to this.
__________________
-Bob
  Reply With Quote

Old 6 Days Ago   #5
SolaresLarrave
My M5s need red dots!
 
SolaresLarrave's Avatar
 
SolaresLarrave is offline
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: DeKalb, IL, USA
Age: 59
Posts: 7,475
I have heard this can be done... but then, that you'd need a cannibalized part (not an ordinary VF from any other M model) from another M5. I may be wrong but ask Don Goldberg. Try calling him. He's very direct and picks up the phone himself. Also Sherry. Youxin Ye may not help you. He doesn't work on M5s.

Best of luck!
__________________
-Francisco
Check out
My Leica M4-2 Blog and/or
My Nikon D700 Neophyte's Guide
  Reply With Quote

Old 6 Days Ago   #6
Deardorff38
Registered User
 
Deardorff38 is offline
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 637
Filmtwit & Solares. "Golden Touch" mentioned in the original post is Sherry K.
DAG .....is Don Goldberg....

"I’ve tried DAG, Golden Touch, and YYe and none can help"
  Reply With Quote

Old 6 Days Ago   #7
Huss
Registered User
 
Huss is offline
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Venice, CA
Posts: 7,230
Mine decemented a few years ago and Sherry replaced it w the MP part. At that time DAG was
also an option.
Not a good sign if they no longer do it. And makes me happy that mine was
done.
  Reply With Quote

Old 6 Days Ago   #8
sepiareverb
genius and moron
 
sepiareverb's Avatar
 
sepiareverb is offline
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: St Johnsbury VT
Posts: 8,265
Cameraworks UK or Kanto likely can, but it would take a while.
__________________
-Bob
  Reply With Quote

Old 6 Days Ago   #9
Rob-F
Likes Leicas
 
Rob-F's Avatar
 
Rob-F is offline
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The Show Me state
Age: 78
Posts: 5,897
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajtruhan View Post
I have an M5 that needs a new frameline unit or my frameline unit to be recemented. It also has a couple other more normal issues. Iíve tried DAG, Golden Touch, and YYe and none can help. Any thoughts? Iím afraid Iím going to have to sell the body for parts.
Did any of the three say why they can't? Is it lack of parts?

I agree with filmtwit: I would call Sherry.
__________________
May the light be with you.
  Reply With Quote

Old 6 Days Ago   #10
Rob-F
Likes Leicas
 
Rob-F's Avatar
 
Rob-F is offline
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The Show Me state
Age: 78
Posts: 5,897
Quote:
Originally Posted by CameraQuest View Post
A new MP finder can be installed into the M5.

not cheap, but a great solution.

Stephen
How much of the finder gets replaced? Just the framelines, or can it be set up with a whole .58 MP finder?
__________________
May the light be with you.
  Reply With Quote

Old 6 Days Ago   #11
ajtruhan
Registered User
 
ajtruhan is offline
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by Huss View Post
Mine decemented a few years ago and Sherry replaced it w the MP part. At that time DAG was
also an option.
Not a good sign if they no longer do it. And makes me happy that mine was
done.
They might still do that, but the cost didnít make sense. I have a <134* s/n so ive been advised to give it up. Thanks for the tip.
  Reply With Quote

Old 6 Days Ago   #12
Huss
Registered User
 
Huss is offline
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Venice, CA
Posts: 7,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajtruhan View Post
They might still do that, but the cost didnít make sense. I have a <134* s/n so ive been advised to give it up. Thanks for the tip.
Mine is a 136xxx and it happened.
I honestly would not buy an M5 unless it had the frame set/optics replaced, or I knew for sure that it could be replaced if needed.

Either way I would call DAG before Sherry. DAG had to fix work on my M5 that Sherry messed up.
  Reply With Quote

Old 5 Days Ago   #13
blan01
Registered User
 
blan01 is offline
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 39
My M5( 136xxx) just started to show the same problem, Youxin can replace the finder but he doesn’t work on M5 and CL. Both sherry and Don told me to continue to use it until the whole thing needs to be replaced and it’s going to be an expensive job. In my case, only the bottom left corner of the finder is affected, so I’m still using it.

I would go with DAG , his work is more consistent, in my opinion
  Reply With Quote

Old 5 Days Ago   #14
sepiareverb
genius and moron
 
sepiareverb's Avatar
 
sepiareverb is offline
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: St Johnsbury VT
Posts: 8,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob-F View Post
How much of the finder gets replaced? Just the framelines, or can it be set up with a whole .58 MP finder?
You could put a .58 finder in an M5, finding one might be problematic tho.
__________________
-Bob
  Reply With Quote

Old 5 Days Ago   #15
sanmich
Registered User
 
sanmich's Avatar
 
sanmich is online now
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,348
Quote:
Originally Posted by sepiareverb View Post
You could put a .58 finder in an M5, finding one might be problematic tho.
I asked DAG if a 0.58 finder could be installed in a classic M6, and his answer was that he was almost sure that it was impossible.
Apparently there are some minor differences between the RF in different models that makes it difficult to swap.
__________________
Michael

Gloire a qui n'ayant pas d'ideal sacro-saint se borne a ne pas trop emmerder ses voisins (Brassens)

My site
  Reply With Quote

Old 5 Days Ago   #16
sepiareverb
genius and moron
 
sepiareverb's Avatar
 
sepiareverb is offline
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: St Johnsbury VT
Posts: 8,265
Sherry put a .72 MP finder in my M5, and used the framelines from the M5 so I still had the metering circle. This was about 15 years ago.
__________________
-Bob
  Reply With Quote

Old 5 Days Ago   #17
sanmich
Registered User
 
sanmich's Avatar
 
sanmich is online now
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,348
Quote:
Originally Posted by sepiareverb View Post
Sherry put a .72 MP finder in my M5, and used the framelines from the M5 so I still had the metering circle. This was about 15 years ago.
As a matter of fact, what I asked Don was if he could swap between my M7 0.58 finder and my classic M6 finder.
Maybe the difference is beween the M7 and MP finders?
Don also admitted that he wasn't sure about this.

Maybe I'll contact Sherry and ask her...

BTW, do you remember if the install required something "heavy" like machining?
__________________
Michael

Gloire a qui n'ayant pas d'ideal sacro-saint se borne a ne pas trop emmerder ses voisins (Brassens)

My site
  Reply With Quote

Old 4 Days Ago   #18
sepiareverb
genius and moron
 
sepiareverb's Avatar
 
sepiareverb is offline
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: St Johnsbury VT
Posts: 8,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanmich View Post
...

BTW, do you remember if the install required something "heavy" like machining?
Seemed straightforward, I mailed it down to her and picked it up a couple of weeks later while visiting a friend who lives nearby.
__________________
-Bob
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 00:54.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.