Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Classic Film RangeFinders & Other Classics > Kodak Retina and Ektra Rangefinders

Kodak Retina and Ektra Rangefinders This forum is for 35mm Kodak Retinas and Ektras rangefinders. The Retinas are known for their German engineering, relatively modest price and superb lenses. The Ektras are known as by far the finest 35mm American made rangefinder ever made.

View Poll Results: 5.6 or 4.0
f/5.6 13 72.22%
f/4.0 5 27.78%
Voters: 18. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

35mm lenses (Schneider-Kreuznach)
Old 01-10-2011   #1
Lambo
Registered User
 
Lambo is offline
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 24
Question 35mm lenses (Schneider-Kreuznach)

Hi everyone !

I'm new to RFF and the Kodak Retina IIIC is my first RF camera.
I'm thinking about purchasing one of the 35mm lenses.
So which one would you pick ?

Schneider Retina Curtar Xenon 4/35mm
or
Schneider Retina Curtar 5.6/35mm ?

Is there a difference in image quality ?
Is it possible to close the camera door with the f/5.6 lens ?

Thanks !
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-10-2011   #2
Brian Sweeney
Registered User
 
Brian Sweeney's Avatar
 
Brian Sweeney is offline
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 14,913
Even the F5.6 lens is too big to close the door on the IIIc, probably the same for the IIIC.

The 35/4 was better suited for the original Retina Reflex.

I have both 35/4 and 35/5.6. The latter is my favorite.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-10-2011   #3
Gumby
Registered User
 
Gumby is offline
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2,554
I have both and have found all Retina accessory lenses to be cumbersome enough to use that I don't use any of them. So any difference in IQ isn't an issue for me.
__________________
With kind regards, ed.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-10-2011   #4
Lambo
Registered User
 
Lambo is offline
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Sweeney View Post
I have both 35/4 and 35/5.6. The latter is my favorite.
Why ?
Because of its size/weight ?
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-10-2011   #5
Brian Sweeney
Registered User
 
Brian Sweeney's Avatar
 
Brian Sweeney is offline
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 14,913
Size and weight, the F4 is a "Monster" that uses 58mm filters.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-10-2011   #6
Lambo
Registered User
 
Lambo is offline
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 24
Ok !
I see there are some variations of the F/5.6. Some are all silver with one distance scale and other with two distance scales. Some have a red triangle others don't. What does the triangle mean ? Which one do you have ?
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-10-2011   #7
Brian Sweeney
Registered User
 
Brian Sweeney's Avatar
 
Brian Sweeney is offline
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 14,913
Just to add- The Retina IIIS with the Retina-Curtagon 35/2.8 is much easier to use. The Retina IIIc requires that you "refocus"- focus with the rangefinder, transfer the distance to a secondary scale. Usually, you will stop down and use it as a zone-focus. The F5.6 is more than practical for real use.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-10-2011   #8
Brian Sweeney
Registered User
 
Brian Sweeney's Avatar
 
Brian Sweeney is offline
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 14,913
Optically- probably the same. I will have to dig out the big leather case with a dozen Retinas in it, and lenses... Folding cameras can be stored densely.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-10-2011   #9
Gumby
Registered User
 
Gumby is offline
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2,554
red triangle, if I recall correctly indicates "coated".
__________________
With kind regards, ed.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-10-2011   #10
Lambo
Registered User
 
Lambo is offline
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 24
Thanks Guys !
Gymby,
You voted for the other 35mm ? Why ?
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-10-2011   #11
Gumby
Registered User
 
Gumby is offline
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lambo View Post
Thanks Guys !
Gymby,
You voted for the other 35mm ? Why ?
I didn't vote for either one. Both are too clumsy to use. If I voted, however, it would be for the f/5.6 since it doesn't require an acesory viewfinder.
__________________
With kind regards, ed.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-10-2011   #12
Lambo
Registered User
 
Lambo is offline
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 24
Ah sorry ;-). Good point the external viewfinder ! I guess The f/4 is too big and so one can see the lens in the built-in viewfinder ?
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-10-2011   #13
Gumby
Registered User
 
Gumby is offline
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2,554
I've used the 80mm with the accessory rangefinder. It's OK but only if you range focus like Sweeny suggested. So for the 35mm, it might not matter which one if one doesn't focus!
__________________
With kind regards, ed.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-10-2011   #14
Brian Sweeney
Registered User
 
Brian Sweeney's Avatar
 
Brian Sweeney is offline
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 14,913
My 35/5.6 has the one scale for determining DOF. The 35/4 has the 50mm to 35mm conversion scale on it.

The 35/5.6 is much longer than the 50/2 front module. The difficult accessory to find is the plastic lens case made to hold the 50mm front module when it is taken out.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-10-2011   #15
JPD
J. Patric Dahlén
 
JPD's Avatar
 
JPD is offline
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Northern Sweden
Age: 48
Posts: 423
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lambo View Post
Ok !
I see there are some variations of the F/5.6. Some are all silver with one distance scale and other with two distance scales.
Remember that it's just a depth-of-field scale. When you have focused with the rangefinder as usual, you then transfer the distance reading to the wide-angle scale on the under side of the camera.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-10-2011   #16
crawdiddy
qu'est-ce que c'est?
 
crawdiddy's Avatar
 
crawdiddy is offline
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: left of center
Posts: 1,602
I recently purchased a IIc with the gorgeous 80mm f4 and 35mm f5.6 lenses. Yes, even the 35mm f5.6 is too large to close the lens cover.

I second Brian's comments about the cumbersome nature of focusing (determining distance), and then checking the conversion scale underneath and transferring the distance to that scale. It's not user friendly.

By the way, I have a IIIc (which has f2 Schneider lens) and also the IIc (with f2.8 Schneider). The extra lenses (35mm and 80mm) came with the IIc, and they WILL NOT fit on the IIIc. So, be very careful when acquiring lenses.
__________________
--Dan
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-10-2011   #17
JPD
J. Patric Dahlén
 
JPD's Avatar
 
JPD is offline
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Northern Sweden
Age: 48
Posts: 423
I compared the Retina lenses last summer:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-10-2011   #18
Lambo
Registered User
 
Lambo is offline
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by crawdiddy View Post
By the way, I have a IIIc (which has f2 Schneider lens) and also the IIc (with f2.8 Schneider). The extra lenses (35mm and 80mm) came with the IIc, and they WILL NOT fit on the IIIc. So, be very careful when acquiring lenses.
You are sure about that ?
Some ebay sellers indicate that their lenses fit IIc AND IIIc...


Quote:
Originally Posted by JPD View Post
I compared the Retina lenses last summer:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/
Unfortunately, you didn't compare the two lenses i'm interested in. But these are still nice tests !
Thanks
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-11-2011   #19
Brian Sweeney
Registered User
 
Brian Sweeney's Avatar
 
Brian Sweeney is offline
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 14,913
I do not have any problems switching front elements between the Schneider equipped IIIc and IIC that i currently have. i used to have a IIc, but sold it. again- no problems with front elements. The Rodenstock lenses are not compatible.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-11-2011   #20
Lambo
Registered User
 
Lambo is offline
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 24
I have an other question !
Is it possible to close the door with a filter mounted ?
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-11-2011   #21
JPD
J. Patric Dahlén
 
JPD's Avatar
 
JPD is offline
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Northern Sweden
Age: 48
Posts: 423
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lambo View Post
Unfortunately, you didn't compare the two lenses i'm interested in. But these are still nice tests !
Thanks
I thought the f:4 wide angles were too big, so I didn't buy them.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-11-2011   #22
Gumby
Registered User
 
Gumby is offline
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lambo View Post
I have an other question !
Is it possible to close the door with a filter mounted ?
With the 50mm... yes.
__________________
With kind regards, ed.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-11-2011   #23
Gumby
Registered User
 
Gumby is offline
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Sweeney View Post
(Ther are) not any problems switching front elements between the Schneider equipped IIIc and IIC. The Rodenstock lenses are not compatible.
This is fact!
__________________
With kind regards, ed.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-11-2011   #24
JPD
J. Patric Dahlén
 
JPD's Avatar
 
JPD is offline
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Northern Sweden
Age: 48
Posts: 423
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gumby View Post
With the 50mm... yes.
As long as they are the thin original Retina filters. I use them. Good quality filters.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-11-2011   #25
Gumby
Registered User
 
Gumby is offline
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2,554
Yes, I was making that assumption. Thanks for the clarification!
__________________
With kind regards, ed.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-11-2011   #26
kitaanat
kitaanat
 
kitaanat's Avatar
 
kitaanat is offline
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 259
I've both lens and already compared. The Schneider 5.6/35mm always give me surprising result! but it worth to have both lens in your Retina set.

I'm with Brian, Gumby and other member here that the lens can be switch to another Retinas.

__________________
kitaanat . Kodak Retina IIIC . [郭東成]

We see pictures through our own eyes. We edit it in our brain. If that's a good one, take it with our camera.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-18-2011   #27
Lambo
Registered User
 
Lambo is offline
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 24
Hi guys, thanks agan for all your answers !

Here i am with an other question :
I found a " 32mm push fit / slip on lens hood "



there's this one too
http://cgi.befr.ebay.be/Voigtlander-...c#ht_532wt_754


Do these things can be used on my Retina IIIC ?
Is "32mm push-on" a standard ?

Last edited by Lambo : 01-18-2011 at 01:36.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-18-2011   #28
Gumby
Registered User
 
Gumby is offline
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2,554
No, the IIc and IIIc take a bayonet-mount lenshood for the 50 and 5.6/35. The f/4 lenses take special slip-on hoods that are sometimes a part of the protective case.
__________________
With kind regards, ed.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-18-2011   #29
Lambo
Registered User
 
Lambo is offline
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 24
I found an answer on http://kodak.3106.net/index.php?p=216&cam=911

Another feature of these cameras, indeed of most of the Retinas since 1954, is that the filter thread on the 50mm (and 35mm f/5.6) lens is not a "standard", the only commonly available alternatives to the factory original 29.5mm thread being 32mm push-on items, though just to confuse matters, Kodak refer to their filters for these cameras as "32mm". The factory lenshood, suitable for both 50mm lenses and the 35mm f/5.6, fits in the bayonet mount around the lens and as such is unique to the range, though a 32mm push-on hood will usually prove satisfactory for the 50mm lens.

Last edited by Lambo : 01-18-2011 at 06:13.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-18-2011   #30
JPD
J. Patric Dahlén
 
JPD's Avatar
 
JPD is offline
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Northern Sweden
Age: 48
Posts: 423
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lambo View Post
Hi guys, thanks agan for all your answers !
Here i am with an other question :
I found a " 32mm push fit / slip on lens hood "

Do these things can be used on my Retina IIIC ?
Is "32mm push-on" a standard ?
The IIc/C and IIIc/C have a small piece sticking out a bit around the lens, so a push-on lens hood needs a cut-out to fit. The round one on the picture will fit as it already has a cut-out. You may need to file it down a bit.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg RetLens.jpg (48.1 KB, 5 views)
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-18-2011   #31
Lambo
Registered User
 
Lambo is offline
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 24
But if I have a filter mounted on the lens, do i still need a cut-out ?
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-18-2011   #32
JPD
J. Patric Dahlén
 
JPD's Avatar
 
JPD is offline
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Northern Sweden
Age: 48
Posts: 423
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lambo View Post
But if I have a filter mounted on the lens, do i still need a cut-out ?
No, but the filter mount is thin, so the cut-out will let you push the filter on all the way in.

Last year I removed one of the slitted "clamps" on a 32mm Voigtländer lens hood to use it on my Retina IIc. It works, but doesn't look good, becuase it has a bit of a square shape that will not mount straight on the camera. I wish I used a round lens hood instead. Later I bought the original plastic Retina lens hood with bayonet mount, so now I only use the push-on hood on the 5,6 wideangle.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg RetVoigt.jpg (40.4 KB, 11 views)
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-18-2011   #33
Lambo
Registered User
 
Lambo is offline
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 24
I'm thinking about cutting it like you but I won't cut at the clamp area. I'll try to have it fitted at the good angle. I just wonder if it isn't too hard to do...
You do not have any vignetting with this hood on the 35mm lens ?

Last edited by Lambo : 01-18-2011 at 13:20.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-18-2011   #34
JPD
J. Patric Dahlén
 
JPD's Avatar
 
JPD is offline
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Northern Sweden
Age: 48
Posts: 423
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lambo View Post
I'm thinking about cutting it like you but I won't cut at the clamp area. I'll try to have it fitted at the good angle. I just wonder if it isn't too hard to do...
You do not have any vignetting with this hood on the 35mm lens ?
Sorry, I got confused. I also have a rubber lens hood that works ok with both 50mm and 35mm. I haven't used the Voigtländer hood on the wide angle.

I personally think you should but the round lens hood, as it already has a a cut out. The Voigtländer is of higher quality, chromed brass, and I regret altering it.

But, on the other hand, if you always use filters maybe the hood can be used without a cut out. You can try and see.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-19-2011   #35
Lambo
Registered User
 
Lambo is offline
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 24
I just bought this for 2€ + 4.40€ for shipping



A lot less expensive than the Voigtlander and no cut-out necessary. Not as beautiful though.

I'll buy a Voigt one the day I'll have a Vitessa
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-19-2011   #36
JPD
J. Patric Dahlén
 
JPD's Avatar
 
JPD is offline
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Northern Sweden
Age: 48
Posts: 423
Perfect! It looks pretty wide, so it might work on the 5.6 wide angle as well.

Many front cell focusing lenses have a ptrotruding pin for the infinity stop. Some filter and lens hood manufactures took that into account when they made their mounts, like B+W did here.

Maybe I will try to find a lens hood like that in 27mm for my Balda Baldina. I have a soft plastic 27mm hood, that fits the old 3.5 Retinas, that I don't want to cut.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg baldina.jpg (47.7 KB, 5 views)
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-19-2011   #37
Lambo
Registered User
 
Lambo is offline
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 24
Do you know what's the purpose of this little piece of metal on the Retina ?
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-19-2011   #38
JPD
J. Patric Dahlén
 
JPD's Avatar
 
JPD is offline
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Northern Sweden
Age: 48
Posts: 423
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lambo View Post
Do you know what's the purpose of this little piece of metal on the Retina ?
I don't know and can only speculate. Maybe it's for some accessory device where it's important that it's mounted in a specific way, or maybe it's just there to make it easier to see where the red dot is making it faster to put the lens on. Maybe someone here knows the true answer?

The front part of the Xenar on the Retina Ib/IB also have the bayonet, but here the small tab is thinner and bent to lock the lens in place (the wide and tele lenses can't be used on the Xenar cameras) One can easily lift it up with a fingernail to unlock the bayonet if the lens needs cleaning.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg RetIB.jpg (59.0 KB, 9 views)
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-19-2011   #39
Lambo
Registered User
 
Lambo is offline
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 24
Is it possible to remove the 50mm without the plastic case for it ?
I have some dust there.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-19-2011   #40
JPD
J. Patric Dahlén
 
JPD's Avatar
 
JPD is offline
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Northern Sweden
Age: 48
Posts: 423
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lambo View Post
Is it possible to remove the 50mm without the plastic case for it ?
I have some dust there.
I put the 50mm in the case for the 35mm when I use the wide angle, but any clean surface or small box will do.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:02.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.