Is there a really solid personal photo printer out there?

andrew00

Established
Local time
4:31 PM
Hey,

In many ways I'm a bad photographer. I take pictures, feel happy with some of them, not with most of them, then leave them on a laptop and forget about them.

I'm looking to change this and print more of my photos. I want to start putting them up around the house. The goal is something semi-permanent and rotating. If I take a pic I like, print it, put it up, take it down when I don't like it anymore etc.

I'm looking to get a photo printer for this. The dream would be A3, but A4 is fine if there are quality/price issues.

I was wondering if anyone can recommend printers to check out. I've tried googling but it's a bit smoke and mirrors and marketing so it's hard to know what's actually quality.

Requirements wise - I'm looking for something of a really solid standard.

I don't just want a 'family snaps' type printer that's going to have bad colour or whatever. I'd like something which is of strong enough quality that it really represents the image as shot, gets the colours right etc. Something you could maybe sell or at least would be really proud of on the wall.

It doesn't have to be the absolute highest quality. But I don't want something that's, essentially, a bit crap. I'd like something I can feel really happy with the quality. Something that feels like it could sit alongside my other art work, if that makes sense.

Any thoughts out there? Any recommendations or 'default' options for this? I hope the above gives the essence of the feeling I'm conveying lol.

my answer to your similar questions was Epson P600. Couldn't be happier. I print normally via PS over USB, but its get also more and more used by my kids who print directly via smart phone, works like a charme and the quality of the prints on good photo paper is superb. Both in b/w and color.

You find an extensive review here: http://www.northlight-images.co.uk/epson-surecolor-p600-review/

Jürgen