Mounting, Matting, Framing

daveleo

what?
Local time
7:28 PM
I expect there is a wide range of preferences here, but I would like to know . . . . for those folks who mount, matte and frame their prints . . . what materials do you use, and where do you get them?

I am a hobbyist, and my stuff hangs in homes and cafe's - the museums haven't called me yet :rolleyes: .

Currently, I get standard grade mounting boards and pre-cut mattes from: http://www.americanframe.com/Departments/Accessories/Mounting-Board.aspx

99% I use white mattes, 1% I've done black.

I buy or make 11X14 wood frames (I only print 8X10"), and use standard lexan-acrylic for the "glass".

I use Clearbags ( http://http://www.clearbags.com/clear-bags ) for the mounted prints that sit in my "to-be-framed" boxes.

EDIT (after reading the first few replies) : I attached the mounting board to the matte board with a single short tape hinge (about 1 inch, at the top joint) and do the same for the print to the matte board.

EDIT: Sometimes (like in my basement) I just display the pictures on shelves, still in their clearbags, no frames. Switch them when I get bored.

unframed.jpg

I dry mount my photos on cotton boards from Archival Methods and cut custom mats as needed. IMHO dry mounted prints look better than wavy prints that I get from corner mounting. Frames per exhibit or per each photo from a variety of sources.

I use cotton hinges with cotton/linen tape, and then acid-free white mats. Light Impressions is a good source for materials.

BTW I don't know how true this is, but I've heard that dry mounting is not considered an archival method of mounting. I don't believe museums are crazy about it, and once you've dry mounted a photo onto a board, it's there for good.