Original M Monochrom Still a Good Buy?

Nathan King

Established
Local time
1:30 AM
I have been photographing with film Leicas for several years but am looking at a digital Leica. The obvious choice for me is the Monochrom since I can't remember the last time I took a color photograph. My budget would require me to purchase a used original model. Does this seem like a smart idea given that digital models probably won't age as well as a film body? How likely would it be that I would run into the sensor corrosion issue? Having "only" 18 megapixels is a complete non-issue given that I only print up to 16x20.

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated!

one should be so lucky as to run into sensor corrosion issues. gets you a new sensor.

the only reason to consider not getting an M9 based camera would be the old LCD screen, loud shutter, and generally slower more awkward feeling operation.

Nathan, no one really knows the odds of encountering sensor corrosion. From the web you'd think it's most of them, but who knows? But Leica will repair it, regardless of owner, so the only concern would be time without the camera.

Granted, the LCD is old tech, but the size doesn't concern me because I don't use it much. If it had LiveView, that would be different.

I think the thing I'd be asking is, would it be better to purchase a used M240? They don't cost much more and you'd have no sensor issue, more pixels, LiveView, and the option for color. At least this would be my thinking. Not sure what I would do.

John

I think it's still a fantastic camera, and you could probably use it for many more years to come and not be disappointed with it.

That said, I personally found the camera good to about ISO 400 -- above that, I wasn't too crazy about the image results (but that might just be a personal thing). My prints are generally 11"x16", and anything that I printed from this camera's files looked great.