A six-month field test of the Leica Q by Craig Mod

......."The Q shoots only at 28mm. 28mm is pretty darn wide. And so I’ve found that in the last six months I’ve not only become a cropper, but I relish cropping. In fact, I even crop on the iPhone now, something I’ve never done before."

defeats the purpose, no?

......."The Q shoots only at 28mm. 28mm is pretty darn wide. And so I’ve found that in the last six months I’ve not only become a cropper, but I relish cropping. In fact, I even crop on the iPhone now, something I’ve never done before."

defeats the purpose, no?

No, not really.
The purpose of photography is making excellent images.
When only one lens, a 28mm lens, is at hand, then sometimes cropping is necessary to enhance the final image.
Cropping overcomes the limitation of having only one lens.
The purpose, making excellent images, has not been defeated.

What a beautiful image maker.
Man if only a longer focal length.
It's been written so many times by myself and others....Would really love a 40mm-50mm.

The Q might be the best digital camera Leica has come up with so far.

Yes
The LCD can be turned off.
Also, if it is turned on, the touch screen can be disabled.

Thanks for the correction & clarification - the LCD can be turned off and the touch feature [edit: AF & AF+shutter activation via touch screen, specifically] can be disabled independently.

The Q is quite configurable, I think Leica got the interface pretty much right on this model, at least for me.

It's been written so many times by myself and others....Would really love a 40mm-50mm.

Yeah, a 50/1.7 Lux version of the Q would rock my bag. With the 28, sweet. I'd be done - M kit would be sold.

Agree - for me it recalls the little fixed lens film RF's from Canonet and Minolta that were so much fun.