Hip???

Bill Pierce

Well-known
Local time
3:08 AM
I’ve always felt a little embarrassed about shooting from the hip when I’m photographing on the streets. After all, one of the first great street shooters, Cartier Bresson raised the camera to his eye (albeit quickly up and quickly down). Hip shooting seemed a little like cheating. It was my shameful secret. Then I looked up “hip shooting” on the web. The first search page was filled from top to bottom with articles that described the practice positively. More than positive, they were actually laudatory. I wasn’t a cheat; I was an artist.

Well, maybe a cheating artist… Your thoughts?

Many, many moons ago I read an article by a street shooter who was shooting from just above the ground. A new perspective; a new response from his subjects. If we were really dogmatic about this we would be using 8x10 glass plate cameras on huge tripods. Whatever it takes, short of a physical assault, seems fair to me. And if you do resort to a physical assault, tell them it is for your art. ;o)

I think without trying to overstep my jurisdiction, so to speak, I feel that there are two topics that you are conflating:
  • the pictures that you would like to take
  • the techniques that you use to do the above
For me personally, I usually like people reacting to me and the camera so I rarely shoot from the hip.
Unless it's a Rolleiflex in which case I guess I'm shooting from the waist.

I feel that I do not have good control of the composition and framing when shooting from the hip. It's hard to imagine what the result is going to be like. It also seems harder to focus correctly, hold the camera steady as well as anticipating obstacles in the line-of-sight.