Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Nikon Mirrorless

Nikon Mirrorless Overdue about 3 years, the Nikon Mirrorless system finally arrived in 2018!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Turn off the VR for long exposures
Old 11-15-2018   #1
Huss
Registered User
 
Huss is offline
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Venice, CA
Posts: 7,610
Turn off the VR for long exposures

Perhaps others are aware of this, but VR is terrible for sharpness at long exposures.
Scanning film at base ISO, such that I do, results in timings in the seconds per exposure.
This one was 6 secs @ ISO 64 @f11. With VR on (in body, 60mm Micro G lens, FTZ adapter), it's blurry.
With VR off, sharp.
I am using the ES-2 film holder, 60mm G lens, FTZ, Z7, hand held:





  Reply With Quote

Old 11-15-2018   #2
bmattock
Registered User
 
bmattock's Avatar
 
bmattock is offline
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Detroit Area
Age: 58
Posts: 10,675
VR should be turned off for any stable platform as well. For example, on a tripod.

Hand-holding 6 seconds is impressive, nothing I would even attempt, so well done.
__________________
Immanentizing the eschaton since 1987.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-15-2018   #3
css9450
Registered User
 
css9450's Avatar
 
css9450 is offline
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,916
You're doing 6 seconds hand-held? Surely I am reading that wrong.
EDIT: I just realized the film holder is attached to the lens so maybe it doesn't matter....
__________________
Nikon S2, S3, F, F2, F3, FM2, FA, N90S, D80, D7000, D750, Sony a6000, Canon IIf, Leica CL, Tower type 3, Zorki 4, Vito B, Perkeo II, Rollei 35....
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-15-2018   #4
Huss
Registered User
 
Huss is offline
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Venice, CA
Posts: 7,610
Quote:
Originally Posted by css9450 View Post
You're doing 6 seconds hand-held? Surely I am reading that wrong.
EDIT: I just realized the film holder is attached to the lens so maybe it doesn't matter....
Exactly, the film holder is rigidly attached to the lens, essentially one piece.
So I can wave that thing around and still get a steady shot.

Usually the exposures are about 1/2 sec, but I was using my ceiling light as a light source not my usual light pad, as I was just testing the camera to make sure it is ok for film scanning. Cuz now I can sell my D850.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-15-2018   #5
PaulDalex
Dilettante artist
 
PaulDalex's Avatar
 
PaulDalex is offline
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Rome, Italy
Age: 74
Posts: 466
I use a powerful lamp and I get exposures of 1/30-1/80 at iso 200 and F8
Besides I have no VR at all
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-15-2018   #6
Huss
Registered User
 
Huss is offline
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Venice, CA
Posts: 7,610
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pistach View Post
I use a powerful lamp and I get exposures of 1/30-1/80 at iso 200 and F8
Besides I have no VR at all
I use ISO 64 - 2 stops less than ISO200, and f11 - one stop less than f8.
3 stops less exposure than you, so pretty much your powerful lamp is equal to me using my lightpad.

Never used VR before as my other cameras did not have it. So this was an interesting experiment.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-16-2018   #7
willie_901
Registered User
 
willie_901's Avatar
 
willie_901 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,307
Here's some data with the Z7 with a Nikon 180 mm f/2.8 lens. But, the longest shutter time was 1/60s.

IBIS tests.

Shutter shock data

IBIS with a Nikon S 24-70/4 – hand held.

Here the longest shutter time was 1/20 s.
__________________
Basically, I mean, ah—well, let’s say that for me anyway when a photograph is interesting, it’s interesting because of the kind of photographic problem it states—which has to do with the . . . contest between content and form.
Garry Winogrand
williamchuttonjr.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-16-2018   #8
PaulDalex
Dilettante artist
 
PaulDalex's Avatar
 
PaulDalex is offline
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Rome, Italy
Age: 74
Posts: 466
Hi Huss,
what shutter speed?
Actually I have a big problem with my lamp because I will need to protect my eyes or risk some damage going forward to archive my slides
Here is a link:
https://www.amazon.it/gp/product/B01...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-16-2018   #9
Huss
Registered User
 
Huss is offline
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Venice, CA
Posts: 7,610
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pistach View Post
Hi Huss,
what shutter speed?
Actually I have a big problem with my lamp because I will need to protect my eyes or risk some damage going forward to archive my slides
Here is a link:
https://www.amazon.it/gp/product/B01...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I use this

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

at iso 64, f11, pointing the camera directly at it, depending on negative density shutter speed varies from 1/4 to 1 sec

My VR test was just pointed at my ceiling light which had a much lower intensity due to distance etc which resulted in the 6 sec exposure.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-18-2019   #10
ColSebastianMoran
( IRL Richard Karash )
 
ColSebastianMoran's Avatar
 
ColSebastianMoran is offline
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,339
Huss, this is an exotic case. VR doesn't know the Negative is being held rigid-to-the-camera while whole rig moves during hand held exposure. It's trying to compensate as though you are pointed at a fixed scene.

I say, "Turn off VR when using the Nikon Digitizer."
__________________
Col. Sebastian Moran, ret. (not really)

In Classifieds Now: Nothing.
Use this link to leave feedback for me.

Named "Best heavy-game shooter in the Eastern Empire." Clubs: Anglo-Indian, Tankerville, and Bagatelle Card Club.
Sony E/FE, Nikon dSLR, and iPhone digital. Misc film.
Birds, portraits, events, family. Mindfulness, reflection, creativity, and stance.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-18-2019   #11
Huss
Registered User
 
Huss is offline
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Venice, CA
Posts: 7,610
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColSebastianMoran View Post
Huss, this is an exotic case. VR doesn't know the Negative is being held rigid-to-the-camera while whole rig moves during hand held exposure. It's trying to compensate as though you are pointed at a fixed scene.

I say, "Turn off VR when using the Nikon Digitizer."
Actually Nikon just announced a recall for VR issues on the Z cameras!
Not all are affected but mine is. One checks by entering the camera's serial # on Nikon's site. I dropped it off yesterday, they said it will be ready in a week.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-18-2019   #12
ColSebastianMoran
( IRL Richard Karash )
 
ColSebastianMoran's Avatar
 
ColSebastianMoran is offline
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,339
Quote:
Originally Posted by Huss View Post
Actually Nikon just announced a recall for VR issues on the Z cameras!
Not all are affected but mine is. One checks by entering the camera's serial # on Nikon's site. I dropped it off yesterday, they said it will be ready in a week.
Good luck with repairs. Bravo Nikon for identifying problem and recalling.
__________________
Col. Sebastian Moran, ret. (not really)

In Classifieds Now: Nothing.
Use this link to leave feedback for me.

Named "Best heavy-game shooter in the Eastern Empire." Clubs: Anglo-Indian, Tankerville, and Bagatelle Card Club.
Sony E/FE, Nikon dSLR, and iPhone digital. Misc film.
Birds, portraits, events, family. Mindfulness, reflection, creativity, and stance.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-21-2019   #13
albertospa
Registered User
 
albertospa's Avatar
 
albertospa is offline
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Italy
Posts: 81
Do any of you use the camera to scan 6x6 film? With which tool?
__________________
Ciao
Alberto

website https://www.albertospa.com/

flickr http://www.flickr.com/photos/albertospa/
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-21-2019   #14
Huss
Registered User
 
Huss is offline
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Venice, CA
Posts: 7,610
Quote:
Originally Posted by albertospa View Post
Do any of you use the camera to scan 6x6 film? With which tool?
Yes. I use a copystand, light pad and lomo digitliza film holder.

and negativelabpro.com for film conversion.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-22-2019   #15
albertospa
Registered User
 
albertospa's Avatar
 
albertospa is offline
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Italy
Posts: 81
Thank you Huss. Can the Lomo digitliza film holder also be used with a common plane scanner?
__________________
Ciao
Alberto

website https://www.albertospa.com/

flickr http://www.flickr.com/photos/albertospa/
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-22-2019   #16
Arved
Registered User
 
Arved's Avatar
 
Arved is offline
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by albertospa View Post
Thank you Huss. Can the Lomo digitliza film holder also be used with a common plane scanner?
"It's the first of its kind and compatible with most flatbed scanners available in the market." - https://shop.lomography.com/en/digit...-scanning-mask (emphasis added)

I don't see an advantage over the 120 film mask for my Canon Canoscan 9000F. Am I missing something?

Respectfully,

- Arved
__________________
Currently shooting:
  • Yashicamat 124G loaded with Ilford HP-5 Plus
  • Nikon F5 loaded with Fujicolor Superia X-Tra 400
  • Canon 7 w/Jupiter 12 35/2.8 loaded with Fujicolor Superia X-Tra 400
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-22-2019   #17
dourbalistar
Registered User
 
dourbalistar's Avatar
 
dourbalistar is offline
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 2,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arved View Post
"It's the first of its kind and compatible with most flatbed scanners available in the market." - https://shop.lomography.com/en/digit...-scanning-mask (emphasis added)

I don't see an advantage over the 120 film mask for my Canon Canoscan 9000F. Am I missing something?

Respectfully,

- Arved
Just a few lines above your quote... Overlapping exposures and panoramas, for example?
__________________
I like my lenses sharp as a tank and built like a tack.

flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-22-2019   #18
Huss
Registered User
 
Huss is offline
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Venice, CA
Posts: 7,610
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arved View Post
"It's the first of its kind and compatible with most flatbed scanners available in the market." - https://shop.lomography.com/en/digit...-scanning-mask (emphasis added)

I don't see an advantage over the 120 film mask for my Canon Canoscan 9000F. Am I missing something?

Respectfully,

- Arved
It's just a film holder that uses magnets to hold the film and keep it flat.
If you have a film holder that works there is no reason to change.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-24-2019   #19
Arved
Registered User
 
Arved's Avatar
 
Arved is offline
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 40
Thanks for the quick reply.

- Arved
__________________
Currently shooting:
  • Yashicamat 124G loaded with Ilford HP-5 Plus
  • Nikon F5 loaded with Fujicolor Superia X-Tra 400
  • Canon 7 w/Jupiter 12 35/2.8 loaded with Fujicolor Superia X-Tra 400
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:20.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.