Z7II or 850?

Local time
4:44 AM
Here's the thing: when I go on DPReview and I look at the studio set up scene, I cannot tell the difference between the detail resolution of the Z7II -- the new shiny bling, bling -- and the Nikon D850 -- the tried and true -- at their native ISO settings. Heck, I can't even tell the difference at ISO3200. So here's the question -- if you have a choice, what do you do? I have been buying Nikon lenses since 1989 and have pretty much all the F-mount glass I would ever need. But the Z-mount is clearly the wave of the future.

On the one hand I could get a used D850 for around $1,400 and have all that large file quality goodness, On the other, if you spend the mid-bux on a great used D850, you're that much further away from being able to afford the big-bux $2,500 (used)/$2,900(new) latest and greatest, wave of the future-est. But/and if you go for the new-shiny, you probably also need new glass, which puts the whole new-ness just that much farther out of reach.

So what's RFF's take on this? Bite the bullet and move forward? Or incrementalism?

I believe your F glass will work fine on the Z with an adaptor. You could start there. I read that the native Z glass is excellent.
For myself, I went Sony mirrorless to use legacy lenses. No regrets. Already had the glass and adapters are cheap.

Nikon is rumored to be coming out with a new series of cameras for the Z line-up. The recent price reductions on the current models is usually a good predictor. I'd wait a couple of months before spending over $2K on a Z7-II.

I bought a Z5 for use with legacy lenses. 24MPixels is enough resolution for the older lenses. At some point, you are paying extra for a higher resolution sensor to store a larger file that resolves blur. For the $1K price of the Z5, I picked it up to see how I liked it.