The Incomparable Tom Abrahamsson: A warmhearted genius who loved people

Jason Schneider

the Camera Collector
Local time
6:19 PM
The incomparable Tom Abrahamsson: A warmhearted genius
He loved photography, cameras, lenses, and most of all—people

Jason Schneider

Anyone who ever encountered the irrepressible Tom Abrahamsson was sure to experience at least two aspects of his unique and remarkable spirit: his infectious joie de vivre and his abiding passion for all aspects of photography, especially shooting film with M-series Leicas. A consummate mechanical design engineer and self-taught precision machinist, he invented and fabricated a series of elegant, beautifully made trigger advance Rapidwinders that are far simpler in design, and generally held to be more reliable and smoother operating than the corresponding Leitz offerings. Indeed, even the highly esteemed engineers at Leitz conceded as much, and incorporated Tom’s ideas into their later winders. Not surprisingly Abrahamsson’s limited edition, virtually hand-made units have attained the status of cult classics that often fetch fancy prices at auctions and on the used market. A more plentiful and affordable example of Tom’s ingenuity is the Abrahamsson Softie, a soft release that screws into the standard Leica shutter release. It provides a convex surface that allows you to touch the release at the edge for fast shooting and facilitates hooking your index finger over the convex surface so you can use the 2nd joint of the finger to control the pressure on the release—a technique familiar to target shooters. Tom also devised a right-hand grip for M Leicas that’s considered one of the best ones ever.

rs=w:1440,h:1440.jpg - Click image for larger version  Name:	rs=w:1440,h:1440.jpg Views:	0 Size:	88.2 KB ID:	4813815

The irrepressible Tom Abrahamsson with some of his many cameras. He used them all and if any languished for more than a year he sold of traded them!