M8 Shutter Life

tardegard

Local time
10:25 PM
Hi everybody, I am new in the range finder world, I don't even own a ranger finder camera indeed (not yet).
I would love to find ad affordable Leica M8 or M9, and just found an M8 that has done 50.000 actuations.
Are they too many?
Would you get it, guys?
Many thanks in advance.

I think I would feel more confidant buying a camera with a lower shutter count. 20,000 or less wouldn't scare me.

50K is marginal for any digital camera with mechanical shutter. But most likely it might do another 50K.
First M8 is slightly different due to over tensioned shutter. But even for M8 I have seen user report with shutter quitting at huge number of actuations.

You should also ask yourself - how much I'm going to shot it. 5K per year is not something very limiting, but it will take ten years to get another 50K.

Nikon and Canon rate their shutters at 150,000 for the consumer models up to 250,000 for the professional models. They're not going to break necessarily at that number but that reflects the number they were tested up to. I've personally had Canon and Nikons go well beyond that number and never had a shutter failure.

Regarding the M8, why would you buy a camera that some parts are unavailable for and is stone age technology. The M8 was behind the technological curve by at least ten years when it came out. As to the M9, it wasn't any technological marvel at the time ether. I bought a new one but was seriously disappointed in performance. It was only slightly better than the D1 Nikon of ten years earlier with regard to noise and the LCD screen and buffer were about the same level of performance as the D1. Couple all this with the world's worst service, why throw money into an M8 or M9? Buy yourself a new Canon or Nikon with a warranty and state of the art technology or even a used 1D Canon with a 1.33x ccd sensor for a few hundred dollars for a Nikon D700 for little to no money.

Canonikons have nothing to do with Leica RF.