Kodak Panatomic X Shooting/Developing
Old 03-27-2018   #1
ash13brook

Kodak Panatomic X Shooting/Developing

A friend gave me all of his film. It has all been freezer kept.
Among the mix are two 36 exposure rolls and one hundred foot roll of Panatomic X.
For now, I'm going to assume it's still good.
I had just started in photography when this film was discontinued, so I have no experience with it other than maybe shooting a couple of rolls way back then (1989-1991?).
I have all I need to roll it up.
What I need is advice on shooting it and developing it.
I think I'll be shooting it in a Leica "on the street".
Do I shoot it at box speed?
What is a good developer to maintain the super fine grain?

Thanks,
Matt

My Leica stuff
http://gallery.leica-users.org/v/ash13brook/

My Flickr
http://www.flickr.com/photos/ash13brook/
-----------------
Leica M4-P, M7, 50mm Summicron, 28mm Elmarit - Asph
Olympus XA, XA3, XA4
Voigtlander VF 101
Canonet QL-17
Yashica GSN
Fed5b, Jupiter 12 35mm/2.8
Kodak Retina1a
(I think I have a problem)

Old 03-27-2018   #2
davidnewtonguitars
Family Snaps

Matt, I wish someone would tell me to come get his freezer film! And Pan X, what a find.
It has been 40 years since I shot a roll of that, and it wasn't many rolls, as Plus X was the thing then, so I'm not giving any advice, but I will be listening in.

Old 03-27-2018   #3
Bill Clark

When I used Pan X I tried a few different developers, including Microdol X and D-76. I settled on D-76 as it served me well for what I was trying to accomplish with the film. All I used back then was 35mm film as my enlarger wasn’t capable of medium format or any other size and I didn’t allocate any moola for the larger stuff.

I soon moved on with film as my photography needed a higher speed film. Plus-X was a good all around film for me back then. To me Ilfords FP-4 Plus is the same as Plus-X. And I can still buy the Ilford film.

Old 03-27-2018   #4
Greyscale