FE2 Battery Life?

Deep Fried

Established
Local time
11:49 PM
I have an FE2 body that I put fresh cells into over a year ago (maybe 2 years...). I think I shot two rolls and then it has sat on a shelf. I picked it up the other day and cells are dead. I have very little experience with Nikon film bodies. I have owned 3 Pentax K1000 and batteries lasted seemingly forever. Do I have a problem with the body, or do they suck batteries while sitting? Just wondering what is normal. It was stored with a body cap on and advance lever pushed in.

I have two FE2s that I have owned since about 1987 or so. I would say that is fairly consistent with the battery life I get. I can shoot a lot of rolls on a fresh battery, but sitting on the shelf they are apt to go dead in a year or two. batteries only have a certain shelf life. And maybe the camera drains it a bit when sitting idle, I'm not sure about that.

Don't know about the specific model, but it is not a brand issue as you are alluding to. I had a NIKON FE for more than 20 years and I only recall replacing battery 2-3 times. My M6 on the other hand is on its 3rd set after only 6 months (mostly because i forget to set the shutter dial to B when I store the wound camera in my bag).

I have an FE2 also. I have noticed that if the camera goes unused, I get about 2 yrs of life from fresh batteries. When I was using the camera often, the batteries seemed to last longer.

Thanks gents. Puts my mind at ease

Shot the K1000's in University many years ago. I was given the first by my Dad who bought it at a garage sale for five bucks. I shot it all through art school and never changed the batteries it had in it. I sold it maybe a year ago and that same set of batteries still ran the meter. That was over 15 years on the same battery. So, that is what I'm comparing to! That K had a needle that moved, and nothing else. I guess there is a difference in power usage depending on model.

Jeff