M8 is on the way...

hipsterdufus

Photographer?
Local time
6:33 PM
So, I've got an M8 on the way after lusting for one for years. Besides the obvious stuff (UV/IR cut filters, crop factor, etc.), what are some of the quirks that I should be looking out for with this camera?

I primarily plan on using it for black and white, so I'm not overly concerned about color performance. It seems that the performance in black and white is quite good at high ISOs (particularly for a camera of its age), but the reviews seem somewhat mixed.

Any tips and tricks to get the most out of it? Thanks.

Get new batteries, rotate them often, replace them often. The M8 strongly dislikes sour batteries haha.

Other than that I think you’ve got it licked!

Beautiful cameras to use and to hold.
I’ve had two Black Chrome and one Chrome. Really loved that chrome!

I have been using an M8 for several years now, and I have had no issues with off-brand batteries. My M8 works much better than my M9 (which only works fine with OEM batteries).

The framelines take some getting used to. You will get more in the image than you might expect... otherwise, enjoy. We look forward to seeing some images!

I use my M8 for B&W at 1250 ISO and like the results. Have been using it for 13 years
without any problem. Mainly use CL now for autofocus as I have 83 year old eyes but
M8 will stay with me for B&W.
Dan

If you get it with non-Leica batteries always keep spare and charged with camera.
If you will take two exposures by holding shutter button, M8 will lock and only another battery will unlock it.

I was never fascinated by M8 b/w, it was just cleaner images comparing to CMOS.
I enjoyed M8 colors even with retro DR (and even without IR cut filter) and IR capabilities with correct filter.

Somehow M8 images looks even sharper than my M-E 220 images.
Get Industar 69 28 2.8 for it. Price and performance are unmatched by any other lens.