Estate Sale of Kodak Medalist 11 help please.

G

Well there is a Kodak Medalist 11 in average condition in an estate sale close by. They are the usual old ladies who searched on eBay for a guide price and put $400 on it. The shutter is jammed up as is the ranger finder coupling, and the lens barrel is lacking any form of smooth operation. On opening it up there was an old Kodak film in it, now I have been a photographer for over 40 years and have never seen a Kodak film with metal spools, so I am thinking this thing was put on the shelf around 50 years ago……..so, what would a service cost for this thing ?
They have admitted they have absolutely no chance of selling it in our countrified area, farmers are not into photography. I am thinking of offering between $175 and $200 and I told them that. Even asked what I would give them but I said I would have to research a service cost and try to find someone who would even touch it before I made an offer.
So boys and girls what do you think I should do ??????

If the glass is clean and clear on the lens and rangefinder, and it is jammed up it is really a parts camera that may be able to be salvaged. Don't throw away the spools as they should be 620 spools and you'll need those to respool 120 sized film. $100 sounds more reasonable.

Sounds like a potentially bottomless rabbit-hole of time and expense. If you have those to spare, have at it, but if a Medalist is a camera you really want, I'd suggest finding a good, functional one through a reputable dealer.
Though never having succumbed to a Medalist (yet!), I have been seduced into purchases of this sort, and invariably regretted it. On the other hand, some people love the challenge. It's a matter of temperament, I suppose. Elsewhere on RFF, Vince Lupo documents his Ermanox and dry plate camera projects. I do admire his commitment, but wouldn't go there myself; I'd advise thinking long and hard about taking on this project. But best of luck if you do!