The Polaroid SX-70 Project

Chriscrawfordphoto

Real Men Shoot Film.
Local time
6:27 AM
A lot of people have asked me why I have been shooting nearly everything with Polaroid for the last several months.

At the beginning of April, 2022 I decided to buy a forty-four year old Polaroid SX-70 camera. I had originally intended to just play around with it for fun; but I began to wonder if it would be possible to use the SX-70 for serious documentary photography and fine art photography, despite the limitations imposed by a camera that has a non-interchangeable lens, doesn't allow fully manual exposure control, and uses a film with a very high contrast rendering compared to digital cameras and conventional color films. It has been a challenge!

As most people on RFF know, for nearly thirty years, I have been working on a long-term documentary project centered on my home state of Indiana in the American Midwest. This year, I am using the Polaroid camera for nearly all of my continuing work on these projects.

I've built a website explaining the project in more details, with galleries of the nearly 300 photos I have made so far (well, the ones that came out good!).

https://sx70project.com/

Chris, I’ve been following your project with interest, and congratulate you on your success.

I’ve had an SX-70 for decades, that sat unused in its brown leather case in my darkroom loft. Then, a few months ago, I was visiting my friend Ethan Moses (who runs cameradactyl cameras) and he mentioned his friend “Dr. Germs”, a medical student here in ABQ named Jeremy who converts SX-70s to use Type 600 film. So I had him convert my camera, which ended up being in excellent condition, despite the poor storage conditions it had been under. Now I too am enjoying this marvelous piece of mid-century American engineering.

I’ve just ordered the Mint electronic flash unit, looking forward to using that.