What do you think of HDR?

Rayt

Nonplayer Character
Local time
2:07 AM
I am a LR and PS newbie but thanks to the free time I have forced myself to scan my negatives and learn how to use it. Putting stuff on the Flickr and Apple cloud is a kind of insurance I guess.

Once I have saved my files into TIFF I make a small Jpeg copy for Flickr, Photo App for sharing. I have the PS app on my phone and it's so convenient I am always tempted to do stuff to the photo and one feature I find useful is HDR. Now I hate photos that overdo HDR looking like razorblades to the eyes but some mild HDR is ok I guess. On the other hand I like that full tonal look from a darkroom print and I am drawn to it when I do digital processing. Here are two one with mild HDR and the other one in plain vanilla. Please let me know what you think.

Agra44 by ray tai, on Flickr

HDR by ray tai, on Flickr

:) I’m looking at them from mobile phone.
First is fine, second is less natural.

Thanks for asking.

Sometimes when you stick your neck out by asking for comments, it can get cut off.

Whatever your vision, the looks you want to achieve means the most.

My process is to make the photographs using RAW capture with the camera.

Then I start the process stage with my iMac using Photoshop, keeping the RAW file after I work on it saving my work as a jpeg.

If I need to, I will save my RAW file as a psd which I can bring up later revealing the layers I did my processing.

To sum up, my work flow on computer, is work the RAW file, save my work as a psd then flatten the file and make a jpeg.

I don’t usually spend a great amount of screen time working on a file as I work hard to get it correct when I make the image in camera.

HDR is not for me nor are making tiffs.