A Good Find

Heath

Classic Camera Collector
Local time
5:00 PM
Hey there guys. I am new here to this forum, so let me kinda introduce myself. My name is Heath and I collect vintage and classic cameras.

I just happen to have in my collection a Yashica Electro 35 GSN in pretty good condition.

How did I come about having this camera in my collection? Well, it is a bit of a story. My occupation is a garbo. That is I go around a pick up the trash people throw out. ONe day the guys I work with and I were at an apartment complex collecting their trash. They knew I was into photography and one of the guys held up this camera and said "hey Heath, do ya think it still works?". I said "there is only one way to find out, isn't there?"

So I took it home to tinker with it. Upon inspecting it I found it was in pretty good condition for something that had been thrown out. The only visible damage was a wrecked filter thread (but only minimal damage). I fixed it as best I could with a pair of pliers and set about getting it working.

First thing was to find out more about the camera. I searched the net and eventually found Yashicaguys site and found the manual and downloaded it. Then I discovered the batteries were no longer available. ON a whim, I went to a local camera store and asked one of the guys there if he had any of the batteries in stock. Nope, out of luck there, but he said he may know of a place. So he kindly rang another camera store (from a rival chain mind you) and as luck was on my side that night, they had 3 in stock (although it was old stock). So I jumped on a train and headed west. I ended up buying all 3 batteries in the hope tha camera worked. If not it was only $30 wasted.