Nicca / Tower LTM Differences between early Nicca Cameras

Nicca / Tower M39 screw mount bodies

pippy

Established
Local time
1:03 PM
Does anyone know for sure what the differences were/are between the Nicca III; Nicca IIIA and Nicca IIIB? Reliable info seems to be a scarce commodity on the WWW. I know the differences in Leica terms but am a complete novice in the world of Japanese Barnacks.

I have just bought a pair of Niccas (steady-on!) one of which has the legend 'Made in Occupied Japan' on the base-release catch whereas the other (which I know to be a III S) has simply 'Made in Japan'. Did this change coincide with the move from III to IIIA model designation / III A to III B / 'Other'?

Serial number of the earlier example is 34066 (III S is 53226).

Thanks in advance for any replies.

Philip.

P,

Check out the other Nicca thread below. There is the head bartender's link and another very informative link that helped me date my Tower 45/46 as a Sears marketed Nicca 5L from 1956.

Hope this helps.

Cal

Thank you for the nudge to make me persevere with the previous threads, Cal!

I had looked - briefly - at most of the links but the one which seems most informative for my purposes was the one posted by Farlymac which I had abandoned as I thought it was all going to be in Italian......not my strong point.
Fortunately the 'detail' part of the post is in English and my current thinking is as follows;

If I am correct the one I was asking about seems to be a '49/'50-ish Nicca III. I am basing this on the fact that there is no 'Type-3' engraving and those models produced subsequently - i.e. from the III A onward - have the focal-plane engraving at the rear of the top-plate (mine has no such reference mark).

FWIW the 1952 ("Type - III S"engraved as opposed to "3-S" engraved) model pictured in the link has a serial just 310 'newer' than my own example.

For anyone else looking to find out info I'll repost the link here;

Nicca Cameras

Thanks again.