Leica IIIg - film advance slipping ?
Old 10-21-2018   #1
Luddite Frank
Registered User
 
Luddite Frank's Avatar
 
Luddite Frank is offline
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,439
Leica IIIg - film advance slipping ?

After having it for nearly 6 months, I finally took my "new" Leica IIIg out shooting today.

The camera is in excellent cosmetic condition, and appears to be in very good operating condition as well.

I've been shooting Barnacks for a little over ten years now.

I stopped at Steamtown National Historic Site, our local railroad museum, this afternoon to burn some film.

It was about 40 degrees F, with a brisk breeze.

I was about 10 exposures into the roll, when it felt as though the film advance "felt funny"... it seemed to lose some resistance, about halfway through the shutter cocking.

I buried the lens hood in my black jacket, and released the shutter, and wound again, watching the rewind knob. It turn a little bit, then stopped as the resistance lightened on the wind-knob.

Repeated releasing the shutter with the lens capped, and wound again... this time it seemed to advance a full frame.

I shot another image, then the wind seemed to slip again, so I gave up on it, as the park was about to close.

Is there some sort of "slip-clutch" incorporated into the film-wind mechanism of the IIIg ?

Everything else about this camera seems like it is "right"... no tool marks on any of the screws...

Thanks...

Luddite Frank
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-21-2018   #2
xayraa33
rangefinder user and fancier
 
xayraa33's Avatar
 
xayraa33 is offline
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5,865
For starters things to check are :

Could be the film is sticking in the film cassette, OR
The film is not loaded properly on the take up spool and the sprockets. Make sure you push the film leader all the way onto the take up spool and just be sure the edge holes of the film engages the sprockets .

Also there are two "dogs" or latches one on the wind shaft, one on the shutter drum spindle that engage with one another.

If that is not occurring , then it could be that there is a piece of film stuck in that area that is preventing the shutter spindle from going back to the proper position when you take your finger off the shutter button ... or the return spring is weak or maybe a bit loose.
__________________
My Gallery
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-21-2018   #3
bluesun267
Registered User
 
bluesun267's Avatar
 
bluesun267 is offline
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 217
Check to make sure the screw is tight on the A-R switch. Sometimes these come loose and allow the clutch to slip. Should be that simple.
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-21-2018   #4
Robert Lai
Registered User
 
Robert Lai is offline
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,637
This happened to me with a IIIF, due to a loose AR switch.

Set the switch to R, make sure the film can rewind. Then tighten the screw. Use the correct size screwdriver head, and maintain constant pressure so that it doesn't slip out and scratch your camera.


Now when you put it to A, the film should wind properly.
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-21-2018   #5
davidnewtonguitars
Family Snaps
 
davidnewtonguitars's Avatar
 
davidnewtonguitars is offline
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Beaumont, TX
Posts: 1,394
The wind knob can also slip on the take-up shaft if the grub screw becomes loose in the knob. If this is the fault, the knob will eventually tighten down on the shaft and no longer turn. It is an easy fix though.
__________________
Leica M2 / 7artisans 35-f2 / Leitz Summitar
http://davidnewtonguitars.squarespace.com/
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-21-2018   #6
Mr_Flibble
Registered User
 
Mr_Flibble's Avatar
 
Mr_Flibble is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Lowlands
Age: 42
Posts: 4,099
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidnewtonguitars View Post
The wind knob can also slip on the take-up shaft if the grub screw becomes loose in the knob. If this is the fault, the knob will eventually tighten down on the shaft and no longer turn. It is an easy fix though.
I had that issue with a IIIc a few years back, when I fixed it I had failed to properly reset the ratchet paul on the gear underneath. The sprockets would pull back the film towards the cassette if I didn't wind it in one go.

As to Luddite Frank's issue, It sounds like the AR switch might be the culprit as stated above.
__________________
Rick - In Tabulas Argenteas Refero
Loaded with film: Leica IIIc and a Graphic 23 roll film holder
Latest Toys: Kodak Auto Graphic Jr, Clarus MS-35
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-22-2018   #7
David Hughes
David Hughes
 
David Hughes's Avatar
 
David Hughes is offline
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,479
FWIW, there has to be a slipping clutch mechanism on mechanical cameras as the take-up spool gets fatter and so would pull more and more film through and tear it as the sprockets only advance the same amount each time.

I've not got a IIIg so can't comment further but, in your shoes, I'd be looking at the centre of the take-up spool's spindle or whatever is there.

Sorry I can't say more.

Regards, David
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-22-2018   #8
Graybeard
Longtime IIIf User
 
Graybeard is offline
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hudson Valley
Posts: 450
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Lai View Post
This happened to me with a IIIF, due to a loose AR switch.

Set the switch to R, make sure the film can rewind. Then tighten the screw. Use the correct size screwdriver head, and maintain constant pressure so that it doesn't slip out and scratch your camera.

Now when you put it to A, the film should wind properly.
Ditto on the AR switch as a potential source of the problem.

I had the same thing happen with my IIIg and, much earlier, with a IIIf.

The switch needn't be loose to cause trouble, it may just not be fully in the "A" position. One can push the lever slightly out of proper position when putting the camera into a bag or a pocket. This was the case with my camera.
__________________
My Gallery
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-22-2018   #9
Luddite Frank
Registered User
 
Luddite Frank's Avatar
 
Luddite Frank is offline
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,439
Thanks all for the replies - I will check the A-R switch first, then dig deeper if necessary.

I have about 1/2 a roll of exposed film in it, so I'll try the outside-stuff before I re-wind and open it up.

It is loaded with Fujicolor 400; never had trouble with Fuji tearing at the sprockets before...

Will update when I learn more.

Regards,

LF
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 13:34.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.