Plaubel Makina 67

chrisa

Local time
8:29 PM
Hello everyone.

I just received my first makina which I am super excited to test out.

But trying to load the film seems so hard.

The film spool rod will only lock in if inhold down the film in place.

Then when winding it seems very tough to wind on to empty spool. Once the back is down it seems smoother.

Is this normal?

I would almost say the film tension pads seem tight on the roll but really I am not a technician or even close to being an expert.

The camera is in mint condition otherwise.

Any experienced help would be greatly appreciated as I would like to either keep or send back asap.

Thank you

I just started shooting mine last month. The advance lever does feel pretty tight but just as about the same tension as felt on my Pentax 67. The negative spacings look good to me, however, so I'm not concerned.

Yes Chrisa, the fitting of the film in to the back sounds pretty normal. The Makina has tighter tolerances there than a Rolleiflex for example. The top spool teeth on my 670 are hard to hand turn too.
The 670 winding mechanism is somewhat different so i can't comment on that.

A bit of hearsay, as I have no personal experiences with the camera:
Everybody I know who owned this camera loved it and the results they got! And just about everybody appeared to be frustrated by its frequent need for service.
Before buying this camera, you need to know where you would comfortably send it for service because sooner or later you will have to send it in.
If you are not confident it is working as it should, it is likely in need of service - because it should feel great to use.

I see

I am comparing against my mamiya 7 which seems silky smooth.

The makina just seems so tough to wind hahah

Are all the models similar?

Thank you so much for the info. I feel a little better knowing it's not just my camera. I would hate to send it back but I dont want to have to shell out tons of cash just for a fix.