Compatibility of Nikon S / Contax RF lenses on Leica M with Amedeo Adapter

jonmanjiro

Staff member
Local time
5:18 PM
Disclaimer: I thought about starting this thread in the Nikon forum, but decided to start it in this forum so it can be a combined resource for both Nikon and Contax mount lenses.

Background: Lately, there's a lot of interest in Amedeo type adapters for mounting Nikon S-mount lenses and old Contax mount lenses on M-mount bodies, so its about time we had a registry of what lenses can/cannot be mounted and used on M-mount bodies via these types of adapters. Feel free to add more information and fill in any gaps, especially concerning Contax lenses as I have no experience there.

Compatibility: Generally speaking, all internal mount 5cm/50mm lenses, and I think most external mount 5cm/50mm and longer lenses, work fine (although confirmation is needed on some lenses). It's the wide angle lenses with large rear elements that create problems. Below is a list of Nikon S-mount lenses (I may have missed some so please add them if I have) with a comment on compatibility for each lens.

For reference, here's a list of the Nikkor lens designations. In the case of the Nikkor wides, "W" just means "wide".

T= three elements
Q= four elements
P= five elements
H= six elements
S= seven elements
O= eight elements
N= nine elements
U= ten elements
UD= eleven elements

NIKON S-MOUNT COMPATIBILITY LIST

S-MOUNT NIKKORS

Nikkor-O 2.1cm f4 (NO - rear element too large, interferes with rangefinder mechanism)
W-Nikkor 2.5cm f4 (NO - will mount but cannot be focused)
W-Nikkor 2.8cm f3.5 (YES - will mount and focus from infinity to 6ft, but may come into contact with focus cam between 6ft and 3ft)
W-Nikkor 3.5cm f3.5 (YES - will mount and focus properly)
W-Nikkor 3.5cm f2.5 (YES - will mount and focus properly)
W-Nikkor 3.5cm f1.8 (vintage/reissue) (NO - rear element too large, interferes with rangefinder mechanism)