Can't decide - digital camera with leica m lenses

jordanstarr

J.R.Starr
Local time
1:40 PM
I've been researching for about 5 months, on and off and can't seem to pull the trigger on a digital camera for my Leica Lenses (21mm VC/LTM, 28mm Elmarit, 35mm Summilux, 50mm Summicron). BUT, it doesn't have to necessarily take Leica glass since I have been shooting a Canon G11, which now has a chip in the glass and acting up, so I'm replacing it. However, it's kind of nice to think that I can use my great Leica glass, so why not, right? My budget is about $1000, so I know that limits things severely. I've been looking at the M8, Fuji X-pro1 (or similar) and Sony A7 and I haven't pulled the trigger on anything and I have a 4 month trip coming up at the end of August that I want it for. I have been shooting film for over 15 years and never really shoot digital except on my Samsung S6 and a point and shoot Canon G11 for work events and life snaps. Some of my dilemmas are:

- (biggest concern) I use 35mm and 28mm lengths for 99% of my shooting (so full farm is ideal, but not necessary since the 21mm and 28mm lenses I have can sub, but I lose my f1.4 for low light)
- The quality is important, but since I shoot film exclusively for printing at the moments, I don't know how many large prints I will squeeze out. But if I do, I will be comparing it to my 35mm film prints, so....just a dilemma.
- I don't need a million features.
- It has to be rugged and take a beating. I will be on a motorcycle for a month, then off to Brazil where it will sit in a backpack with lots of other things smashing into it.
- The less bulky the better for discreetness. I'll be shooting in some pretty slummy hoods and will tape and deface the hell out of it, but it would still be nice to keep small.