Is your latest camera strictly necessary?

Local time
10:49 AM
The last camera I bought was a Pentax K-1. I kinda bought it as a less expensive alternative to a Sony. And I have an emotional connection to Pentax's lenses, particularly the SMC-A's of the 80's and 90's that were selling at the time for a song. But I had it out last weekend and found myself asking, "is there something magical about the Pentax pixey dust in these images, or would an older camera have done just as well?"

So I am asking you all: are you getting the quality or ease-of-use jump that you thought you would out of your last purchase?

My last purchase was an Xpan II. It was most certainly not necessary, but I sure am enjoying it. I'm just a hobbyist, though, so to some degree "enjoyment" is the only important result of my photography, and the final images are only part of that.

Ooh, interesting question. My latest camera purchase is an Olympus OM-2n, which is definitely not necessary... especially when I think of acquiring more lenses for the system (I have none but the 50mm 1.8 it came with). In fact I question myself as to why I bought the camera. It's a very nice camera, but it wasn't the most practical purchase.