Need help with enlarging lens issue.

danwilly

Established
Local time
9:02 AM
After about ten years I got my enlarging and darkroom equipment out of storage. Alas, the enlarger did not survive the damp conditions. After scouring photo shops around the state I scored a Chromega C760 enlarger. It didn't come with any lenses and I had my lenses from my old setup, a 50 and a 75mm. On my old enlarger I was able to make prints up to 11 by 14 but with this new enlarger the same lenses made a much smaller footprint. I put in the 75 mm but even with that, I have to run the head way up to get an 8by10 footprint. It is also a crappy lens. So I ordered a 135 mm lens off ebay. It is an excellent lens but its footprint was somewhere between my 50 and 75, not enough to make an 8 by 10. I am stumped. There must be something unique to this enlarger that makes it difficult to get a good match. I feel like a beginner here. What do I need to make this all work.

What size negatives are we talking about?

Also the longer the lens, the narrower the angle of view, the further up you will have to set the enlarger head for a given size print from a given size negative.

To make large prints without raising the head too high you need a shorter focal length lens, not longer.
Try using the 50mm lens. If that is unsatisfactory there are 40mm focal length enlarging lenses available.

Chris

For 35mm negatives you'll need a 50mm enlarging lens. You can do it too with a 75mm, but it is inconvenient because you have to raise the head of the enlarger higher up.

When enlarging 35mm negatives a special 35mm enlarger is the most convenient. In Europe you can get now Leitz Focomat 1c or Valoy II enlargers for next to nothing; I don't know how the situation is in the US.

Erik.