How do you post process your B&W film images?

BobPS

Established
Local time
7:01 AM
Hi guys,
Here's another "how do you" question from me.

I look at the B&W pictures in the gallery and also samples of B&W pictures taken with certain lenses which often posted in the forum. My B&W pictures do not look anywhere near like those pictures:bang:

I'm not talking about composition or exposure or technical stuffs, but I'm talking about the tonality or color (I don't know what the right term is) of the B&w pictures. My B&W pictures are, well, just black and white, while some of the pictures I see here taken by some talented members are not just black and white. There are shades of blacks and whites... I don't know what the term is or how to describe it, I hope you guys follow me:eek:

I'm new to B&W photography. I have only shot several rolls of B&W films and had them developed at the local lab, one of a few local labs that still process B&W films. I'm really not satisfy with my B&W images, they're just craps, that's why after several rolls I decided to stick with color films. The other reason is I find it's difficult to take pictures in B&W.

But then, I also don't want to give up, so yesterday I bought 10 rolls of Kodak TMax and decided to learn to shoot B&W.

The question I have to you guys are these: those B&W pictures in the gallery or in the threads, how do you post process them? Do you develop them yourself? scan them yourself? Do you PP it with photoshop or lightroom?

Thanks,
Bob

Film selection is important for me ... no amount of messing around with Tri-x in post is going to make it look like Neopan and vice versa. Adox films have the most beautiful mid tones I think I've seen when you get it right ... but shoot it for the wrong subject material and it just doesn't work.

Personally I don't and have never particularly liked the look of Tmax.

It's a jungle out there! :D