Any digital movie makers out there?

Nick De Marco

Well-known
Local time
11:22 PM
Despite spending too much of my 'disposable' [it’s not really!] income on an M8 earlier this year, and some lenses to go with it [which now accompany my Canon 5D and various film Ms] I am re-awakening a desire for film making.

Many years ago, before becoming a barrister, I used to be a professional film and video editor, and I am a dab hand with a movie camera. Back in those days (early 90s) the idea of an individual not at the top of their trade having their own professional standard video camera and edit suite was just fantasy. With the digital revolution it is now real- we can all now be home movie makers (editing on our Macs).

So I am thinking of buying the Canon HV30 (looks like the best camera you can buy that is still portable enough to share a small bag with an M8 in)... I wondered if any other Leica users on here also dabble in movie making. And more importantly, as an anxious reflex to my equipment junkie condition, I have been wondering how you combine the two if you do. Can you sensibly take both a good video camera and your M8 on a trip abroad for example? Do you use video one day, stills camera the next, or do you find it possible to carry both around with you and select the medium you want for the event you come across? Just wondered about others' experience..

Thanks

Nick

Yesterday I carried my Canon miniDV in my domke f5xb along with my rd1s and used both on an all day outing. Though the Canon and my Sony have firewire, I put the analog output to SVHS tape, then output that to a DVD recorder.

I have trouble switching back and forth.

I have trouble switching back and forth.

I always have the wrong camera in my hand when a situation comes up. I either want to take pictures or movies....:bang:

That being said, I did manage to shoot some good video last summer of flying events.

don

That's helpful, thanks.